We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here for the Milwaukee Public Museum Food & Froth event on 2/16/13. Very happy with the hotel choice. Check-in was easy even with a lot of craziness of people coming and going through the lobby. Location was great - 1 block from the museum and just a few blocks walk to Old World 3rd St.

The room itself was on the small side but not a problem as it was just my wife and me. Bed was very comfortable - my wife commented it was her best night sleep at a hotel in a long time. Bathroom door was a bit strange - probably the narrowest doorway I have ever seen in a hotel bathroom.

Breakfast had a very good selection and no complaints at all about the food. Overall it was just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GFY19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We sincerely appreciate the glowing review, and we thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown with other travelers. In addition, it is great to hear that you were able to enjoy some of the activities that Downtown Milwaukee has to offer. Even when it is cold outside there are fun things to do. Please come back and visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    283
    78
    21
    14
See reviews for
217
214
43
384
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Up to Marquette to visit, with a hotel that was within easy walking distance. What a treat from the front desk staff on check in.

The surprise was the 15/day hotel parking. I wish this was boldly stated on the Hilton website. Honors members you too will pay additional for parking. Ok,

I prepaid for the morning breakfast and having fresh fruit including blackberries was a treat. Yes there is the unhealthy stuff too but you can eat well and it is easy in and out for breakfast.

My room was dimly lit, given the cross over to florescent bulbs in the fixtures and burned out ones to further darken the room. The dark room and the noise on the street from the 5th floor is a caution to future guests. If noise bothers you, get up higher into the hotel, and make sure your room lights work right away so you have time to change rooms before settling in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJB4150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our cookie and that our location worked for your visit to Marquette. Feedback assists us with being able to better communicate with our guests. I do hope that the valet parking service while an extra cost was found to be a great value. We do have the parking fee on all confirmations that are sent via email and also on our website and during our reservation process we let our future guests know that there will be a fee. I am sorry that this information was missed and we will reiterate how important it is to communicate the parking. I do apologize for the lighting in the room that is an issue that should not ever happen. Please do come back and visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time staying at this hotel, and we were impressed. It had some of the friendliest staff we've ever encountered at a hotel. Warm chocolate chip cookies when you arrive is a nice touch, too! Our room was spotless, though a bit small. Luxurious linens, a comfortable bed, and multiple pillows gave us a great night's sleep. The valet parking was very convenient and cheaper than parking at nearby hotels. We will definitely stay here again when visiting downtown Milwaukee.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank wecanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We sincerely appreciate the glowing review, and we thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown with other travelers. In addition, we love to hear wonderful comments about the amenities at the hotel, the valet service the quality of our sheets and most importantly getting a good night sleep. Please come back and visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed at the Double Tree for a convention. Loved the Valet Parking and the warm cookie upon check in. The room was nice but a very small bathroom. Great location. The only problem that I had was while in our meetings we could smell cigarette smoke in the convention room. We also smelled cigarette smoke in our room. We were on the 7th floor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gpackergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. We do apologize for any inconvenience you experienced by the cigarette smell. Please know that when notified we do try to find where the problem is coming from and take care of it. Wisconsin is a no smoking state and unfortunately, there are people who choose to ignore the rules. It is wonderful that you found our Valet to be a great service and you enjoyed our cookies they are yummy. Please come back and visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
162 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

On a recent trip to the Milwaukee area we stayed at this fine hotel. Upon registering they gave us homemade chocolate cookies,mmmmmm very tasty. We wanted to be near the Potawatamie Casino and this hotel is very close ,also very close to Marquette University. The rooms are spacious, very clean and comfortable. They also have a shuttle that can take you to the Casino,free of charge a nice feature. The hotel staff is very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. I just wish they didn't charge for the parking after all you are staying at their property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boopdboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. We are glad that you were able to explore the area and take advantage of some of the activities that Milwaukee has to offer. We do charge for parking but have worked to maintain a low cost and hopefully a great service with the valet. Please come back and visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Springs, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here to be near the casino. Which was the main reason for being here. The rooms were nice. The casino sent me a hotel voucher and free valet. So my stay was extra special. Even if I didnt get a break I would still stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. Happy to hear you were able to take advantage of their special promotion and that the hotel provided you with a great stay. Please come back and visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Double Tree hotel in downtown Milwaukee, WI is the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. You get an amazing chocolate chip cookie at check in. The hotel rooms are very clean and the beds are so comfortable with lots of pillows and the sheets are nice and soft.

Room Tip: Ask for suite or mini suite they have microwaves and refrigerator
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We sincerely appreciate the glowing review, and we thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown with other travelers. In addition, we love to hear wonderful comments about the amenities at the hotel, the valet service the cookies and the location. Please come back and visit us in the future while traveling in Milwaukee on business or for pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#4 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 1,115 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 611 West Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#6 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown is perfectly located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee and provides the ideal location when visiting the Brew City. The Wisconsin Center is adjacent to our hotel while the Milwaukee Public Museum and the BMO Harris Bradley Center are just steps away. Miller Brewing Company and Harley Davidson are just a few of the famous companies that surround our hotel. Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the Avenue Bar & Grill and check out our seasonal sundeck patio. Our award-winning staff looks forward to welcoming you to our amazing hotel and the legendary city of Milwaukee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Milwaukee
Milwaukee Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing