We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Personality, Location, Value, and Green!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #32 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Harshaw, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
278 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Personality, Location, Value, and Green!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Hotel Metro Milwaukee has it all! Those of you who prefer relationships with non-chain hotels will enjoy this sleek yet warm Art Deco beauty which is walking distance from the Art Museum and Cathedral Square. And the complimentary London Cab (driven by the charming and knowledgeable Manny) puts everything else within reach. As in many small hotels, the staff here is the best - very proud of their property, knowledgable about her history and amenities, and ready and able to serve.

We stayed in a standard King Suite which was comfortable and large, with a soaking tub and separate shower. I did not see the hot tub fireplace suites, but I can see this would be a great place for a special anniverasry or honeymoon The lobby is warm and inviting - the fireplace is grand on a winter day. The bar is a bit noisy. Fridays are $5 martinis and 1/2 price appetizers, but the food and drink were only so so (so so glad I didn't pay full price).

Next time I visit Milwaukee, Hotel Metro will be my GoTo place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScoutMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    105
    56
    29
    24
See reviews for
38
180
15
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very nice place to stay with spacious clean rooms. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We were there for our anniversary and the concierge, Kathrine, added extra special touches in the room and at our dinner celebration (at a different restaurant) to make the stay extra special. Manny, the London Taxi Cab shuttle driver was very informative and always on time.

Only negative is that there was some water damage to different spots in the ceiling that could have used some cosmetic work, providing a fresher positive feeling to the room. Did have some "register banging" in the night when the heat was working. Otherwise, well appointed clean room.

Room Tip: 6th floor was very quite and closer to exercise room, zen garden and hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bwis_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

2nd time my wife and I have stayed at the Metro. Comfy bed, plenty of room, nice seating options. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The on site restaurant had reasonably priced breakfasts to start the day.


Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I decided to stay at the Metro on a whim. We called up a days before our trip to Milwaukee and had no preconceived ideas about this cool little Art Deco hotel. My first contact was with Miguel and he bent over backwards for us! (Even helping me to mail back a box of cheese half way across the country!) Our room was outstanding and the amenities, such as the roof top bar and spa, are lovely. The location was great as well. The best part of our stay was the service. I have stayed at hundreds of 4 and 5 star establishments and this funky little hotel was every bit as good, if not better, than anything I have experienced. Thanks to Miguel and the rest of the crew. Sorry Pfister... but we will definitely be back for an extended stay at Hotel Metro!

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong. If you get a chance to stay in the penthouse grab it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
414Allison, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you Eric A for your awesome review of Hotel Metro on TripAdvisor!
Our team at the hotel is committed to excellent guest service, but we also believe we have many Super Stars that were just born with greatness, and you happen to have Miguel take care of you!
I will be passing along your comments to the team so they know their actions are making a positive difference, and so that we keep striving for being the best in all we have to offer and serve.
We look forward to having you as our guest again in the very near future.
Warm regards,
Kris Willis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel Metro in Old Milwaukee is a restyled boutique hotel that is simply amazing. The upgrades to the hotel in an art deco style leave one almost breathless at how beautiful and imaginative their hotel rooms are. The rooms are very large and have wonderful curving walls and imaginative use of glass and room decor. As a frequent buisness traveller, I find almost every hotel I stay in looks almost exactly the same so much so that it is depressing to walk into the room and find it a clone of every other hotel room in every other city in America. I was simply dumbfounded when I walked into my room at the Hotel Metro and saw how beautifully it was decorated and designed. Imaginative use of space, curving walls and glass work and other features made my stay there a pleasure. The staff were extremely gracious and constantly asked how I was enjoying the hotel and took the time to let me know about the hotel's amenities. And, best of all, the nightly rate for the hotel was well in keeping with other hotel rates.

Room Tip: The higher you are above the street the less street noise there is in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kapaswin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
414Allison, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you karaswin for your review of Hotel Metro - Hotel Metro opened in 1998 as a hotel re-styled from an office building that was built in 1937! The Art Deco feel and style of the hotel reflects through the high ceilings and curvature found throughout the building; that is why all of our guest suites are 485+ square feet and they all offer soaking tubs or jetted tubs with stand up showers.
We use sustainable products or natural materials, or as much as possible through the glass(as you noted), carpet, bamboo and cork flooring, black walnut and more. The building was also the first to have air conditioning and runs off steam heat that comes through radiators, which is part of our green aspect - so we have the motion and sensored AC/Heat and lighting in each suite as well.
Our prime downtown Milwaukee location is close to the Arts Museum, Theater, BMO Center, Public Market (shopping / restaurant area), lakefront and entertainment area. We also offer Metro cruisers (bicycles) so that you can ride around town in great weather as well as a bio-deisel London Cab that shuttles Fri/Sat nights! More green aspects of Hotel Metro!
We hope your visit again to explore and enjoy the amenities and service that we believe outperforms many downtown hotels!
Warm regards,
Kris Willis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very nice hotel, great staff, but some oddities. There is valet parking, but if you want your car parked in the garage rather than in the alley next to the dumpsters (either way costs the same), you have to ask. Also, the hotel is supposedly "green"...but we had to keep our air conditioner running constantly to counteract the heat radiating from the old wall vents (it's an old building). And if you're there on a Friday or Saturday night, expect to hear lots of noise outside around bar time.

The room is very comfortable, though, with a nice bed and shower. There's free wi-fi, which is how every hotel should be but so few are. We had a spa suite with a very nice hot tub. Careful with your water glass on the glass countertop, though; when it gets wet, it sticks, and it's way too easy to pick it up too hard and find yourself surrounded by shards as it drops to the slate floor.

We've stayed here more than once and always have only minor complaints, but it does seem like there's always something. It is a good location, though, and reasonably priced. It's within walking distance of the Public Market, Water Street, the art museum, etc.

Room Tip: A higher floor and/or not facing the street should cut down on the noise from the bar time crowd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madgal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has a very New York feel. The rooms are very unique. The desserts are fabulous. The martini bar is incredible. Very near lots of things to do in downtown. Very relaxing stay, wonderful robes in your room to lounge in. We had theater tickets, the hotel was with in walking distance so we were able to have cocktails before and after.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike0069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
414Allison, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Welcome Mike0069! Thank you for the review on Tripadvisor for the outstanding stay you had with us recently!
Our Friday $5 Martini's night is so popular with our guests and locals and I am glad you took advantage before and after the theater! The next time you stay, sign up for our London Cab to take you to the theater, it is quit a memorable experience!
We hope to see you again soon for another overnight and theater performance! (we always have a dessert of choice monthly :) ! )
Warm regards,
Kris Willis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#18 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,600 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 627 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#20 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 411 E Mason St, Milwaukee, WI 53202-3702
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#15 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#18 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metro 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic, Art Deco inspired, hotel is located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee's Art and Entertainment District. Our suites are not just spacious, they are HUGE! Our suites range from 450 sq.ft. to 750 sq.ft. and can accommodate up to four guests per room. We are located in the middle of a very walk friendly and restaurant rich neighborhood. We are very close to Lake Michigan's waterfront, the Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson Museum, BMO Harris Bradley Center and the Wisconsin Center. Hotel Metro is a Four-Star, full-service hotel and has been fortunate enough to have been recognized as "One of the Top Hotels in the World" by Travel & Leisure Magazine, as well as "Where to Stay" by the New York Times. Most recently, we were honored with the 2013 & 2014 Excellence Award from TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing