We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy check in.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Sherwood
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Easy check in.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Great Valet protected parking. Warm cookies are a nice touch. Did not like the fact that they won't give you Hilton Honors points if you book under a corporate account and get a discounted rate. Why would I bother signing up for Hilton Honors if I don't get credit for staying here weekly on business travel. How else would anyone rack up at least 16 stays to get a free room through Hilton Honors if it wasn't a business traveler. No individual is gong to have 16 room stays unless it's for work. Ridiculous. Hotel was great, these membership deals are not.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a review of your experience at the Doubletree Milwaukee Downtown. I am glad that you find value in our valet parking and you enjoy the cookies. I do hope that our conversation privately has cleared any misunderstanding regarding your HHonors. We look forward to future visits. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    283
    77
    21
    14
See reviews for
217
213
43
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest--USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Awesome hotel, with an excellent caring staff. Definitely a great hotel! From the cookies to the valet, they were all trained well and respectful to the customers. The shuttle was a great add. The restaurant staff was super. Location in downtown Milwaukee was just right. Definitely recommend this hotel to any Milwaukee traveler. They will treat you right.

No pool, but a nice layout for the hotel. They were a
ttentative and ready to serve the guests

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMSTROUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write about your stay with us at the Doubletree Milwaukee Downtown. The tribute to the King event is one of our favorites. It is always great to see and experience the festivities. Please come back and visit us again in the future. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel is in a place you can move around by yourself with no trouble and quickly. This is fantastic because you can decide to hosting for business and after meeting day you can choose excellent restaurants very close to the hotel.

Also important to say for foreign travelers that the city looks safe and pretty clean.

People I got in touch also were friendly inside the hotel, milwaukee airport, shootle driver, etc....

Fortunately I have no trouble to register in or to comment about and this reinforce my recommendation for you to choose the hotel if you need on your next trip, this could be an excellent choice and decision. You will be happy, no doubt!!!

Not far away you can reach good stores and outlets such as best buy, etc....

The weather in September 2012 was great and pleasant during a week.

The hotel offers you good services, the daily rate reasonable and as said well installed and located.

You will love it!!!!

Make your choice and review sharing your next experience.

Have yoy all a happy new year!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiw1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. It is an amazing feeling to read when someone's stay has gone so well. Please come back and visit us in the future. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here on Saturday Dec. 22 and had a wonderful experience. From the convenient FREE valet parking to the front desk and wonderful service for breakfast - a shout out to Angela our server who made us feel so welcome and special. And to David the food and beverage asst. director who we exchanged trip advice with, thanks! Don't overlook this hotel the next time you stay in Milwaukee.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kevinpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. In reading your review I would believe you to be the purchaser of a Living Social Certificate. Thank you for the wonderful review but I do need to correct one statement and that being Valet parking is not free. The is a fee but because you had purchased a certificate it was included in your stay. The vouchers were a great little value and we appreciate that you chose to spend time with us. Please come back and visit in the future. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Very happy with our stay at The Double Tree. Check in was quick and efficient and we were quickly on our way to an upgraded room on the 10th floor. The hotel is older than I had expected and is in need of some cosmetic updates - however, the rooms were very clean and the entire property very well kept. There are flat screens in the rooms and there was granite in the bathroom but the hotel carpet looked old and so did the curtains in the room. We had Bucks tickets and it was a quick 4 or so block walk to the stadium and even on a very cold night - it was easy. When we returned the front desk clerk remembered that we went to the game - which was very nice. All n' all a great stay and we will return when in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2bebizee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. Thank you for all the wonderful comments from the cleanliness of the rooms to the helpfulness of the staff. When everything comes together it can just make for a great experience. Please visit us again in the future we will look forward to your visit. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
203 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed there for a couple of months 2011/2012. It is an excellent package for business. it is not really luxurious , but all you need. The rooms were nice..could need some improvements ( like bathroom fixtures etc.. ) - but overall good. Breakfast is good and "real" ( atmosphere about average , however , for restaurant and bar ) . The have a full bar and restaurant on site and food is elevated sports bar food. They have a daily special which is pretty healthy actually. Staff is super nice - valet parking is quick. One of our team had an emergency at the place...and they took care of her and her stuff..can highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write about your experience at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. It is wonderful to know that we able to accommodate your travel needs while you were away on business. Please come back if ever your travels put you in our area to visit. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was our third time staying at this hotel. Once again, another fantastic visit.
The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The desk staff was very friendly.
We got a great deal on the room and breakfast. The breakfast buffet was very good. We had dinner at Mimma's Cafe. It was wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moylan, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown. It is always wonderful to hear that we provide consistent service and that we have people who come back on regular basis to visit us and our hotel. We look forward to your future visits. Sincerely, Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#4 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 1,114 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 611 West Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#6 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Milwaukee Downtown is perfectly located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee and provides the ideal location when visiting the Brew City. The Wisconsin Center is adjacent to our hotel while the Milwaukee Public Museum and the BMO Harris Bradley Center are just steps away. Miller Brewing Company and Harley Davidson are just a few of the famous companies that surround our hotel. Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the Avenue Bar & Grill and check out our seasonal sundeck patio. Our award-winning staff looks forward to welcoming you to our amazing hotel and the legendary city of Milwaukee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Milwaukee
Milwaukee Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing