We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Northeast Milwaukee Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Northeast Milwaukee Hotel”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

The Hilton Milwaukee River is located about 2 miles south of the Bay Shore Shopping center. It is a well kept facility (they were just finishing installing new wallpaper and carpeting in the corridors when we were there on March 30 - 31, 2012). Excellent restaurant attached and plenty others within short driving distance. You must present a photo ID at checkin time, per the city of Glendale ordance. This is, along with discrete security, makes this a very safe and comfortable hotel. Staff is friendly and will recognize you as a Hilton Honors memeber, as well as upgrade you to, let's say, a room with a view of the adjacent Milwaukee river. See their website for exact location and whether this will meet your needs. We stay here often when we visit friends in Shorewood or Fox Bay. Give them a try.

Room Tip: Use your Hilton Honors membership (Silver or above) at check-in to request a free upgrade. If it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FuzzySkull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your comments about our Hotel, especially with the excitement of a nearly-completed refurbishment project that involved new carpeting and wallpaper within our guestroom and public corridors!

As we are wrapping-up this major wallpaper/carpeting endeavor for our guestroom hallways and banquet areas, the initial responses are quite positive! This accents prior tasks such as a completely remodeled restaurant (The Anchorage), new flat-screen TVs, and an enhanced internet system. Currently, we are finishing the installation of new in-room guest safes!

As we do accommodate the neighboring communities such as Shorewood, Fox Point, and Whitefish Bay based on our location, we are also only 5 minutes north of Downtown, and can also accommodate businesses and social travelers needing Downtown and/or Lakefront access as well.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel for your future area visits, as well as for more great dining in The Anchorage! (See their reviews or provide your dining comments also on this Trip Advisor site!)

-- Michael Dietrich, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    195
    104
    42
    28
See reviews for
170
140
46
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Hotel is going through a major renovation which looks needed. I had one of the new renovated rooms which was nicely furnished with big new TV. All the doors in the hallway had just been painted to the smell of fresh paint was in the air but thankfully not in the room.

Only had time to sample the buffet breakfast which was standard fare, nothing special.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hammy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments on our Hotel, especially with the excitement of a nearly-completed refurbishment project!

We are wrapping-up a major wallpaper and carpeting endeavor focusing on the public hallways in our guestroom and banquet areas, and the initial responses are quite positive! This accents prior tasks such as a completely remodeled Anchorage restaurant, new flat-screen TVs, and an enhanced internet system. Currently, we are installing in-room guest safes! (Always something going on here!!!!!)

I look forward to welcoming you back when these have been completed. Hopefully you can also have time for a more in-depth dining experience within our signature restaurant, The Anchorage! (See their reviews also on this Trip Advisor site!)

-- Michael Dietrich, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Just stayed at the Hilton Riverview. The property is in the process of renovating and the changes are good. The rooms are nicely appointed, new TV's etc. The HVAC unit is wall mounted and worked just fine. Beds are a little spongy for my taste but still comfortable. Pillows were great (I'm a big pillow fan). The Bar/Restaurant downstairs is nice too with happy hour specials and pretty good food. The pool is disappointing because it is so shallow. More of a kiddie pool then anything. My experience with the staff was fantastic. Perhaps a previous review motivated management, but every single person I met or passed in the hallway said hello, opened doors etc. They were all very nice and would be one of the reasons I would return. Location is NW side of Milwaukee so if your travels bring you this way, feel free to check it out.

Room Tip: Get a riverfront room - absolutely no traffic noise on this side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulT60606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you so very much for your comments here on the “Trip Advisor” site regarding your recent stay at our Hotel! Especially the ones that reference your positive experiences with our various staff members!

They all work very hard to present our hotel and restaurant guests with the best possible levels of service, image, and comfort during their visits. And with more improvements in terms of renovations and upgrades occurring on property, their dedication and enthusiasm seems to increase as well!

In regards to our pool?
It is more geared to corporate guests who want to do work-out laps, or for parents wanting a calm, quaint area for their children, rather than the larger complexes that attract the masses or a wilder crowd.

But I'm glad that our restaurant, The Anchorage, more than made up for the size of a pool! We certainly are not your typical 'hotel restaurant', and pride ourselves on the quality and ambiance provided there!

I do look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel for any future Milwaukee-area visit! Follow us also on “Facebook” for further updates and specials as well! We have a listing for both the Hilton Milwaukee River and The Anchorage on this site.

-- Michael Dietrich, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2012

As a gold member, I usually get treated very well....not here. Requested room wasn't available..went to another room and all I could hear was the water running above me...and the front desk clerk could not have cared any less if she tried. I've stayed here over 30 nights and this is how they reward loyalty. This will be my last visit to this hotel

Room Tip: Good luck...as I was told...you can request whatever you want...they'll give you whatever they h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aspinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Good Afternoon!

I wanted to thank you for your comments here on Trip Advisor, as well as apologize in kind if you felt slighted by your recent stay.

We do value the patronage of ALL of our guests, "Hilton HHonors" members in particular. And on a direct, individual basis, I thank you for your stated 30-plus stays with us.

Part of that value is trying to accommodate all of our guests’ requests, i.e. room types.

But I'm sure that you can appreciate that at times, based on combinations of demand, occupancy, and even simple math, that there are times when these requests cannot be properly fulfilled. (If we only have 2 king-bedded rooms available for example, but we have 3 requests for this room type, there naturally would be 1 unfulfilled request.)

Our staff, of course, should offer combinations of empathy, solutions, and explanations of the situation to avoid your personal sentiments.

From your own statements, it appears that 29 of the 30-plus evenings that you stayed with us, all were pleasant, correct, and to your liking. I'd like to believe that this was an anomaly, and that as we continue with our enhancement and refurbishment projects, that we may welcome you back soon!

Regards,

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

This is an older property that is in the middle of a fairly large renovation/upgrade. The front desk, restaurant and housekeeping staff were unbelievably friendly and helpful. Although the prices in the restaurant seemed a bit high, the food was delicious. There is a small exercise room with a bike, treadmill and dumbbells. The hotel is right on the river and quite pretty. If you need to be on this side of Milwaukee, it would be hard to beat this property!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeMoAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your experience at our Hotel as well as in our restaurant, The Anchorage!

The refurbishments that we are currently doing have certainly been appreciated by guests like yourself, and also have served to accent the great service of our staff members. We are very proud of both!

We also pride ourselves on the quality and portion sizes for The Anchorage, again positively noted in our comments. This pairing has allowed dining patrons to experience great seafood selections without the typical "hotel pricing" seen in other restaurants or hotels.

I encourage you to also place these comments onto the direct Trip Advisor site for "The Anchorage", as this will allow other future dining patrons to learn of your positive experiences!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

-- Michael Dietrich, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Hotel is undergoing renovations so smell of paint was prevalent. Some guests were noisy after 11 pm while walking to room. Restaurant staff was wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torpdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments!

Yes...as we are under-going some renovations and enhancements to the Hotel, we did have the smell of fresh paint waif throughout the corridors. Sorry for any undue challenges during your stay, including the boisterrous guests. But a much-improved look awaits you for your next visit!

Thanks as well for your comments on our restaurant, The Anchorage! The staff does work very hard to make sure guests have a great dining experience with us. I encourage you to place these restaurant-specific comments also in the dedicated site on Trip Advisor for "The Anchorage". That way others (both our staff as well as future patrons) may benefit from your insights!

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Milwaukee River!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

One of our favorite restaurants in milwaukee, I always feel like I am at a 5 star restaurant with
the ample staff. I like the fact that the menu changes from time to time and the food is fantastic, my water glass is never empty and the hot rolls are a added treat. The atmosphere
is romantic and cozy making it a very enjoyable evening for my husband and I.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmertwin65, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments relating to our Hotel's restaurant, The Anchorage! They are very appreciated!

The Anchorage recently completed an enhancement project to give it a more fresh, contemporary look. We also introduced new menus for lunch and dinner service as well to accent the new decor.

And with over a proud 35-year-plus history of dining excellence in the area, I am glad that you and your husband were able to enjoy it all! The Anchorage is one of the many special features and amenities that does set the Hilton Milwaukee River apart as a unique destination!

I do look forward to welcoming you back for another great dining experience!

-- Michael Dietrich, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,590 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#13 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront

Property: Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
Address: 4700 N Port Washington Rd, Milwaukee, WI 53212-1041 (Formerly Milwaukee River Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the banks of the Milwaukee River and just minutes from the heart of downtown, the Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront is the latest addition to the Greater Milwaukee scene. Enjoy a luxury selection of spacious guestrooms including deluxe rooms featuring impressive river views. From plush pillow-top mattresses and luxurious linens to premium bath products, our hotel offers a modern twist to a relaxing and peaceful stay. Whether traveling on business or just for leisure, our hotel's accommodations and amenities will exceed your every expectation. When staying with us take advantage of complimentary Internet access, complimentary parking, and an extravagant dining experience. Explore all of Milwaukee's rich history and settle in at our hotel after a day on the town. With a variety of local businesses, corporations, shopping and nightlife, there's plenty to do when visiting the Milwaukee/Glendale area. Guests can take advantage of our hotel's free shuttle service to local attractions and shopping within a three mile radius. The hotel has been designed to not only give guests easy access to the city's entertainment, but also to provide a serene environment with unparalleled hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee River Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee River
Milwaukee Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing