We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay for Summerfest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in Milwaukee
Wauseon, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay for Summerfest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

I always like to stay at Hampton's because of their cleanliness and sleep quality. This hotel was no exception! It made our trip to Summerfest a fun and uneventful (meaning: no problem) trip! The staff was very helpul, letting us know about the many options for transportation to Summerfest (free shuttles - within walking distance - and public transportation - across the street). They also offered suggestions for eating in the area (I'd recommend Mo's and The Safehouse). Overall, this was a wonderful place to stay if you want to enjoy the great food and music of Summerfest!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilarae75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    246
    145
    107
    67
See reviews for
236
176
30
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

This Hampton Inn seemed to be a makeover of some much older hotel.
Our room was very small, and although we were charged for a queen-size bed/room, it was very obviously a double bed. They insisted it was a queen bed when we complained at the front desk. The climate in our room was hard to keep moderate (it got cold, then very hot, dry and noisy from the fan). That combined with the tight quarters in the bed meant that neither of us slept well at all and we were glad to return home the next day! Maybe if you paid extra for a king bed you'd at least get a queen-size one.
We were in town for a company holiday party at the Harley Davidson museum (a great place!), and I'd probably recommend one of the newer motels west of downtown, near the HD museum unless you really need to be right downtown. The hotel was clean, the complimentary breakfast was great, and the staff were very nice, but we wouldn't stay there again as it wasn't good value for the $$.
Hampton Inns typically have very small, white-tiled pools and this was no exception. Also, be warned that you will be charged $14 for using the parking ramp that abuts this hotel, and downtown Milwaukee doesn't have any other parking options nearby that are very safe or less expensive.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twoweeks18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

My husband and I just got back from a weekend in Milwaukee. We picked the Hamptom Inn because of cost and location. We were very pleased with our stay. The rooms were clean and the beds extremely comfortable. The breakfast was free and a nice way to start the day. The hotel is located within walking distance to many of the sites of Milwaukee and next to Mo's Irish Pub. The pub not only was a fun place to get a drink but they also had a free shuttle to Miller Park (which was extremely convenient and a fun way to travel). I would also recommend the Pabst Mansion tour during a stay in Milwaukee. Our tour guide was very impressive and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairmountpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
211 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2010

A very nice hotel that is close to downtown and Marquette University. Close to the Fifth Ave. Mall. But the Mall closes at 6pm. Pool area was small and the hot tube was way too hot. The beds were very tiny doubles, more like a supersized twin. Breakfast was great and free.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kesibmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

I picked the Hampton Inn for a business trip to Milwaukee because I had a good experience there during a first stay last year. When I first entered the room the noisy fan was the first thing I noticed (well, it would have been hard NOT to notice the fan!). The damn noisy thing kept me out of my sleep and I never could really relax in the room because of the noise. When I asked the reception if it could be switched off, it was not possible. Two colleagues traveling with me moved out of their rooms after one night and went to the Hyatt for the rest of the week because the fan noise drove them nuts. If they could sort out the noise issue I would chose this Hampton again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VickyBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton176, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 8, 2010
VickyBelguim,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback from yoour stay. I do apolgize for the mechanical issue and that it was not addressed in a timely matter. I do hope that you may give us another opportunity to serve you on your next visit to Milwaukee. Please feel free to contact me and I will personaly make your reservation.

Regards,

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milwaukee hotels

Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2010

I was actually pleasantly surprised by the size and cleanliness of the room. The bathroom was very nice, modern, and clean. The beds were comfortable.

My only complaint would be that there was only one small window in our room, which was very dim even with all the lights on.

I think booking through the hotel would greatly reduce my value rating, but as usual I used Priceline's bid your own price option (you can pick the star rating and general area you're bidding on) and got a reasonable price of 80 or so bucks that I split with my traveling companion.

I don't remember the exact price of parking, but I remember thinking it was expensive.

There's a fun Irish Pub down around the corner with a good atmosphere and live music, as well.

Overall, a very positive stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leioa28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro DC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2010

The first night at the Hampton I realized that the heat didn't work and the carpet was soaked. The next morning, the staff were incredibly apologetic and handled the matter very professionally and even offered to move my bags for me to another room. It's not common to have such responsive staff these days.

My king room was a bit on the small side, but adequate, with a very comfortable bed and linens. WiFi was free with a strong signal. The free breakfast offered several options, including a wafflemaker. You can buy snacks and drinks from an alcove near the front desk. Parking is $12/night and I had no problem finding a space.

Location is perfect if you have business downtown. At $116/night during the week, it's a good value.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MvGel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Courtyard Milwaukee Downtown
#36 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#40 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 176 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Howard Johnson Milwaukee)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown is located in Milwaukee, close to Riverside Theater, BMO Harris Bradley Center, and Milwaukee Art Museum. Nearby points of interest also include Marquette University and Summerfest grounds. Recreational amenities include an indoor pool, a spa tub, and a 24-hour fitness facility. This hotel has a 24-hour business center and offers small meeting rooms and audiovisual equipment. All stays include free hot breakfast and internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Downtown Milwaukee Hotel
Hampton Inn Milwaukee
Milwaukee Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing