We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
Nearby Hotels
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$132
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$124
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Pfister Hotel(Milwaukee)
$179
$161
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Comfort Suites Milwaukee - Park Place(Milwaukee)(Great Value!)
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Ambassador Hotel(Milwaukee)(Great Value!)
$149
$112
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (731)
Filter reviews
731 results
Traveler rating
335
209
112
44
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
209
112
44
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanchorage restaurantfront desknice view of the riverfire pitrestaurant staffhousekeeping staffclose to downtownbreakfast buffetnight's sleepindoor poolbusiness centerthe entire staffbeds were comfortableleonardbayshorehiltonsprecher
Filter
Updating list...
564 - 569 of 731 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is a very convenient hotel to the highway, just a few exits from downtown but in a great quiet spot by the Milwaukee River. The rooms are lovely with pleasant views, half overlook the river but the other half overlook UWM and the woods, and the restaurant is fantastic, one of the best in Milwaukee with delicious seafood and friendly staff. The adjacent bar has free appetizers from 5-7, great drinks, and beautiful views. Bayshore shopping center, a major indoor/outdoor "lifestyle mall" with dining, movies, and every store you can think of, is very close and the staff will take you there in the van if you ask. The indoor pool is small but a nice bonus for kids. A well-run property worth considering if you're visiting Milwaukee.

Room Tip: Ask for the river view if you can get it, but all rooms are quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomGarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you so very much for your comments about the Hilton Milwaukee River! All appreciated!

We are proud of numerous features here.....our convenient location to many of the area attractions, our pastoral setting next to the Milwaukee River, and especially our restaurant, The Anchorage (an area favorite for almost 40 years, also with a separate Trip Advisor listing/commentary as well.).

Also key is our staff members, adhering to high service levels and standards, which makes our guests feel welcome in that 'well-run' environment that you mentioned.

Both the Hilton Milwaukee River and The Anchorage look forward to welcoming you back soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is not a Hilton hotel, it should be branded within another hilton family brand, probably a hampton. Rooms are small, bathroom is very small and linens quality was poor. Should be renewed soon to maintain standards.
Service was good and has a convenient shuttle service that may take you nearby (there is a nice shopping and dinning center)

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank MEM22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your comments, pro or con, as they assist us in maintaining our high standards. And we are sorry that your feelings about our Hotel were as they were.

However, for your benefit as well as others who read this valuable website, I can assure you that we do maintain high levels of service and amenities.

Beginning early last year, we have just completed substantial enhancements to our property that included new bedding and linens, a remodeled restaurant, new public hallway carpeting and wallpaper, new guestroom flat-screen TVs, a remodeled indoor pool, new in-room safes, and new banquet furniture. Most important, is that we are in compliance with all current Hilton brand standards.

Our Hotel is accented by our highly-popular restaurant, The Anchorage, as well as our proximity to the Bayshore Town Center Mall, and is glad to read that you appreciated both.

With our updates listed above, we do hope that the Hilton Milwaukee River can be a part of your area travel plans!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Hilton Milwaukee River is a short distance from downtown. The staff is very friendly and positive. The hotel is undergoing some needed remodeling. The on-site restaurant is very good. The breakfast buffet was fine including made to order omelets. There is a mall close to the hotel and Kopp's Custard is just up the road.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYTripper088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your comments here on Trip Advisor!

Yes, our Hotel's location places us just 3 miles north of Downtown Milwaukee and all of the attractions/businesses there, but also less than a mile from local Glendale sites such as the Bayshore Town Center and the Sprecher Brewery! (And yes......the infamously delicious Kopp's!)

We are proud of the recent enhancements that we have done, such as new bedding and linens, new carpeting and wallpaper, and new in-room safes and flat screen TVs. Equal pride is in our restaurant, The Anchorage, an area icon for its seafood and views!

Combined with our friendly staff, I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I spent New Years Eve here with my spouse. We purchased a package which included 1 night's stay, $40 voucher for The Anchorage Restaurant, chocolate covered strawberries delived upon arrival, and breakfast for 2 on New Years Day. We arrived for check-in December 31st in the early evening. The staff seemed nice. Our room was nice, and very quiet since there was no adjoining door. Ou room was located on the 2nd floor. A wedding party was staying in the hotel so there was a lot of traffic throughout the hotel. We had dinner in The Anchorage. The food was delicious, and our server was great. After dinner we returned to our room. After turning the bed down, we discovered that it was infested with bed bugs! We immediately called the front desk to report the problem. They reacted by moving us to another room down the hallway. As we packed our things to leave the room a staff person slid our new room key under the door. Although I am glad that we were able to receive another room, I could not regain my piece of mind. We pulled back the bedding and checked the mattress thorougly before even thinking about sitting on the bed in this new room. The new room also had an adjoining door and we had to deal with noise coming from the guests in the next room. I definitely would have appreciated more of an apology from the staff or some way to try to make it up to us. Breakfast the next morning was a buffet. The food was okay, and the server was "okay." She didn't check on us very much. If it hadn't have been for the bed bugs, I would have rated this as a really good stay. I just don't trust the cleanliness of this place, and I hope that they called an exterminator to take care of this pest problem before it gets worse!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roshanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for providing your detailed comments about the Hilton Milwaukee River and our restaurant, The Anchorage, following your stay with us. These comments assist us in providing the best possible levels in terms of service and amenities to our guests, as well as addressing and correcting any critical issues.

I’m glad that you selected us for New Year’s Eve, enjoyed the special package amenities, and the quality of both the service and the entrées in The Anchorage. We are very proud of their accomplishments!

However, I would like to address, apologize, and clarify the issues regarding the guestroom situation with bedbugs. Following recent publicized media reports within the hospitality industry, incidents of bedbugs have become more prevalent.

Let me be immediately clear from these reports that it does not relate to any cleanliness or housekeeping issues of the Hotel. These pests are labeled as “hitchhikers”, typically transferred via luggage exposed in airplanes and cargo bays, which then make their way from said luggage to guestrooms. It also has indiscriminately affected virtually every element of the hotel industry, from the economy brands to the luxury ones.

However, let me also emphatically assure you that our Hotel is VERY pro-active in this matter, immediately addressing any concerns and issues relating to this sensitive issue.

The Hilton Milwaukee River conducts regular and frequent inspections from our local pest control company, being more pro-active than reactionary. We also have a staff trained in making scheduled inspections of our guestrooms, in addition to maintaining an established protocol in place in the event that anything is detected.

Thankfully, these incidents are far and few between!

I do apologize for the embarrassment and inconvenience that this may have caused, again stressing that it does not equate to a lack of cleanliness in our Hotel!

I equally thank you for bringing this immediately to our staff’s attentions, as an equally immediate response was made via our staff and the pest control company (all on record to dispel any negative connotations from readers of this website) to bring this situation under full and isolated control.

I trust that you appreciate the rare incidence of this issue, coupled with the fact that your other room and dining experiences were issue-free and quite enjoyable in the end run!

And I do look forward to earning back your trust and welcoming you back very soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed for an overnight getaway and to shop at Bayshore. Ate in the bar, free appetizers and nice selections of sandwiches if you don't want a full dinner by sitting in the restaurant. Paid and extra $10 for a full breakfast buffet for two which was very good and a great deal also. Beds are so comfortable we didn't want to get up in the morning.

Room Tip: We stayed in a riverview.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for your comments following your stay with us! Our guests do compliment us on many items and services, our restaurant and our new bedding being citied the most!

The Anchorage is an area icon for dining, offering breakfast to hors d'oeuvres to dinner, as well as it's noted seafood selections. We do have a separate Trip Advisor listing for The Anchorage as well for your direct comments.

Additionally, new bedding in our guestrooms accent other recent enhancements such as new flat-screen TVs, in-room safes, and a complimentary WI-FI system.

We also offer complimentary shuttle service to the area businesses and attractions, including the Bayshore Town Center Mall, and are glad that it was part of your visit!

Hope to welcome you back soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews