We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice place to stay for the price and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #40 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to stay for the price and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This downtown Hampton had a great location in downtown Milwaukee. Although the pool and hot tub were closed due to remodeling the hotel was quite and well kept. We had several rooms for other family members meeting there and 3 of the 4 were on the same floor which made it nice. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
T R,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for you kind words. We look forward to serving you and your family during your next visit to Milwaukee.

Sincerely,
Misty Kingsley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    228
    128
    99
    62
See reviews for
215
156
29
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Location was great, but the overall hotel had some major issues. Ventilation system was so loud I thought there was a severe thunderstorm blowing through town. It continued to wake me throughout the night. Also, the wifi signal was not strong enough to use in my room. Coworker had the same issue in her room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Katie K,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear that the ventillation system and the wi-fi caused some inconvenience for you, however I am happy to report that those are two items that are in the process of being updated. We recently replaced our air conditioning unit that serves the building. As a result of the newer system working more effectively and effeciently than our previous system, we have found that adjustments to settings have been required in various parts of the building, and it sounds as though we haven't had a chance to address the room that you were staying in just yet. I apologize for this. This month our entire wireless internet network will be replaced and updated with new hardware and software. This will undoubtedly improve the speed and function of our complimentary wirelss internet. I am sorry this could not be completed before your stay, however I hope that you give us another opportunity to serve your lodging needs on your next visit to Milwaukee.

Sincerely,
Misty Kingsley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milwaukee hotels

Ishpeming, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a concert at the Riverside Theatre. Previously, we have stayed here for events at the Bradley Center. Everything is within walking distance & it has an attached parking garage. You can't go wrong for location. The hotel is older but the rooms are clean and the staff is very helpful and friendly. It was under some construction on this trip but still a great stay. We look for this hotel first when going to downtown Milwaukee.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Lee,

Thank you for your kind words and for your review. We look forward to serving your lodging needs during your next trip to Milwaukee!

Sincerely,
Misty Kingsley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appleton, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Because it is downtown there is no parking and the parking valet cost is $25, which I think is a bit much. The rooms are sub par, at best. Nothing too special. But the bed was super comfy! I have stayed at other Hamptons that were nicer and would stay at a Hampton.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ricki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Ricki,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with others. We are currently finishing up a renovation of our guestrooms. Once the renovation crews leave, we are looking forward to taking the time to concentrate on all of the small details in our rooms that will really help them stand out. I apologize that we do not own a parking facility and therefore do not have a self-park option at the hotel. We have contracted valet parking service on behalf of our guests, and like many other hotels in Milwaukee, that is provided by a third party company. We feel that our $25/night valet parking rates are very competitive with the rates of other hotels, which are as follows: Faifield $23, Hilton $24 (self-park only), Hilton Garden Inn $24, Intercontinental $32, Hotel Metro $27, Marriott $33. I would also like to point out that our valet prices include service until 4pm on the check-out date, giving our guests the time to continue to explore the city on their last day with us. Thank you again for your time and we look forward to serving you on your next visit to Milwaukee.

Sincerely,
Misty Kingsley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We have never had a problem with any Hampton Inn except this one. First, the pool was under renovation and they said should have been working by our visit. Then, upon arrival, we went to our room and the floor was filthy, trash was not emptied and there was a bug crawling on the bed. We were given a new room which was acceptable. The next day we went to the Ballgame and when we returned at appx. 6:30, we found no housekeeping had come by. We did request new towels and did get them. No garbage was emptied, no shampoo nor soap. Luckily we had some from the night before. Breakfast was fine. Manager was kind of rude to my husband when he asked about housekeeping. I would not recommend this hotel until all the renovations are done and then it is doubtful we will stay there again. I will choose another hilton/hampton in Milwaukee. The front desk staff were very nice and understanding.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Julie R.,

I am happy to see that you enjoyed your visit to Milwaukee, however I am disappointed to hear that our hotel fell short of your expectations. As you are aware, we are currently undergoing a renovation of our guestrooms. The first room that you were placed in had just come back to us from the renovation crew and was 100% brand new. I apologize that my team missed a few spots in preparing that room for your arrival. I am happy that we were able to get you into a different room in a more acceptable condition. I apologize that your room did not receive housekeeping service and any confusion amongst the staff that resulted in this oversight. As a token of our apology for our shortcomings, the front desk staff refunded one night's lodging charges to you. I am delighted that you found the front desk staff to be accommodating and friendly, and that they were able to address your concerns and satisfy your needs. I really do hope that you give us another chance to serve you once our renovation is complete. Thank you for your time and feedback.

Sincerely,
Misty Kingsley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Hampton is centrally located which makes it easy walking to anywhere downtown. The rooms are clean and beds are comfortable, standard Hampton accommodations. The free breakfast is not the best quality, but it's free so you decide.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank keinchitown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
keinchitown,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for sharing your experience with others. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to serving your lodging needs during your next visit to Milwaukee.

Sincerely,
Misty Kingsley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I would completely gut the hotel and update everything in it. I wanted to watch my movie on my Ipad but the internet connection was so slow I couldn't watch it. I couldn't connect my Iphone due to bad internet connections.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Aaron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Aaron,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We’re very sorry for the inconveniences you experienced with our Wi-Fi. As part of our recent renovation, we will be updating our guest internet network, which will include new hardware and upgraded technology services, most notably greater bandwidth. We expect that these updates will resolve the concerns you mentioned. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.

Misty Kingsley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Courtyard Milwaukee Downtown
#35 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#17 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 176 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203-2507 (Formerly Howard Johnson Milwaukee)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown is located in Milwaukee, close to Riverside Theater, BMO Harris Bradley Center, and Milwaukee Art Museum. Nearby points of interest also include Marquette University and Summerfest grounds. Recreational amenities include an indoor pool, a spa tub, and a 24-hour fitness facility. This hotel has a 24-hour business center and offers small meeting rooms and audiovisual equipment. All stays include free hot breakfast and internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Downtown Milwaukee Hotel
Hampton Inn Milwaukee
Milwaukee Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing