We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #40 of 54 Hotels in Milwaukee
Whitewater, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed there twice in the last five years. Outstanding experience each time. On-site bar/restaurant. Valet parking. Overnight parking for $25. Car service to downtown spots only and only offered some days. They won't go to the airport. Room service, including overnight food too (but only pizza/soda during the overnight). Walking distance to lakefront, fest grounds, art museum, countless bars and restaurants. Room service quality was average. Service good at all spots. The hotel has a rooftop bar but it seems to be rarely open since it is constantly booked for private events. For a great view, get a drink at Blu next door on the top floor of the Phister. Just little things to complain about in our room: remote batteries were dead, a bathroom light burned out, no sugar with the coffee machine. Otherwise, all aspects real good: cleanliness, novelty, space, comfort. Go stay here for a memorable trip!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uww326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
414Allison, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Welcome UWW326 - Thank you for your TripAdvisor review! As an independent Boutique hotel, our Hotel Metro team strives to deliver top-notch service and guest experiences during your stay.
With the modern feel of the 30's, our London Cab is a complimentary service that our guests can reserve for delivery and pick up within a 2 mile radius of the hotel's downtown location. Our Zen on Seven rooftop bar and deck space is open one night a week to the public with 9/6, 9/12, 9/20 and 9/27 being open to the public and we hope to see you there! We will continue this next year for the summer months as well.
Thank you also for the issues we fell short on your expectations, I will be reviewing these with our Director of Housekeeping and Maintenance to ensure they do not repeat themselves in the future.
We welcome you back again soon while visiting in Milwaukee.

All the best,
Kris Willis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    114
    62
    35
    27
See reviews for
44
192
17
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iron Mountain, MI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We went to Milwaukee for the Stevie Nicks/Rod Stewart concert. When I booked the Hotel Metro, I must have been thinking that the concert was on a Sunday night, when in fact it was on a Monday. So you guessed it - we showed up on Monday afternoon to check into the sold out Hotel Metro only to find out our reservation was for the night before and we were a "no show" for Sunday night! Audrey at the front desk said, No Worries and that she'd see what she could do - as some rooms were offline for carpet cleaning and painting and perhaps one of those could be made available to us, since we had already unloaded and the valet had parked our car. She made several phone calls and assured us that before 6:00 pm, there would be a room available - and that we should leave our luggage with the bellman and go ahead out and enjoy dinner and our concert, that when we returned, our luggage would be in a room. And sure enough, we had a lovely room on the 6th Floor.

The location of Hotel Metro is great - we walked the River Walk, had dinner downtown, and walked to the Bradley Center. The rooftop bar "Zen" was nice to come back to for a nighcap before returning to our beautiful room. Breakfast in the morning at Hotel Metro was beautifully served and tasty - I will think about that oatmeal brulee for a long time!

Hotel Metro will definitely be our hotel of choice in downtown Milwaukee from now on!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YooperGirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheesygeisha, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Welcome YooperGirl56, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are excited to hear your stay was a fantastic one! Audrey is a Super Star and I will be sharing with her your positive experience so that she knows her talents are appreciated!
We welcome you to visit us anytime again soon while in Milwaukee so that we can continue to WOW you and offer you our fabulous Creme Brulee!!!
Hope to see you soon!

All the best,
Kris Willis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Metro during a short pleasure/family visit in August. The room (mini-suite) was huge and very cool; definitely one of the most unique hotel rooms I've stayed in. The property has a few rough edges, probably indicating that their last big renovation was a while ago, but nothing that really interfered with our enjoyment.

All the staff was super courteous and friendly, and the breakfast at the hotel restaurant was yummy, if a bit expensive.

The two best things about the Metro are the awesome roof garden/deck/lounge and it's perfect location right in the middle of a neighborhood bars, restaurants and nightlife, and also walking distance to the art museum and lake shore parks.

Room Tip: Go for the mini-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yokeho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheesygeisha, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you Yokeho for sharing your experience(s) from staying with us! I will be sharing your comments with our amazing team as we thrive on hearing how we can continue or improve on our servies and amenities.
Our building is celebrating 75 years of service and 14 years as a boutique hotel this year; so we have the benefit of offering our guests large suites or space for their stay, and a roof top bar and deck overlooking the beautiful Milwaukee skyline from seven stories high!
Please let us know the next time you travel to Milwaukee!

All the Best,
Kris Willis, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Very well decorated, comfortable bed, big bathtub wih separate shower, nice bathroom, two TVs, great downtown location, quiet, responsive staff, great roof deck, very good bar and restaurant. Nice to be able to get a massage at the spa.

Climate control a little tricky, windows are dirty, rates are quite high. Closet is a bit small.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ITravelandEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheesygeisha, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Welcome ITravelandEat Seattle, Thank you for your sharing your past stay experience. We know you have many options when choosing a hotel and we thank you for staying with us. We are excited that you enjoyed the location, staff, roof deck and METRO lounge and restaurant. We love to hear comments from our guests because it not only helps us deliver better service, but it also shows were we need to pay attention, correct and continue delivering to our guests a wonderful experience.
Please let us k now the next time you decide to visit us.

All the best,
Kris Willis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Super friendly staff. We got there several hours before check in so they kept our bags safe, parked car so we could get to concert we had planned. We checked in hours later and our bags in our room already with turn down service. Room had luxurious robes & great aveda products. Bed and linens were awesome. Atmosphere of hotel was comfortable & intimate. Loved retro decor of lobby. Amazing restaurants all within walking distance. We had breakfast at metro cafe, sat outside..food yummy and service fast and pleasant.
I will 100% be returning when we head back to Milwaukee.

Room Tip: We had deluxe queen suite. Good size for couples get away
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
414Allison, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you E P - On behalf of the entire Hotel Metro team, we welcome you back again soon while visiting in Milwaukee!
It is guests like you that make a positive difference in our teams work day(s) and ensure that we are doing our best to have our guests leave with positive guest experiences.
Please let me know when you are traveling back to the area so we can WOW you again with our outstanding service and amenities.

All the best,
Kris Willis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Grove
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

As frequent guests of the Hotel Metro, we always know that our stay will be wonderful. However, this time was even better than the last. My husband wanted to surprise me with a weekend getaway. Although the hotel was originally booked for the weekend, David, the Guest Services Manager, put us on a waiting list and called as soon as a room was available for a two night stay. David has always been so helpful each and every time we make a reservation at the Hotel Metro. It is no wonder he is in charge of the front desk!

When we arrived,we were greeted with friendly smiles. The valet promply took our luggage and parked our car. Our luggage was delivered to our room in no time. We were also impressed that the bellhop had carried it up by hand as there was a shortage of carts because it was a busy weekend. He immediatly asked if he could get us some ice and we were on our way to a relaxing weekend.

We stayed on the sixth floor where each room has a Pure Air Filtration System. The fresh air was quite noticeable as soon as you stepped off the elevator and on to the sixth floor. I must say it is a great addition to the rooms. If you have allergies of any sort, this is the floor for you!

Another great addition to the room was the Keurig coffee machine. What a wonderful treat to see! Both regular and decaf coffee was supplied in the room. There is nothing like a freshly brewed cup of coffee.

On Friday night we went to the Metro Bar and Cafe for $5.00 martini's and their Friday night fish fry. The martini's were wonderful, we both had several, and the service was great! If you are a fan of Friday fish fry, I would suggest the pan seared perch with potato pancakes. It was outstandiing. Not living very far from Milwaukee, we may be back just for that dish. It was so delicious!

Of course Zen on 7 was beautiful as always. They were featuring local artists work on Zen on 7 that weekend, so we were lucky to be able to view their talents.

The Metro cab is once again working on Friday and Saturday nights! Another great perk of staying at this hotel. It is a fun way to get to your destination if you have somewhere to go. Don't forget to tip your driver!

When we had to leave, the valet asked my husband, by name, how our stay was, and if he could retrieve our car. I thought that was so nice. It is great to be treated so wonderfully by this staff. We love the Hotel Metro and will always stay here whenever we are in Milwaukee.

Room Tip: STay on the sixth floor for a Pure Air room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl2nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheesygeisha, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Welcome Cheryl2nd, Thank you for sharing your positive experience! We love to hear comments from our guests since we strive to deliver memorable guest experiences from the minute you pull up to the hotel until the minute you check out.
We are thrilled that David gave you a warm welcome, as he is one of our many Rock Stars here at Hotel Metro!
I also appreciate your comments on our PURE guest rooms, METRO for martinis and fabulous fish fry on Friday nights and our Metro London Cab! Your mention of greatness in all these areas helps us to continue moving forward and step up to providing excellent amenities and guest service for future guests!
Hope to see you soon!

All the best,
Kris Willis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days and have no complaints whatsoever. The room was very big and well designed and appointed with a fabulous bath tub. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Ate in the restaurant/bar for dinner one night and found it to be equally good as the hotel itself. And if you are looking for a great downtown location with much within walking distance, this is your hotel.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel can get noticeable base sounds from a music club in the area. Ask about this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Burney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
414Allison, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for the amazing review, Burney! Your patronage is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you enjoyed about your stay, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. I will be sure to pass your kind words to both the hotel and restaurant staff.
Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!
Allison Geschke
HR/Online Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#11 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 411 East Mason Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202-3702
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#15 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#18 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metro 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic, Art Deco inspired, hotel is located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee's Art and Entertainment District. Our suites are not just spacious, they are HUGE! Our suites range from 450 sq.ft. to 750 sq.ft. and can accommodate up to four guests per room. We are located in the middle of a very walk friendly and restaurant rich neighborhood. We are very close to Lake Michigan's waterfront, the Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson Museum, BMO Harris Bradley Center and the Wisconsin Center. Hotel Metro is a Four-Star, full-service hotel and has been fortunate enough to have been recognized as "One of the Top Hotels in the World" by Travel & Leisure Magazine, as well as "Where to Stay" by the New York Times. Most recently, we were honored with the 2013 & 2014 Excellence Award from TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing