We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great. Beautiful, clean and inviting ambiance.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Nassau, Bahamas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great. Beautiful, clean and inviting ambiance.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I would hghly recommend double Tree Hotels for whatever purposes. It feels like home away from home. The Staff were warm and welcoming. This being my first time at Double Tree was a treat for me. I loved everything, it was cozy - a wow factor.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hello Annette M-

Thank you for selecting to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown, and for the excellent five-star review! I am pleased to hear you had a very positive experience at our hotel, and I’m glad you were able to experience our “warm and welcoming” team. We strive to provide a “home away from home” experience, and I’m happy to know we accomplished that! Thank you for recommending our hotel to other travelers, and we hope to welcome you back on future visits!

Sincerely,

Jeff Welk
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown
414-273-2950
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    287
    80
    21
    14
See reviews for
220
218
46
388
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Everyone was extremely friendly and professional. I ordered room service and the amount of time before delivery was very short and the quality of the food was excellent. Bed was very comfortable. Location is great for the convention center.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hello Chuck S-

Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown while traveling on business. I am proud to hear that all of our staff was “extremely friendly & professional”. In addition, I’m glad you enjoyed our quickly delivered & delicious room service, our perfect location (kitty corner to the convention center), and our plush and very comfortable Sweet Dreams® beds. We hope to welcome you back on future visits, and please don’t hesitate to contact me if there is anything I can assist with.

Sincerely,

Jeff Welk
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown
414-273-2950
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We had a good stay here. Location was excellent, walked everywhere. Breakfast was very varied and well stocked- pastries very fresh. Parking was easy and valet quick. Room was very clean and bed very comfortable Would recommend for stay in Milwaukee

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonnefov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear yvonnefov-

Thank you for the wonderful review. Most importantly, thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Milwaukee. I am so pleased you enjoyed our extensive & well stocked breakfast buffet. Our culinary team is always looking to add creative & delicious options to keep the menu fresh, and our team will be happy to know you enjoyed it! In addition, I’m glad you found our valet parking option to be efficient. Thank you again for recommending our hotel to other travelers, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Jeff Welk
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown
414-273-2950
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The hotel was very clean and organized. The service was excellent and the employees were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The only request I would offer, would be to offer free coffee on the main floor with something light to eat. Not all your guests have time to have a sit down meal. The restaurant was nice but when you are in a rush, it is nice to be able to grab and go. Thanks for a very pleasant experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Bryon And Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hello Bryon And Diane P-

Thank you choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown, and for sharing your great experience with other travelers. I am glad to hear that you had a very pleasant experience at our hotel. We aim at offering perfect ‘10’ service, and I’m delighted to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful. Our Housekeeping team will be excited to receive another great review on the cleanliness of our hotel and guest rooms! We value all of our guest feedback and recommendations, and we will certainly keep your comments in mind regarding a beverage station in our lobby. Thank you again for the great review, and we hope to see you back again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Jeff Welk
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown
414-273-2950
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Pillows were the BEST! Can't sleep if the pillows are lousy. Room was clean and quiet. Bathroom was a little small but had all the right amenities. Loved the make-up mirror. Staff was very personable and helpful. Chocolate chip cookie was a nice touch.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Ellen R-

Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown, and for the great review! I am delighted that you enjoyed our very comfortable pillows, our pristine and quite guest room, the wonderful service provided by our team, and the cherry on top—our delicious warm chocolate chip & walnut cookies upon arrival. I’m delighted to hear that our hotel “had all the right amenities”. Thank you again for the awesome review, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Jeff Welk
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown
414-273-2950
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwauee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I travel for business regularly. Because I rack up points on the loyalty accounts, I am pretty much guaranteed a very nice welcome at any hotel. The Milwaukee Doubletree staff blew me away. Their greetings were sincere. The room service staff offered sight-seeing advice. The technician who came to fix the TV (a loose wire) was there quickly AND gave me a coupon for a cookie. Every time I left of came back, the folks at the front desk had something to say. In a time where many hotels have similar offerings, it is the people that make the difference. These people are the reason that I'll come back to this hotel AND will try other Doubletrees in the future. Also -- within walking distance of the Harley Davidson museum: a must do!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hello Kari S-

Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown while traveling on business, and for your continued loyalty as a Hilton Honors Member. I truly appreciate the great feedback on our hotel and the kind words on our team. I absolutely agree that it’s the people that make the difference, and I am proud to hear that our exceptional service truly differentiates us from other hotels you’ve stayed at. Our staff is always looking for ways to go above and beyond in our guest’s experience, and I’m happy to hear that our Room Service staff offered sight-seeing advice, and our Engineer provided you with a coupon for an additional freshly baked chocolate chip cookie. I’m thrilled to hear that our team made your stay memorable, and I’m so glad to hear you’ll stay with us again on a future visits. Thank you again for the very nice review, and please don’t hesitate to contact me if there is anything I can assist with.
Sincerely,

Jeff Welk

General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown
414-273-2950
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This Doubletree is in a good location for the downtown and surrounding business district. Stayed here in late July 2014 for business, but this wasn't my first choice. Due to a large conference in town, this was the only property that was available and within strict business expense policy (and that didn't look like it was setting of a horror film).

I was pleasantly surprised by the front desk staff and the valet guys. The valet guys in particular were awesome... thanks again yall! It's always nice to get the cookies at check-in too, especially after a grueling travel day. Stayed in room 817 (Hilton Honors floors are 7-10 I think) in a handicap room..again, they were super booked up, but was happy to get a room. The room definitely needs updating in decor and design, but they really are trying hard to make this as clean and nice as possible...kudos to them on that.

Loved having a microfridge in the room that could fit more than 1 diet coke can and a tiny bottle of water...great for business travelers who like to get fresh food to have in the room...or to stock their own beer. ;-)

The sundeck was nice, but wish there was a pool. The gym was very small and the treadmills were rather wobbly, but it was clean.

The ladies in the Avenue Bar and Grill were excellent both times we ate breakfast downstairs. The bartenders weren't very friendly though.

Will consider this a great backup hotel when my others are taken for future trips to Milwaukee.

Room Tip: Get on honors floor...snacks in room etc. Request room not facing 6th avenue as it's very loud d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LALela27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hello LALela27-

Thank you for selecting to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton while traveling on business, and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I am so pleased you enjoyed our perfect downtown, delicious freshly baked cookies upon arrival, our welcoming team, and our very clean guest rooms equipped with a refrigerator and microwave. We strive to provide you with the best service, and I am so pleased to hear that our front desk staff, valet staff and servers in our Avenue Bar & Grill provided you with top-notch service. We often receive compliments on our attentive & friendly bartenders, and I do apologize for our shortcoming in your experience. I will discuss your comments with our Restaurant Managers, and thank you for making us aware so we can make improvements in this area. I’m delighted to hear that you will consider staying with us on future visits. Thank you again for the wonderful review, and please don’t hesitate to contact me if there is anything I can do to assist with a future reservation.

Sincerely,

Jeff Welk
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown
414-273-2950
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 1,142 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 611 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203-1901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#6 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown is perfectly located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee and provides the ideal location when visiting the Brew City. The Wisconsin Center is adjacent to our hotel while the Milwaukee Public Museum and the BMO Harris Bradley Center are just steps away. Miller Brewing Company and Harley Davidson are just a few of the famous companies that surround our hotel. Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the Avenue Bar & Grill and check out our seasonal sundeck patio. Our award-winning staff looks forward to welcoming you to our amazing hotel and the legendary city of Milwaukee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Milwaukee
Milwaukee Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing