We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“service at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“service at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The staff was the most courteous and helpful of any I have ever encountered..From the front desk to the restaurant staff everyone was so willing and amenable to our every request. The breakfast staff was terrific and especially the manager at the desk. While the rooms especially bathrooms are not large the quality of the towels, sheets and bedding more than makes up ..The Citron soaps and shampoos were very refreshing. I would most definitely stay there again gladly.They did an excellent job of making us welcome from lending us an umbrella ..I thought the valets were friendly and everyone I encountered was so friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet ..We stayed over the weekend and had no trouble sleeping either night. I wou...
See more room tips
Green Features: I felt fine with the attempts this Hilton Doubletree has made to be environmental friendly.There was no lack or scarcity from any ecology minded issues.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. It is wonderful to hear that our staff left an impression with you and that you were able to take advantage of the amenities that the property has to offer. Please come back and visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    293
    84
    23
    14
See reviews for
225
223
47
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Doubletree on a Saturday night after attending a wedding nearby. We used Hilton points and received a room upgrade to a larger corner room because my husband is a Hilton Diamond member. The room was very large and very nicely decorated. Everyone in the hotel was very welcoming and professional. We would stay here again and recommend it to friends also. We did not use the pool or gym facilities. The buffet breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn_from_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you and your husband got to have a get away. Please know that there is not a pool on property but in the summer we have a wonderful sun deck. Please come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

This property is old and the bathroom is tiny. The air conditioning/heating unit is noisy, and even though we tried to raise the temperature, the room was cold. My biggest disappointment is that as a Hilton Diamond member, I didn't get a room on either of the two Hilton Honors floors. Our friends checked in at the same time as us and were given a room on the Honors floor (they were Honors members but not at the Diamond level). When I asked why we weren't on that floor, I was told that a room probably wasn't available. Strange, since a room certainly was available when I checked in. I've stayed at much nicer Doubletrees in other cities.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your patronage to Hilton and please know that we appreciate you loyalty. Without knowing all the details of the reservations it is hard to say why you were not located on a Hilton Honors floor. I do apologize for we do try to accomodate all our guest accordingly. Please know that since your stay we have added another HHonors floor for two was not enough to accommodate our frequent Hilton travelers. I do hope that the travels that brought you to Milwaukee were eventful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
Level Contributor
131 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights to visit the Harley Museum and see some of Milwaulkee. Nice hotel that needs a little upgrading. Comfortable stay. I am a Diamond member and stayed on points, so I get free breakfast and parking. Typically parking in downtown milwaulkee can be expensive, here it would have been $15 nightly.

Very close to the HD museum and restaurants and bars within walking distance.

Courteous staff and had no issues here at all. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Away from the front of the hotel, as it is a downtown location and on a fairly busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EMB08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your patronage to Hilton and taking the time to write about your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee downtown. It is great to hear that our hotel met your needs and that you were able to take advantage of your Hilton points. I do hope that your experience at both the hotel and in Milwaukee will bring you back to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox, Illinois
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Fine hotel for when you just need a place to sleep. Was in town over the weekend for one night... wasn't in the room much. Bed was comfortable... room and sheets were exceptionally clean, plenty of towels in the bathroom. Room temperature control was good.

There are probably some minor negative intangibles, but not much of a factor since I wasn't there long. Small bathroom, expensive breakfast buffet, valet parking only (there is an outdoor public parking lot half a block east on Wisconsin Ave. I didn't bring out my tablet, so I don't know if WiFi is free or not.

Location is good. West end of downtown -- a walk along Wisc. Ave is probably 10 minutes or so from the river. There's a 24/7 Dunkin Donuts across the street, a few convient stores around, a Starbucks down the street, a Millertime Pub (nice place, good food) also down the street, and your just a few blocks east of the Marquette campus area.

Very clean room and comfy bed... no qualms about sleeping at night in the room. That's all I can ask for and with nothing else really bothering me about my stay, I have no problem giving it 5 stars.

Room Tip: If going to Miller Park or the Casino, skip I-94 and just take 6th St. west. When you reach Canal, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mhawrysko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtwon. We your patronage to our hotel and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Great rooms and staff. Loved the gym too, cardio machines and even free weights. Easy access to nice parts of Milwaukee. However not a great neighborhood at night, don't walk around alone at night but great if you have a group of people.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meganpetroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
430 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Milwaukee is a great place to visit, and this place is good for both business travelers and tourists. Rooms are nice, bathrooms are a bit small bit overall it works. Walking distance to many area to-do's downtown and quick access to the interstate.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djdahlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
So wonderful to hear that you found Milwaukee to be a great place to visit and that you enjoyed your time with us at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#18 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 1,253 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#4 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 611 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203-1901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#6 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown is perfectly located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee and provides the ideal location when visiting the Brew City. The Wisconsin Center is adjacent to our hotel while the Milwaukee Public Museum and the BMO Harris Bradley Center are just steps away. Miller Brewing Company and Harley Davidson are just a few of the famous companies that surround our hotel. Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the Avenue Bar & Grill and check out our seasonal sundeck patio. Our award-winning staff looks forward to welcoming you to our amazing hotel and the legendary city of Milwaukee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Milwaukee
Milwaukee Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing