We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #39 of 54 Hotels in Milwaukee
Mequon, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I rarely feel compelled to write a review but this stay really was unimpressive, especially based on the Metro's high-end image and price. Despite an advanced reservation in which I was assured a certain style of suite layout, we ended up in a "conference room" suite, so most of the space in the room was devoted to a potential business meeting, despite my booking a romance package - which made no sense. (I was offered a $25 restaurant voucher when I brought this room issue up with the front desk staff.) The room faced a parking garage over an alley and the "beeping" of a service truck at 4:30am was obviously a negative. Despite an advanced request for their antique cab ride to dinner, I was called 30 minutes prior and told there was a conflict and they needed their shuttle for other guests, so because I couldn't rush down right away for the shuttle I just ended up taking my own car to dinner. The next morning (Sunday) the desk clerk had no suggestions on a local church and just pointed us to the computer in the lobby if we wanted to use it. (Not the service you expect from a "high-end" hotel.) The final straws were financial as they charged my bank card twice for the room hold and I had to get my bank involved to correct the error. There were also mistaken charges from the mini-bar which had to be resolved, probably because house-keeping didn't account for the prior guest usage of items which were posted to our stay.
The Metro is a very unique property with lots of potential - but without the proper service levels and attention to detail it will unfortunately continue to disappoint discerning guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    109
    61
    29
    26
See reviews for
41
186
15
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

This 'boutique' hotel in the heart of Milwaukee's location is its most redeeming quality. I spent a few nights here over Memorial Day and found the rooms to lack any true aesthetic appeal. The bathroom was large and the amenities provided were of above average quality, but the furniture and bed were not the most comfortable.

The staff wasn't the friendliest and though they weren't rude or off putting, they rarely if ever went out of they way to make our stay more comfortable. Normally I would be quite indifferent to this, however for a hotel that bills itself as high end, and charges accordingly, should be significantly better than this.

The whole stay felt underwhelming and unimpressive. I've paid less for much better experiences in cities all over the world...next time I find myself in Milwaukee ill look elsewhere for accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nimit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mn
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Metro for a wedding, which was also at the hotel. We got there early (about noon) hoping that they could let us check in early to dress for the wedding and they were terrific about finding us a room. The hotel and the room were gorgeous! Very Art Deco. There was a huge bath and a separate shower. The room was large with the bed set cleverly apart from the sitting area. The temperature was good, the bed was comfortable. It was very quiet.

It was a quick walk to the Lake and a quick walk to the River Walk. It would be the perfect location for a weekend break in Milwaukee.

We used the valet service – they were also great about getting us in and out quickly as we headed to the church for the wedding. The staff was very friendly and accommodating – seeming to take just an extra half step to make sure we were happy with everything.

I also thought they did a nice job with the wedding. The space was elegant. And the night finished up with pizza in the upstairs bar – as prearranged by the couple; such a nice space and way to end the event.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnT-MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

I was in town for a wedding hosted by friends. My wife was part of the wedding party and the hotel staff allowed us to check in early to help with the ceremony. Prior to leaving to check in, my wife was involved in an accident and had to go to the ER.

After she was discharged from the hospital, Hotel Metro staff allowed us to use their wheelchair. This was extremely helpful due to the fact that she could not put any weight on her bad leg.

The wedding ceremony was conducted on the rooftop that provided a fantastic display of downtown.

Later that night, Elsie at the front desk assisted us by providing extra bags of ice to bring down some of the swelling.

The next morning the hotel staff was gracious enough to allow us to have a late check out, so that we were able to gather our belongings in a timely manner.

I was not at this hotel long enough to take advantage of all its amenities, but the staff went above and beyond when it came to making us feel at home and did their best to assist us in our time of need.

Thanks again to the staff at Hotel Metro!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hubbs545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Metro is perfectly located for a weekend away in Milwaukee. Rooms are very large, filled with amenities and the staff is most attentive. Fitness centre falls a little short but this can be overcome by using the free rental bikes!

Room Tip: Higher is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chillyh20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We needed to get out of town and Milwaukee was an easy 4 hour drive. Hotel Metro was well situated geographically to enjoy what downtown Milwaukee has to offer. Biggest problem was cold rainy weather and downtown in April was surprisingly slow even so. Nevertheless we had a good time. The hotel is clean, staff was friendly and helpful, laid back. I would say the rooms are more eclectic than functional but interesting. Very small workout room and we wouldn't have used it but it wasn't nice enough to run outside. I would stay here again, but I would try hard to come at a time when there is more happening downtown and the weather is better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here for my husband's conference. I was very impressed. The room was very comfortable and clean (nice duvet cover on the bed) and the bathroom was modern. We stayed in a suite and the sitting area was very nice too. My favorite part was the rooftop access. There is a nice sitting area on the roof and we spend quite a bit of time up there --each time we were the only ones up there so it was very private. The staff was good; our stay included free valet parking and free to order breakfast each morning too. Good location. I highly recommend!

Room Tip: The suite option was very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpartanCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#18 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 411 E Mason St, Milwaukee, WI 53202-3702
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#15 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#18 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metro 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic, Art Deco inspired, hotel is located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee's Art and Entertainment District. Our suites are not just spacious, they are HUGE! Our suites range from 450 sq.ft. to 750 sq.ft. and can accommodate up to four guests per room. We are located in the middle of a very walk friendly and restaurant rich neighborhood. We are very close to Lake Michigan's waterfront, the Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson Museum, BMO Harris Bradley Center and the Wisconsin Center. Hotel Metro is a Four-Star, full-service hotel and has been fortunate enough to have been recognized as "One of the Top Hotels in the World" by Travel & Leisure Magazine, as well as "Where to Stay" by the New York Times. Most recently, we were honored with the 2013 & 2014 Excellence Award from TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing