We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown
Nearby Hotels
$201
$176
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$119
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$260
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$225
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ambassador Hotel(Milwaukee)
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Comfort Suites Milwaukee - Park Place(Milwaukee)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pfister Hotel(Milwaukee)
$282
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Potawatomi Hotel & Casino(Milwaukee)(Great Value!)
$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,386)
Filter reviews
1,386 results
Traveler rating
877
357
102
33
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
877
357
102
33
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treewarm cookiesfront deskvalet parkingsun deckbreakfast buffetrestaurant staffmilwaukee downtownvalet servicewithin walking distancebusiness tripconvention centerwould stay here againclean roomsthe entire staffenjoyed my stayhousekeeping staff
Filter
Updating list...
1,146 - 1,151 of 1,386 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here for the Milwaukee Public Museum Food & Froth event on 2/16/13. Very happy with the hotel choice. Check-in was easy even with a lot of craziness of people coming and going through the lobby. Location was great - 1 block from the museum and just a few blocks walk to Old World 3rd St.

The room itself was on the small side but not a problem as it was just my wife and me. Bed was very comfortable - my wife commented it was her best night sleep at a hotel in a long time. Bathroom door was a bit strange - probably the narrowest doorway I have ever seen in a hotel bathroom.

Breakfast had a very good selection and no complaints at all about the food. Overall it was just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GFY19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

We sincerely appreciate the glowing review, and we thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown with other travelers. In addition, it is great to hear that you were able to enjoy some of the activities that Downtown Milwaukee has to offer. Even when it is cold outside there are fun things to do. Please come back and visit us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Up to Marquette to visit, with a hotel that was within easy walking distance. What a treat from the front desk staff on check in.

The surprise was the 15/day hotel parking. I wish this was boldly stated on the Hilton website. Honors members you too will pay additional for parking. Ok,

I prepaid for the morning breakfast and having fresh fruit including blackberries was a treat. Yes there is the unhealthy stuff too but you can eat well and it is easy in and out for breakfast.

My room was dimly lit, given the cross over to florescent bulbs in the fixtures and burned out ones to further darken the room. The dark room and the noise on the street from the 5th floor is a caution to future guests. If noise bothers you, get up higher into the hotel, and make sure your room lights work right away so you have time to change rooms before settling in.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJB4150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our cookie and that our location worked for your visit to Marquette. Feedback assists us with being able to better communicate with our guests. I do hope that the valet parking service while an extra cost was found to be a great value. We do have the parking fee on all confirmations that are sent via email and also on our website and during our reservation process we let our future guests know that there will be a fee. I am sorry that this information was missed and we will reiterate how important it is to communicate the parking. I do apologize for the lighting in the room that is an issue that should not ever happen. Please do come back and visit us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was our first time staying at this hotel, and we were impressed. It had some of the friendliest staff we've ever encountered at a hotel. Warm chocolate chip cookies when you arrive is a nice touch, too! Our room was spotless, though a bit small. Luxurious linens, a comfortable bed, and multiple pillows gave us a great night's sleep. The valet parking was very convenient and cheaper than parking at nearby hotels. We will definitely stay here again when visiting downtown Milwaukee.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank wecanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

We sincerely appreciate the glowing review, and we thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown with other travelers. In addition, we love to hear wonderful comments about the amenities at the hotel, the valet service the quality of our sheets and most importantly getting a good night sleep. Please come back and visit us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed at the Double Tree for a convention. Loved the Valet Parking and the warm cookie upon check in. The room was nice but a very small bathroom. Great location. The only problem that I had was while in our meetings we could smell cigarette smoke in the convention room. We also smelled cigarette smoke in our room. We were on the 7th floor.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gpackergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. We do apologize for any inconvenience you experienced by the cigarette smell. Please know that when notified we do try to find where the problem is coming from and take care of it. Wisconsin is a no smoking state and unfortunately, there are people who choose to ignore the rules. It is wonderful that you found our Valet to be a great service and you enjoyed our cookies they are yummy. Please come back and visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

On a recent trip to the Milwaukee area we stayed at this fine hotel. Upon registering they gave us homemade chocolate cookies,mmmmmm very tasty. We wanted to be near the Potawatamie Casino and this hotel is very close ,also very close to Marquette University. The rooms are spacious, very clean and comfortable. They also have a shuttle that can take you to the Casino,free of charge a nice feature. The hotel staff is very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. I just wish they didn't charge for the parking after all you are staying at their property.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boopdboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. We are glad that you were able to explore the area and take advantage of some of the activities that Milwaukee has to offer. We do charge for parking but have worked to maintain a low cost and hopefully a great service with the valet. Please come back and visit us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews