We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 star breakfast buffet in 2 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“4 star breakfast buffet in 2 star hotel”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel has a 2 star dark Best Western 70s decor in the entrance, lobby, and all the halls. Fortunately, the room was a little better and appeared recently updated. My 3 and 4 year olds never saw a pool they did not like, except this one. They jumped in and went right back up to the room complaining that was too cold.

The breakfast buffet was a pleasant surprise. It was $13 (complimentary with my Hilton Honor Gold) that would still be a great value that I would pay for. The fruit included raspberry and blueberry, greek yogurt, omelette station.

This is more a Hampton Inn than a Hilton. Even the breakfast was not good enough for me to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your notations here on Trip Advisor! !

Our Hotel and our restaurant, The Anchorage, both have gone through substantial improvement projects, many to the pleasure and accolades of our guests. However, your comments gave a much different sentiment. I am in receipt of your comments, and I wanted to respond in kind, designed to better our unique hotel facility as well as to inform all of our recent changes.

In order to better our hotel, we have made a variety of enhancements to the Hilton Milwaukee River over the past 15-odd months. They have included, but are not limited to items such as new 37" flat-screen TVs, the implementation of a more sophisticated, complimentary WI-FI service, new in-room guest safes, more high-definition TV channel selections, an additional hotel van for more complimentary corporate/social shuttle service, and a completely remodeled restaurant in The Anchorage.

Recent completions now showcase totally new carpeting and wallpaper in all of our guestroom and public access hallways, corridors and lobby areas, revamped menus for lunch and dinner service, upgraded Lobby and Banquet furniture, upgrades to our Patio that overlooks the Milwaukee River, upgrades our guestroom bedding, linens, shower curtains/rods, towels, and in-room toiletries, increased landscaping to our exterior façades.........and lastly a totally repaved parking lot.

We are equally proud of The Anchorage, with their new menus and decor. And I am glad that you enjoyed our Deluxe Breakfast Buffet, a favorite to over-night guests and local dining patrons alike.

Regarding our indoor pool? With the change of the season now, going from an unseasonably hot and stifling summer to more fall-like temperatures, I will alert our maintenance staff to adjust the water temperature accordingly.

I hope that with these new bits of information that we may welcome you back!

Regards,

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    192
    100
    42
    28
See reviews for
169
135
46
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our room was very affordable which is why my boyfriend and I chose this place. Great location, near the neighborhood of Shorewood which has great food, shopping and parks. Shorewood may be my favorite part of Milwaukee. As for the hotel, they are going through some modernization so some of the things in the room are nice and new such as the dressers and carpet. But other things were old and out-dated such as the stained chairs and moldy fridge. The hotel does give a notice about the changes and I think when they are all finished it will be a very nice hotel. Great tolietries provided and the staff was very helpful and friendly. If you don't need to be in downtown Milwaukee, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thanks you for your comments here on Trip Advisor!

Our location, being within striking distance to Downtown Milwaukee, the lakefront, and the numerous area attractions, also places guests close to the wonderful 'northshore' communities such as Glendale, Whitefish Bay, and Shorewood. In this manner guests can enjoy their unique shops, cafes, and attractions such as the Bayshore Town Center.

We have accomplished many different upgrades and enhancements in the past few months, featuring items such as new carpeting and wallpaper, a remodeled restaurant in The Anchorage, and new flat-screen TVs for the guestrooms. Future enhancements are certainly planned.

But one of the more important items with upgrades, customer service, and hospitality is cleanliness, and the condition of your refrigerator was immediately brought to the attention of our housekeeping department.

I am also glad that you appreciated the other enhancements here, specifically the friendliness and responsiveness of our staff members and the in-room toiletries.

We all look forward to making the Hilton Milwaukee River and The Anchorage your preferred choice......for Milwaukee AND Shorewood!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The World - But based in US
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

I would rather have stayed at the downtown Hilton, but this was much closer to where I was working. Located next to the Milwaukee river, our room on the second floor had a nice view of it. Our room was clean and comfortable, although we found the duvet too hot for late summer. A simple request got us switched to a more conventional blanket and sheet. Bed was comfortable, although the whole bed would shake when my spouse changed positions. Individual coils would have resolved that.

The pool looked fine, but didn't seem adequately heated for my spoked taste in swimming. The exercise room seemed adequate and was actually used by the guests when I was there.

The shower was perfect! Good stream and steady temperatures.

The staff was always friendly and helpful. The Anchorage Restaurant connected to the hotel was quite good as well.

I'd stay there again if I needed close access in the area. I doubt that there's anything nicer within 5 miles.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aragorn The Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thanks you for your comments following your recent stay with us! Very appreciated!

I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, our restaurant, The Anchorage, and our proximity to the major attractions and downtown areas of Milwaukee!

With the seasonal change to fall after a very brutal summer, we will increase the pool temperatures more. Thank you for bringing that to our attention.

We have made some enhancements to our facility, especially within The Anchorage restaurant, and are quite proud of both their quality of entrees and levels of customer service.

Based on your recent stay, I do hope that we have earned your confidence for return visits and dining experiences!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were there for a very large wedding. The staff was helpful and kind. Rooms were clean, beds comfortable and quiet.
The 'river view' is not what I expected but it was still better than looking out over the parking lot.
We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SavvyTravelsUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments via Trip Advisor from your recent stay at the Hilton Milwaukee River! (I hope that you had a great time at the wedding!)

One of the many assets of both the hotel and our Anchorage restaurant is our Housekeeping Department! They do work very hard to assure guests of receiving a perfect guestroom during their stay.

We do receive a variety of different comments regarding the views from the guestrooms. While not a huge body of water, the river views do provide a unique view with the typical, seasonal changes and growth. The Milwaukee River's banks are protected areas from our park system, so a 'natural' state is preserved.

We also get many compliments from our parking lot views as well, as the area does feature many classic buildings that have won area landscaping and lighting honors.

I'm glad to read that you would certainly stay with us again, and look forward to that trip here!


-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohegan Lake, New York
Level Contributor
481 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

This is a nice Hilton five miles from downtown Milwaukee but at half the price. Rooms are small but clean, and is everything you would expect from a Hilton. Breakfast buffet has a lot of great choices and will leave you stuffed. The only negative is the horrible orange interior walls and doors and is in obvious need of a new paint job. Nice hotel to stay though.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments here on Trip Advisor following your stay with us. Very appreciated!

We are proud of many elements for our Hotel.....our location that places you within minutes of the major attractions within Milwaukee, including Downtown and the lakefront.....our competitive but fair pricing, giving guests full-serviced affordability.....and our restaurant, The Anchorage, an area favorite for over 35 years! All items that you positively referenced. (I encourage you to provide your comments to their Trip Advisor site as well!)

We are also proud of the upgrades that we have recently completed, such as new carpeting/wallpaper, fresh paint, new TVs, and an upgraded WI-FI system. The new color scheme featuring a burnt-orange motif accented with black trim and earth tones were directly approved by Hilton itself, and has received many compliments from other hotel guests who have noticed and appreciated our enhancements.

We have also refurbished our restaurant, The Anchorage, with a new decor and revamped menus, again to the praise of many other patrons.

I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, and look to welcome you back again!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was not much to look at from the outside but the inside is immaculate. They have totally redone the inside of the hotel from the lobby to the rooms. The staff was friendly, helpful and always available to answer questions. Enjoyed the stay and within walking distance of a very nice park. Also, down the street from one of the best burger joints (Solleys) in the area that serves butter burgers.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pdonohue40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This Hilton is a nice alternative to the more expensive Hilton in downtown Milwaukee. It is located in a business park area, and I would say this is more of a hotel for business travelers. It is just a few minutes drive from the center of downtown, and is covenient for us when we come in to visit our son in the Murray Hill neighborhood. I have stayed here twice, and the quality and service and have been consistent. For the same price, I would much rather stay here than the Comfort Inn downtown.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CollegeParent45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#13 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,472 reviews
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront

Property: Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
Address: 4700 N Port Washington Rd, Milwaukee, WI 53212-1041 (Formerly Milwaukee River Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the banks of the Milwaukee River and just minutes from the heart of downtown, the Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront is the latest addition to the Greater Milwaukee scene. Enjoy a luxury selection of spacious guestrooms including deluxe rooms featuring impressive river views. From plush pillow-top mattresses and luxurious linens to premium bath products, our hotel offers a modern twist to a relaxing and peaceful stay. Whether traveling on business or just for leisure, our hotel's accommodations and amenities will exceed your every expectation. When staying with us take advantage of complimentary Internet access, complimentary parking, and an extravagant dining experience. Explore all of Milwaukee's rich history and settle in at our hotel after a day on the town. With a variety of local businesses, corporations, shopping and nightlife, there's plenty to do when visiting the Milwaukee/Glendale area. Guests can take advantage of our hotel's free shuttle service to local attractions and shopping within a three mile radius. The hotel has been designed to not only give guests easy access to the city's entertainment, but also to provide a serene environment with unparalleled hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee River Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee River
Milwaukee Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing