We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Metro Milwaukee for business or pleasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #39 of 54 Hotels in Milwaukee
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Hotel Metro Milwaukee for business or pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Metro Miilwaukee for the first time this past week on business. I loved the art deco feel to the place! It is an all-suite boutique hotel, so for a single person the Queen suite had plenty of room. A separate tv area and desk were sectioned off from the bedroom and beautiful bathroom. I had to try out the huge bathtub while I was there! The shower was also wonderful with all the Kohler fixtures. After appointments, we were told there was a relaxing spot at the top of the building - Zen on Seven. It was perfect for catching the last few rays of summer! Although closed to the public, it was a lovely garden to sit in and relax away the day. If you walk down to the restaurant, they'll bring up food or drinks when the bar is not open. It is a first class treat to have the windows drawn and the bed turned down. A unique array of mini bar choices. Wish I would have gotten a chance to try the free retro bikes . They even provide helmets, etc. As it is only five blocks to Lake Michigan and all the parks, I wished I would have had more time to stay. Front desk was very nice, helpful. As an I Prefer member, which includes historical hotels throughout the world, you receive a $25 gift certificate to be used at the restaurant/bar.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJ7Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
414Allison, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Welcome DJ7Chicago, Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay! As an independent hotel, Hotel Metro strives to offer our guests a top-notch experience, service and amenities starting at the time of reserving your stay to check out. I hope you come back and take the opportunity to take one of our Metro Cruiser bikes out for a lakefront ride!
We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the very near future.

All the best,
Kris Willis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    109
    60
    29
    26
See reviews for
41
184
15
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

The room was nice, service was nice. However, there was nonstop thumping of bass music starting at about 9pm to at least midnight and it started up again at about 9am. We could not figure out for the life of us where it would be coming from but we now think it was their rooftop patio/bar Zen on Seven. Extremely distracting and annoying. The room came with a CD/stereo system and ambiance CD's so I think it is a complaint they have heard before. Next time we stay downtown Milwaukee, it will definitely be somewhere else, just because of the noise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
414Allison, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Welcome Dana R - Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review. We appreciate the time you devoted as it assists us in our efforts to improve our services and address the issues you described in your review.
All of our guest suites come with an iPod docking station and CD's from local artists to tranquil and symphony music. This is part of our Preferred Hotels standard and upscale hotel amenities for all guest(s) during their stay.
After further review of your comments and discussion with our managers; the noise you heard comes from some of our local neighbors, ie, night clubs, restaurants with flair and we did have a fashion event in our ballroom that had a DJ with high energy music that next morning with brunch service.
We strive for great guest experience and it is upsetting to hear when we fail to deliver and fall short in our efforts.
Please contact me in the future for any stays you may have while in the heart of Downtown Milwaukee so that we can Wow you with our outstanding service and amenities.

Kindly,
Kris Willis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

A close friend enthusiastically recommended the Metro for our recent visit to Milwaukee. I can see why he liked it--the building has a well-preserved Deco feel, the rooms (suites, really) are spacious and nicely decorated, and the staff is very chipper.

Too bad the property has some intrinsic problems that conspire to undermine one's enjoyment of the hotel. Most important, a plumbing problem meant that our choice in the shower was limited to very cold or scalding hot water. Fearing burns, I opted for cold. Thank heavens we were visiting in August. When I complained about this at check-out, the desk attendant acknowledged the problem and blamed it on the building's connection to the city steam system. This was an explanation, but hardly a justification. If the owners of the hotel aspire to run a five-star establishment, shouldn't they find an engineering fix for this problem? I was afforded a financial concession for the inconvenience.

Second, the area around the hotel--at least during our stay--was noisy. The hotel, of course, is not responsible for street construction, but I would have appreciated sound-blocking windows.

Third, my wife reported that the bicycles in the health center were poorly maintained and unusable.

On the plus side, the hotel restaurant is pleasant, and both of the meals we had there were excellent.

My conclusion--visit the Metro for the food, but stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our trip to Irish Fest in Milwaukee this year was greatly enhanced by our stay at the Hotel Metro. Spacious rooms with nice decor, a large jacuzzi, Aveda products, a Keurig machine for java, a bottle of red wine for our anniversary (nice touch :), shuttle service to the festival, and a polite staff who went way over the top to make sure we were happy with everything. We were!!! Wish we could have stayed longer . . .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YvonneV1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
414Allison, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Welcome YvonneV1954 - Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor! It is very exciting to read comments that outline and reflect the dedication our team has to provide the best guest experiences while staying in Milwaukee! I will be sharing your comments with the staff so they know we are doing things right.
We welcome you to visit us anytime again soon so that we can continue to WOW you! Please feel free to reach out to us with any questions on future events or attractions that may be happening to bring you back!

Kindly,
Kris Willis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitewater, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed there twice in the last five years. Outstanding experience each time. On-site bar/restaurant. Valet parking. Overnight parking for $25. Car service to downtown spots only and only offered some days. They won't go to the airport. Room service, including overnight food too (but only pizza/soda during the overnight). Walking distance to lakefront, fest grounds, art museum, countless bars and restaurants. Room service quality was average. Service good at all spots. The hotel has a rooftop bar but it seems to be rarely open since it is constantly booked for private events. For a great view, get a drink at Blu next door on the top floor of the Phister. Just little things to complain about in our room: remote batteries were dead, a bathroom light burned out, no sugar with the coffee machine. Otherwise, all aspects real good: cleanliness, novelty, space, comfort. Go stay here for a memorable trip!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uww326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
414Allison, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Welcome UWW326 - Thank you for your TripAdvisor review! As an independent Boutique hotel, our Hotel Metro team strives to deliver top-notch service and guest experiences during your stay.
With the modern feel of the 30's, our London Cab is a complimentary service that our guests can reserve for delivery and pick up within a 2 mile radius of the hotel's downtown location. Our Zen on Seven rooftop bar and deck space is open one night a week to the public with 9/6, 9/12, 9/20 and 9/27 being open to the public and we hope to see you there! We will continue this next year for the summer months as well.
Thank you also for the issues we fell short on your expectations, I will be reviewing these with our Director of Housekeeping and Maintenance to ensure they do not repeat themselves in the future.
We welcome you back again soon while visiting in Milwaukee.

All the best,
Kris Willis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron Mountain, MI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We went to Milwaukee for the Stevie Nicks/Rod Stewart concert. When I booked the Hotel Metro, I must have been thinking that the concert was on a Sunday night, when in fact it was on a Monday. So you guessed it - we showed up on Monday afternoon to check into the sold out Hotel Metro only to find out our reservation was for the night before and we were a "no show" for Sunday night! Audrey at the front desk said, No Worries and that she'd see what she could do - as some rooms were offline for carpet cleaning and painting and perhaps one of those could be made available to us, since we had already unloaded and the valet had parked our car. She made several phone calls and assured us that before 6:00 pm, there would be a room available - and that we should leave our luggage with the bellman and go ahead out and enjoy dinner and our concert, that when we returned, our luggage would be in a room. And sure enough, we had a lovely room on the 6th Floor.

The location of Hotel Metro is great - we walked the River Walk, had dinner downtown, and walked to the Bradley Center. The rooftop bar "Zen" was nice to come back to for a nighcap before returning to our beautiful room. Breakfast in the morning at Hotel Metro was beautifully served and tasty - I will think about that oatmeal brulee for a long time!

Hotel Metro will definitely be our hotel of choice in downtown Milwaukee from now on!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YooperGirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheesygeisha, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Welcome YooperGirl56, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are excited to hear your stay was a fantastic one! Audrey is a Super Star and I will be sharing with her your positive experience so that she knows her talents are appreciated!
We welcome you to visit us anytime again soon while in Milwaukee so that we can continue to WOW you and offer you our fabulous Creme Brulee!!!
Hope to see you soon!

All the best,
Kris Willis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Metro during a short pleasure/family visit in August. The room (mini-suite) was huge and very cool; definitely one of the most unique hotel rooms I've stayed in. The property has a few rough edges, probably indicating that their last big renovation was a while ago, but nothing that really interfered with our enjoyment.

All the staff was super courteous and friendly, and the breakfast at the hotel restaurant was yummy, if a bit expensive.

The two best things about the Metro are the awesome roof garden/deck/lounge and it's perfect location right in the middle of a neighborhood bars, restaurants and nightlife, and also walking distance to the art museum and lake shore parks.

Room Tip: Go for the mini-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yokeho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheesygeisha, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you Yokeho for sharing your experience(s) from staying with us! I will be sharing your comments with our amazing team as we thrive on hearing how we can continue or improve on our servies and amenities.
Our building is celebrating 75 years of service and 14 years as a boutique hotel this year; so we have the benefit of offering our guests large suites or space for their stay, and a roof top bar and deck overlooking the beautiful Milwaukee skyline from seven stories high!
Please let us know the next time you travel to Milwaukee!

All the Best,
Kris Willis, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#16 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 411 East Mason Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#15 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#18 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metro 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic, Art Deco inspired, hotel is located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee's Art and Entertainment District. Our suites are not just spacious, they are HUGE! Our suites range from 450 sq.ft. to 750 sq.ft. and can accommodate up to four guests per room. We are located in the middle of a very walk friendly and restaurant rich neighborhood. We are very close to Lake Michigan's waterfront, the Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson Museum, BMO Harris Bradley Center and the Wisconsin Center. Hotel Metro is a Four-Star, full-service hotel and has been fortunate enough to have been recognized as "One of the Top Hotels in the World" by Travel & Leisure Magazine, as well as "Where to Stay" by the New York Times. Most recently, we were honored with the 2013 & 2014 Excellence Award from TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing