We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very Impressive Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very Impressive Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time staying at this hotel, and we were impressed. It had some of the friendliest staff we've ever encountered at a hotel. Warm chocolate chip cookies when you arrive is a nice touch, too! Our room was spotless, though a bit small. Luxurious linens, a comfortable bed, and multiple pillows gave us a great night's sleep. The valet parking was very convenient and cheaper than parking at nearby hotels. We will definitely stay here again when visiting downtown Milwaukee.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank wecanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We sincerely appreciate the glowing review, and we thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown with other travelers. In addition, we love to hear wonderful comments about the amenities at the hotel, the valet service the quality of our sheets and most importantly getting a good night sleep. Please come back and visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    293
    84
    23
    14
See reviews for
225
223
47
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed at the Double Tree for a convention. Loved the Valet Parking and the warm cookie upon check in. The room was nice but a very small bathroom. Great location. The only problem that I had was while in our meetings we could smell cigarette smoke in the convention room. We also smelled cigarette smoke in our room. We were on the 7th floor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gpackergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. We do apologize for any inconvenience you experienced by the cigarette smell. Please know that when notified we do try to find where the problem is coming from and take care of it. Wisconsin is a no smoking state and unfortunately, there are people who choose to ignore the rules. It is wonderful that you found our Valet to be a great service and you enjoyed our cookies they are yummy. Please come back and visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
171 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

On a recent trip to the Milwaukee area we stayed at this fine hotel. Upon registering they gave us homemade chocolate cookies,mmmmmm very tasty. We wanted to be near the Potawatamie Casino and this hotel is very close ,also very close to Marquette University. The rooms are spacious, very clean and comfortable. They also have a shuttle that can take you to the Casino,free of charge a nice feature. The hotel staff is very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. I just wish they didn't charge for the parking after all you are staying at their property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boopdboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. We are glad that you were able to explore the area and take advantage of some of the activities that Milwaukee has to offer. We do charge for parking but have worked to maintain a low cost and hopefully a great service with the valet. Please come back and visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Springs, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here to be near the casino. Which was the main reason for being here. The rooms were nice. The casino sent me a hotel voucher and free valet. So my stay was extra special. Even if I didnt get a break I would still stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. Happy to hear you were able to take advantage of their special promotion and that the hotel provided you with a great stay. Please come back and visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Double Tree hotel in downtown Milwaukee, WI is the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. You get an amazing chocolate chip cookie at check in. The hotel rooms are very clean and the beds are so comfortable with lots of pillows and the sheets are nice and soft.

Room Tip: Ask for suite or mini suite they have microwaves and refrigerator
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We sincerely appreciate the glowing review, and we thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown with other travelers. In addition, we love to hear wonderful comments about the amenities at the hotel, the valet service the cookies and the location. Please come back and visit us in the future while traveling in Milwaukee on business or for pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My friend and I stayed for two nights at the beginning of January. We were promptly greeted and given warm chocolate chip cookies from the front desk. A valet is available to park your car for $15 a day with in and out privileges which is great. Our room was on the 9th floor, two double beds which were very comfy, a mini-fridge and desk area and a nice sized bathroom. The location was great as we could walk to dinner and cab it home from the 3rd ward. It was a perfect base for exploring Milwaukee and I would definitely recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilwaukeeGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you very much for the wonderful feedback and for taking the time to share your experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown with other travelers. We also want to thank you for choosing to stay with us while traveling to Milwaukee, and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Great Valet protected parking. Warm cookies are a nice touch. Did not like the fact that they won't give you Hilton Honors points if you book under a corporate account and get a discounted rate. Why would I bother signing up for Hilton Honors if I don't get credit for staying here weekly on business travel. How else would anyone rack up at least 16 stays to get a free room through Hilton Honors if it wasn't a business traveler. No individual is gong to have 16 room stays unless it's for work. Ridiculous. Hotel was great, these membership deals are not.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a review of your experience at the Doubletree Milwaukee Downtown. I am glad that you find value in our valet parking and you enjoy the cookies. I do hope that our conversation privately has cleared any misunderstanding regarding your HHonors. We look forward to future visits. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#17 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 1,248 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#4 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 611 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203-1901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#6 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown is perfectly located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee and provides the ideal location when visiting the Brew City. The Wisconsin Center is adjacent to our hotel while the Milwaukee Public Museum and the BMO Harris Bradley Center are just steps away. Miller Brewing Company and Harley Davidson are just a few of the famous companies that surround our hotel. Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the Avenue Bar & Grill and check out our seasonal sundeck patio. Our award-winning staff looks forward to welcoming you to our amazing hotel and the legendary city of Milwaukee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Milwaukee
Milwaukee Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing