We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good Stay - Under remodel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Stay - Under remodel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent two nights at this hotel and blocked 5 rooms for a wedding. We had asked for two of the rooms to be adjoining, and because of it some of our party had to get moved to a different floor. However we were given an upgrade of another room to compensate--which was very nice of the staff to do. The hotel was still being remodeled, but most of the work appeared to be finished. The river view rooms had a nice view, especially since the leaves were changing. The location is right of the interstate and in a quiet part of Glendale surrounded by medical and office buildings. A residential neighborhood and two county parks are north of the hotel across the river. It is near Bayshore Mall and shopping in Whitefish Bay and Shorewood are also rather easy to get to. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. The staff was all very nice. Overall we had a great stay at this hotel and would stay again if in the area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank rst86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments about the Hilton Milwaukee River following your recent stay with us to attend a wedding!

Our Hotel, along with our restaurant, The Anchorage, completed a variety of different upgrade projects, and I'm glad that you noticed and appreciated them!

From new flat screen TVs and bed linens/towels in the guestrooms to a more powerful, complimentary WI-FI system, and from a remodeled restaurant with both a new décor and menus to new carpeting / wallpaper in our public corridors, our facility has accomplished many improvements.

Glad to read that you also ventured out-and-about within our Milwaukee / Glendale neighborhood! Our location, with easy access to I-94 and I-43, places guests conveniently near Downtown Milwaukee, to the Lakefront, and to other area attractions such as the near-by venues of the Bayshore Town Center and the Sprecher Brewery. (Complimentary area shuttle service provided by the Hotel is also available.)

We do hope to see you again for your next Milwaukee visit!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    182
    96
    42
    26
See reviews for
151
127
40
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed here in early October with three grilfriends. We had a double bed room, which is not enough bed space for four people. The hotel its self was okay, nothing really stood out about it. We checked out the restaurant attached to the hotel and it was way to expensive so we went elsewhere to eat. The neighborhood was okay so we felt safe to going to and from the car at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karmen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments following your "girls weekend" stay! We appreciate you taking the time to do this!

Our Hotel is more of a boutique-styled facility, focusing on customer service, our location close to attractions such as the nearby Bayshore Town Center Mall, the beautiful views of the Milwaukee River/Estabrook Park banks, and our noted restaurant, The Anchorage.

The Anchorage, while known for its seafood entrees, does offer a wide variety of different options from breakfast to dinner, from small-plate to full entrees, all at affordable, "non-hotel" prices.

Hopefully on your next Milwaukee visit we may welcome you back to our Hotel, as well as tempt you to dine in The Anchorage!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystal lake, IL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We always stay here when we do a show in Milwaukee. This hotel is a perfect 5 minutes from the downtown Milwaukee area & close enough to a Mall for some decent restaurants. No free breakfast, but there is coffee. There is a restaurant on site, but we have never tried it. This hotel is always spotless. Staff is very friendly. The rooms are good sized, nicely decorated & beds are comfortable (don't know how hotels don't get the message that not everyone loves a feather pillow, cough, cough, sneeze) It's usually a very quiet hotel, however, this past weekend we were plagued by college kids - why do people think it's ok to talk & laugh in a hotel hallway in the middle of the night? Also appreciate that there are volume control "lock" on the tv - you can't make it go louder than the middle level. We will be staying here again when we do the same show next year, but question again, the practice of boosting the room rate on Saturday nite. We paid one rate on Friday & higher on Saturday even though it did not seem to be sold out.

Room Tip: ask for a river view room, much more scenic than the parking lot view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bunkysparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments about the Hilton Milwaukee River here on Trip Advisor, as well as making us your home-away-from-home for your Milwaukee shows!

Our location, with easy access to I-94 and I-43, places guests conveniently near Downtown Milwaukee, to the Lakefront, and to other area attractions such as the Bayshore Town Center, Sprecher Brewery, and Miller Park.

I'm glad to read that you appreciated le levels of service and friendliness of our staff as well, since they all work hard for our hotel and restaurant guests. I'm also glad you appreciated the fact that we cannot control the conduct of our guests. Sorry that their exuberant conversations effected you at a late hour.

We do hope to see you again for your next Milwaukee show, and invite you to make time to dine in our restaurant, The Anchorage! As you can read on their own Trip Advisor site, we're proud to say that The Anchorage is not your typical hotel food outlet!

See you next year!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here during September 2012. Reminds you of those older Hiltons you come across now and again. Going through a refurb programme and we were upgraded to a river view room. Large and quiet. Breakfast hasn't had the makeover it really needs except that the Sunday Omlette Station was a great relief from the overlooked dry cold sausages and bacon waiting at the "buffet".

Room Tip: River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FromNorthNorfolkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your comments here on Trip Advisor following your recent stay!

Responses pro and con are very appreciated, as they help us to make our Hotel and restaurant, The Anchorage, much better in terms of customer service and quality.

We have done a number of different enhancement projects to our property, such as extensive re-wallpapering and carpeting in our public areas and new TVs in our guestrooms to name a few. We also have done a number of upgrades to The Anchorage, including a fresh, new decor and revamped menus.

To read that you experienced less-than-satisfactory items on your breakfast buffet was immediately address with the kitchen staff. Other patrons have praised our menu upgrades and our breakfast buffet itself (please see the comments under “The Anchorage” on this Trip Advisor site), and with a buffet style format, the staff needs to be more attentive to quality, re-stocking items, and presentation.

I'm confidant that these items will be remedied on your next visit to the Hilton Milwaukee River!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Rooms are pretty much as pictured. The carpets, room and bath were very clean. No surprises or smells. Good water and adequate lighting. Nice, comfortable bed and furnishings. The website indicates there is a charge for wi-fi but that is not the case, just get the log-in. Flat screen tv & remote worked well. Some noise from hall, but overall pretty quiet in the room. Staff was excellent, we arrived in the wee hours and there is a full-time security person available too, but neighborhood is quite safe and no concerns with needing to go in and out at any time. Family recommended Solly's Restaurant across the street, amazing burgers. Did not try the hotel restaurant, but the bar (closes at midnight) was nice & received a 2 for 1 drink coupon at check-in. Competent and helpful desk staff made coming and going easier. Did not use or view the pool Stayed 2 nights and no problems at all. Would definitely recommend and would stay again..

Room Tip: View of river was nice -- we were even numbered on 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dnarltr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your insightful and detailed commentary following your stay with us! All very appreciated!

The Hilton Milwaukee River, as well as our restaurant, The Anchorage, completed a variety of different upgrade and enhancement projects over the past several months, and I'm glad that you noticed and appreciated them!

From new flat screen TVs and bed linens/towels in the guestrooms to a more powerful, complimentary WI-FI system, and from a remodeled restaurant with both a new décor and menus to a repaved parking lot, our Hotel has accomplished many guest-driven changes.

But none of these would have the importance they do if it wasn't for a diligent and dedicated staff. You comments also thankfully highlighted the efforts of the housekeeping and front desk staffs!

Glad to read that you also ventured out-and-about, making a delicious stop at Solly's! Their butter burgers are quite the rage! For your next visit, there is also the Sprecher Brewery, Kopp's Custard, and the Bayshore Town Center Mall all in close proximity to our Hotel. (Complimentary area shuttle service provided by the Hotel is also available.)

Hope to welcome you back again soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I always stay at this hotel when I am in Milwaukee. The stay was even better this weekend as the staff was very courteous and the hotel had great rates. Its also been remodled from the inside. The manager went out of her way to make me feel welcomed and I really appreciated that. If you are in the Miwalukee area and need a nice quiet place to stay this is it.

P.E.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to give us your comments about the Hilton Milwaukee River!

It's pleasing to read that the combination of our recent upgrades and enhancements, coupled with a welcoming and helpful staff, has earned us the honor of being your preferred Milwaukee hotel for your visits!

We look forward to continuing to provide these levels of service for your future visits!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Our club meets regularly at the Hilton for a lunch event. We've developed a strong relationship with Karen Dawson, who oversees our event logistics. We inevitably have moments right before and after the "start time" when we aren't sure exactly how many people will show up. This last time, we had several people arrive up to 15 minutes late due to issues beyond their control, and Karen and her staff were quick to accommodate them and serve them seamlessly along with the 40 others. Karen also handled a difficult member with diplomacy. We look forward to doing future business with you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you so very much for your comments in regards to your banquet function recently held at The Hilton Milwaukee River! Very appreciated!

Of the many different elements and services within our Hotel and our restaurant, The Anchorage, we are quite proud of the levels of service from our banquet department, led by Karen.

Working alongside the banquet staff and the kitchen staff, she makes sure that our guests receive the best-possible service, food quality, and response to their meeting / catering needs.

I'm glad to hear that your event was a success, and we do look forward to being a part of many more!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront

Property: Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
Address: 4700 N Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212 (Formerly Milwaukee River Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the banks of the Milwaukee River and just minutes from the heart of downtown, the Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront is the latest addition to the Greater Milwaukee scene. Enjoy a luxury selection of spacious guestrooms including deluxe rooms featuring impressive river views. From plush pillow-top mattresses and luxurious linens to premium bath products, our hotel offers a modern twist to a relaxing and peaceful stay. Whether traveling on business or just for leisure, our hotel's accommodations and amenities will exceed your every expectation. When staying with us take advantage of complimentary Internet access, complimentary parking, and an extravagant dining experience. Explore all of Milwaukee's rich history and settle in at our hotel after a day on the town. With a variety of local businesses, corporations, shopping and nightlife, there's plenty to do when visiting the Milwaukee/Glendale area. Guests can take advantage of our hotel's free shuttle service to local attractions and shopping within a three mile radius. The hotel has been designed to not only give guests easy access to the city's entertainment, but also to provide a serene environment with unparalleled hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee River Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee River
Milwaukee Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing