We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice downtown hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #32 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice downtown hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a nice boutique-feel hotel in the downtown area with restaurants and bars in walking distance. Our king suite was huge - basically the size of a studio apartment, with a small hallway leading to a sofa area with a TV, and then the bedroom area is around the corner separated by a wall. There was a very well stocked (and pricey) mini bar that we didn't use, and a very comfy bathroom with a deep soaking tub and a spa type shower. The best part of the shower was that it had an adjustable height shower head, which was wonderful because so many hotels make tall guests crouch under a way too low shower. Everything had a very nice upscale feel - the room was clean, the bed was super comfortable, and so were the bathrobes. The downside of the hotel is that it was loud. We were on the 3rd floor, and heard plenty of street level noise, plus we could hear music vibrations either from the bar down the street or the hotel ballroom or restaurant. And if you're staying here for the "historic" feel, there really wasn't anything particularly historic about the hotel - it had a very 1980's feel, with a turquoise and salmon color scheme. The only art deco details I noticed were on the display cases and mailbox across from the elevators in the lobby. The rest was a very nice, but modern, hotel.

The one big question we had was about street parking, which the desk staff couldn't seem to answer. We didn't see any signs saying you can't park overnight on the street, and the meters said they don't start until 8AM Monday, so we found a space on the street just a couple of blocks away, and parked Saturday through Sunday night. Sunday night we parked in a lot at Broadway and Wells for $5, which was a lot cheaper than the $27 valet parking offered by the hotel. I'm sure they want to steer us toward valet parking, but it would have been nice if the desk staff could have given us the info about other parking options.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shell9903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April T, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Shell9903,

Thank you very much for sharing your Hotel Metro experience with us on Trip Advisor! I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with us! I sincerely apologize that the front desk agent was not able to answer your questions about parking.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to see you on your next visit to Milwaukee!

With hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    105
    56
    29
    24
See reviews for
38
180
15
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Douglassville
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The staff was welcoming and helpful. Our room, a suite actually, was very clean and well decorated. The roof top garden Zen space was very cool and afforded a wonderful view of the city. The bar was fun. The restaurant served an excellent and reasonably priced breakfast. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DouglassvilleDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April T, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear DouglassvilleDonna,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! I am glad to hear that you had a great stay!

We hope to see you on your next visit to Milwaukee!

At your service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Fabulous location in the historic third Ward. Walking distance from theaters, restaurants, bars, the Riverwalk and River St. Updated and clean. All of the staff was very professional and friendly. Rooms were very clean and nicely equipped. Mini fridge was fully stocked, mini bar had several options. soaps, lotions and bath crystals were Aveda brand. Plenty of large clean fluffy towels. Tiled shower. Bed was very soft with fluffy pillows and clean bedding. Attached restaurant and bar was very classy. Service was top-notch. Ate breakfast there and was very impressed with quality of food. Rooftop patio lounge was beautiful, seven floors up. Very clean whirlpool hot tub, sauna and small (but nicely equipped) fitness center. My only complaint about the entire stay was it was very difficult to keep the room cool. We will definitely be back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bob7203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April T, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Bob L,

Thank you so much for the great review on Trip Advisor! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us!

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Milwaukee!

With hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Hotel rooms were huge! Very nice, clean and beds comfy.

The bell staff was on their game! It was a great experience overall.

It's an Art Deco theme, refreshing and different than the norm.

I would recommend valet parking, too much hassle to find parking on your own.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JenRay1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April T, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear JenRay1980,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found our hotel to be clean and friendly! We do offer valet parking and our valet staff is also the bellman.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you during your next visit to Milwaukee!

At your service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wi
Level Contributor
80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed here for the night of 5-3-14. We made our reservation over the phone, directly to the hotel, for the best deal among the other searches we used. That said, upon arrival our SUV was wisked away to parking by a very outgoing and professional valet. (We used the service again to go out/return from diner and when checking out in the morning). At the desk there was a little room available, due to cleaning, (or not?) glitch, but it all was quickly sorted out. Desk staff was helpful, professional. Took our luggage up to our room and was immediately struck by the large size (550sf) of the room. Large windows allowed ample light to enter the room. The room layout was unusual for a well seasoned traveler, but it works out nicely. My wife stayed here when it first opened, about 7-8 years ago. It was my first stay here. She commented that it was starting to show some wear, compared to when it was new. To be expected, I suppose. The bathroom was very nice, same for the comfortable bed and up scale bedding. A air purifier was in the room. Not bothered by any allergies while there. 2 large screen TV's. Comfortable chairs and couch. We had breakfast room service on Sunday morning (5-4-14) and I must say it was about the fastest room service we ever had! Food was good and plenty of coffee provided. My only complaint would be that the rooftop zen area seemed off limits as it was rented out Saturday night and Sunday morning. Would have liked to gone up there and looked around but understand it was rented out to others. Maybe next time.

Room Tip: All we really cared about was the rate/night. And we got the best deal by calling the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnMountPleasantWis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April T, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear JohnMountPleasantWis,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor! Feedback good or bad certainly helps us to improve. I am very happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful! I am sorry that Zen on 7 was closed during a private event. However, the fitness center, salt water hot tub, and sauna are always available to guests from 6am to midnight.

Thank you so much for staying with us and please visit us again on your next visit to Milwaukee!

With hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This property was selected for us by a "local". It is an older property but they have done wonders with it regarding upgrades and renovations. It appears as they took what used to be two individual rooms and made them into one suite. Very comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful, however they did miss my wakeup call which was a little unsettling.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fgcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April T, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear fgcook,

We appreciate your comments and certainly thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Thank you for choosing Hotel Metro for your visit to Milwaukee! We hope to see you again when your travel brings you to our area!

At your service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I made a reservation with Hotel Metro for my wedding night. I received two confirming emails for two different nights, so I called back to make sure they had my reservation. They said someone had likely made an error so they sent me to emails. When it came to my wedding night, I called to confirm and let them know that my check in would be late. They said that they had my reservation and it was fine. I get to Hotel Metro and wait 10 minutes to get my room number. When I get to my room, it was not the room that I reserved. I try to call down to the front desk but the phone in the room did not work at all. We tried everything to get it to work. I called using my cell phone down to the front desk and asked why the Hotel would check me into a room that was different from my reservation. I was told that he did not know what kind of room I booked. I then just decided it was better to leave. Hotel Metro had no other rooms. it was clear they overbooked their facility to make as much money as they could and they wanted it to be my fault for their error. Totally unacceptable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LM142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April T, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear LM142014,

I am very sorry to hear about your experience with us. I am truly sorry about the mishap that occurred on your special day. Please contact me at the hotel at 414.225.3254 so we can discuss and work out a resolution for you.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#18 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,600 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 627 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#20 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 411 E Mason St, Milwaukee, WI 53202-3702
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#15 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#18 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metro 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic, Art Deco inspired, hotel is located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee's Art and Entertainment District. Our suites are not just spacious, they are HUGE! Our suites range from 450 sq.ft. to 750 sq.ft. and can accommodate up to four guests per room. We are located in the middle of a very walk friendly and restaurant rich neighborhood. We are very close to Lake Michigan's waterfront, the Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson Museum, BMO Harris Bradley Center and the Wisconsin Center. Hotel Metro is a Four-Star, full-service hotel and has been fortunate enough to have been recognized as "One of the Top Hotels in the World" by Travel & Leisure Magazine, as well as "Where to Stay" by the New York Times. Most recently, we were honored with the 2013 & 2014 Excellence Award from TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing