We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #40 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Warrenpoint, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Stay”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My partner and myself have just returned from a stay at the Metro Hotel in Milwaukee. When we arrived we were greeted by Chris the newly appointed Hotel Manager, who immediately upgraded us to a King Suite and throughout our stay could not do enough fro us . The Hotel is listed on the Historic Hotels of America. It was opened in 1937 and has been refurbished in line with its original streamlined art deco design. Our suite was an unusual corner suite looking out on the corner of Mason Street. It had a Jacuzzi bath and a fully stocked mini bar with everything you might want. All of the staff were so friendly and helpful, advising us what to see in Milwaukee, which is a beautiful city. If I ever have the pleasure to visit Milwaukee again , I will be staying at the Metro. Thanks again to Chris , the Manager who was very courteous and attentive.

Room Tip: Ask for Chris.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    118
    64
    36
    28
See reviews for
45
198
18
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prairie Village, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The rooms are rather large, and if you like art deco you will think it is pretty cool. I found my room to be run down and a bit beat up. I am particularly sensitive to smell, but sensitivity is not needed here as you can smell the cleaning agents as they smack you in the face... this always makes me curious about the chemicals I am touching and what they are covering up?

All the said the staff was very friendly and helpful, which sometimes is harder to find than you would think. Kudos to the staff!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrakeInTheVillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Hotel Metro is in a re-purposed older building in MKE. This is how a "Vintage" property should be brought up to today's standards. (Are you listening National Hotel, South Beach?) Rooms are VERY spacious with large well equipped bathrooms (complete with towel warmers for those MKE winter mornings) Friendly employees, excellent service, reasonable rates, neat and clean premises ~ this is simply an excellent place to stay. Workout room on top floor with a nice urban view. Convieniently located in downtown with plenty of dining options within easy walking distance.

Insider tip: $2 good draft beers in the bar from 3-6pm daily (it's MKE!) Also, later in the evening grab a nightcap and head up the the spa/workout room floor. There is a great deck off the spa with city views.

Room Tip: I'd pick 504 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMG4RPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I was also visiting MKE for the triathlon national championship, along with 10 of my teammates. The previous reviewer listed a lot of the same things we loved about it: proximity to Lake Michigan/Discovery World, restaurants, running paths, clean & spacious rooms, and it can not be overstated how amazingly accomodating and friendly the entire staff at the hotel was. I am so impressed by the high level of service and I will absolutely be staying here again next year! :) Also, the cruiser bikes that the hotel had available were so much fun!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HungryHoneymooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFAX
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed 2 nights a week ago (Aug 9 & 10, 2013) at this hotel, for a triathlon at Lake Michigan. EVERYTHING about my stay here was fabulous. First -- excellent service. Friendly people, very helpful, and made me feel very welcome. Second -- the hotel design & decor: FUNKY & COOL! Love the colors, the feel, the cleanliness and the high funky factor. Reminded me of my beloved Portland Oregon boutique hotels :) Third -- awesome food! I had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and loved it. Terrific service at the restaurant, and healthy, tasty food. Fourth -- location. We were half mile from Lake Michigan, the Art Museum and Discovery World. If you're a swimmer, runner or cyclist, you are 1/2 mile from some great workout locations! But the hotel has a GREAT little workout facility if you'd rather be indoors :) We're also a few blocks from the River Walk, which was beautiful at sunset. Lots of little restaurants and lovely views. Only one note of caution about this hotel: if you have a room facing Mason Street, there's a bar a block away where motorcyclists without mufflers love to party, 'til 2am. So if you're wanting to get a quiet night's sleep, try to stay away from the rooms on that side of the hotel. Despite the noise, I would not have moved to a different hotel. I LOVE LOVE LOVED IT!!! I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Last minute booked trip to Milwaukee and had no idea where to start with hotels as I'd not been in a good 15 years. Hotel Metro was a lovely overall experience.

Staff were really exceptional. Booked room directly by phone with Chelsea who was accommodating and friendly. Dealt with Vanya at the Front Desk who was personable and had good local recommendations. Had breakfast in the hotel restaurant the next morning and Sara was just overall great - amicable and efficient.

The room - on the 6th floor (609, I believe) was nicely decorated and a really interesting space; I very much appreciated that it didn't look like a typical hotel room, both in layout and also because of its art deco style. The ceiling has seen better days (the building is definitely showing its age) but it didn't bother me. Bed and pillow are very, very soft - so good if you're into that, perhaps not the best, if you're not.

The hot tub, fitness room and Zen Garden on the 7th floor were also a plus. Nobody else around so we had the place to ourselves.

Within walking distance to the Art Museum and a bunch of great restaurants, also the summer trolley service stops right across the street.

Think I would have had an issue paying $500 for one night and a meal, but as we paid much, much less than this, I was very satisfied with the value.

Would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 609 does not face the street, so while it does not have a nice view, it is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sladar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The staff was great, but when I reserved the room I had a package option which wasn't noted anywhere. Good thing I had my receipt to prove it, but then our time was wasted because of it.

We ate at the hotel in the evening and the food was excellent, but a hair in the appetizer wasn't very appetizing.

While taking a shower I noticed some black spots starting about eye level and up. I thought maybe it was just the coloration of the tiles, but when I wiped with a washcloth I realized it was mildew or mold. In either case it was disgusting and not okay for the staff to only clean half of the shower.

This hotel has potential if only they would do the last little bit of what they should be doing. When we spend $500 for a nights stay and a meal in the same place we expect it to be at least good if not great. I hope for the sake of others staying here that my experience was just a series of unfortunate events.

Our last interaction with this hotel was the best. Upon checkout we asked where a good seafood restaurant was. The manager told us a location and was right. It was good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdubs424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,854 reviews
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#16 of 56 in Milwaukee
271 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#26 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#11 of 56 in Milwaukee
832 reviews
Historic Third Ward
The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 411 East Mason Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202-3702
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#15 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#18 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metro 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic, Art Deco inspired, hotel is located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee's Art and Entertainment District. Our suites are not just spacious, they are HUGE! Our suites range from 450 sq.ft. to 750 sq.ft. and can accommodate up to four guests per room. We are located in the middle of a very walk friendly and restaurant rich neighborhood. We are very close to Lake Michigan's waterfront, the Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson Museum, BMO Harris Bradley Center and the Wisconsin Center. Hotel Metro is a Four-Star, full-service hotel and has been fortunate enough to have been recognized as "One of the Top Hotels in the World" by Travel & Leisure Magazine, as well as "Where to Stay" by the New York Times. Most recently, we were honored with the 2013 & 2014 Excellence Award from TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing