We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #39 of 54 Hotels in Milwaukee
Milton, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We recently stayed the Hotel Metro. The hotel was clean, comfortable and centrally located to the River walk and Third Ward. We stayed in a Fireplace suite and enjoyed the set up of the room. Upon check-in, we relaxed on the roof top deck with a beverage the downstairs lounge. The hotel has a fun British taxi that will take you to local establishments upon request. One of the highlights of the hotel. Besides our cocktail, we didn't dine at the restaurant. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 504, the fireplace was nice. Very sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April T, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Lesley H,

Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Metro for your visit to our area! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and were able to experience our amazing roof top space, Zen on 7!

We hope to see you again!

At your service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    109
    61
    29
    26
See reviews for
41
186
15
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

The Metro is in a great spot in Milwaukee, and is something of a boutique, apparently. However, it is not worth a stay. The air conditioning in my room would not reduce the temperature below 76, even after a visit from hotel maintenance which pronounced the problem fixed. The blackout window curtain was off the rod. The rooms are very poorly lighted (I hate dark rooms). The front desk staff is poor. And the floor of the shower is so slick I can't understand why someone hasn't been injured. All in all, a very poor hotel experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April T, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear peter s,

Thank you for staying with us for your visit to Milwaukee! I am very sorry to hear about the service failures that you experienced during your stay. I have review this information with the appropriate associates so we can provide exceptional service in the future. If you would like to discuss your stay further you are welcome to contact me at the hotel and we can discuss offline.

Thank you again for taking the time to share feedback as it certainly helps us improve.

At your service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our first wedding anniversary. After a lot of research we decided on this hotel. While the location was great, the room and building were very out dated. By looking at the pictures it looks "50 ' modern". But when we arrived. ... It was just very 50's. Not really romantic. The tub in our room was pretty gross and we told them at check in we were there for our anniversary and the only other people on our floor were girls in a bachelorette party that was up all night, slamming doors going room to room. .. which normally wouldn't be that big of deal but the walls are super thin. When we checked out they asked how our stay was. .. We said OK. ... but we didn't sleep. .. and that's all we were there to do.... but they just said sorry. I would never return here.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April T, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Shannon K,

Thank you so much taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us. You are welcome to contact me at the hotel so we can discuss further offline.

At your service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Although beautiful and centrally located, the service didn't seem worthy of the price. I may be confusing myself now with being in Asia... as $160 dollars a night doesn't deem worthy of the front desk being a bit lazy, lax and snippy. It was nice, good food for breakfast and a great little hotel bar, but not gush worthy.

Room Tip: Pick a higher level room if possible. Use the roof top terrace, nice and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Am_in_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April T, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Am_in_hk,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not everything that you hoped. I have reviewed this information with our leadership team so we can offer the best possible service in the future.

Thank you for staying with us for your visit to Milwaukee!

At your service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights while attending an event in the downtown area. Our check in was quick and efficient and we opted for the valet parking at $27 a night. A ramp adjacent to the hotel is also available for $27 a night. Valet was quick and we were quickly in our room on the third floor. No view to speak of, but the room was quite spacious and had two doors to the bathroom, which included a stand up shower and good sized soaking tub. The Aveda toiletries are always a plus with the wife. We read reviews and heard about noise but I heard no other guests and no outdoor sounds during our stay and we went to sleep quite early on Friday night.

We walked every where from the hotel as it is really in the center of downtown and just a short walk to Walkers Point.

We have stayed at 8 hotels in the Milwaukee downtown area and would not hesitate to stay here when we return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbsunlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April T, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear jbsunlvr,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor! I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and enjoyed your time in Milwaukee!

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to our area!

At your service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a nice boutique-feel hotel in the downtown area with restaurants and bars in walking distance. Our king suite was huge - basically the size of a studio apartment, with a small hallway leading to a sofa area with a TV, and then the bedroom area is around the corner separated by a wall. There was a very well stocked (and pricey) mini bar that we didn't use, and a very comfy bathroom with a deep soaking tub and a spa type shower. The best part of the shower was that it had an adjustable height shower head, which was wonderful because so many hotels make tall guests crouch under a way too low shower. Everything had a very nice upscale feel - the room was clean, the bed was super comfortable, and so were the bathrobes. The downside of the hotel is that it was loud. We were on the 3rd floor, and heard plenty of street level noise, plus we could hear music vibrations either from the bar down the street or the hotel ballroom or restaurant. And if you're staying here for the "historic" feel, there really wasn't anything particularly historic about the hotel - it had a very 1980's feel, with a turquoise and salmon color scheme. The only art deco details I noticed were on the display cases and mailbox across from the elevators in the lobby. The rest was a very nice, but modern, hotel.

The one big question we had was about street parking, which the desk staff couldn't seem to answer. We didn't see any signs saying you can't park overnight on the street, and the meters said they don't start until 8AM Monday, so we found a space on the street just a couple of blocks away, and parked Saturday through Sunday night. Sunday night we parked in a lot at Broadway and Wells for $5, which was a lot cheaper than the $27 valet parking offered by the hotel. I'm sure they want to steer us toward valet parking, but it would have been nice if the desk staff could have given us the info about other parking options.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shell9903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April T, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Shell9903,

Thank you very much for sharing your Hotel Metro experience with us on Trip Advisor! I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with us! I sincerely apologize that the front desk agent was not able to answer your questions about parking.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to see you on your next visit to Milwaukee!

With hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglassville
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The staff was welcoming and helpful. Our room, a suite actually, was very clean and well decorated. The roof top garden Zen space was very cool and afforded a wonderful view of the city. The bar was fun. The restaurant served an excellent and reasonably priced breakfast. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DouglassvilleDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April T, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear DouglassvilleDonna,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! I am glad to hear that you had a great stay!

We hope to see you on your next visit to Milwaukee!

At your service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#15 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 411 E Mason St, Milwaukee, WI 53202-3702
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#15 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#18 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metro 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic, Art Deco inspired, hotel is located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee's Art and Entertainment District. Our suites are not just spacious, they are HUGE! Our suites range from 450 sq.ft. to 750 sq.ft. and can accommodate up to four guests per room. We are located in the middle of a very walk friendly and restaurant rich neighborhood. We are very close to Lake Michigan's waterfront, the Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson Museum, BMO Harris Bradley Center and the Wisconsin Center. Hotel Metro is a Four-Star, full-service hotel and has been fortunate enough to have been recognized as "One of the Top Hotels in the World" by Travel & Leisure Magazine, as well as "Where to Stay" by the New York Times. Most recently, we were honored with the 2013 & 2014 Excellence Award from TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing