We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #27 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The staff and their hard work were the hightlights of this trip. They responded to our every request with kindness, courteousness and speed. our children were thrilled to stay here. They asked friend over for a visit and swim. Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Dozier H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (925)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

607 - 613 of 925 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

I like to stay here when I visit for shows at the Riverside, Pabst, or Turner Hall. The location is half a block from the Riverside Theater. Parking recently changed, they now have Valet along with self park. I live not having to park, then drive and park somewhere else, then drive back to the hotel. The location is within walking distance of the Riverwalk, restaurants, and bars.

The staff was great and the lobby is clean and inviting at all hours.

The room is standard Hampton Inn quality, however, navigating the hallways can be challenging.

The heat would not turn off so we called the front desk and a maintenance person came within 5 minutes and had to manually shut it off. He said if we needed it turned back on to call the front desk and someone would come right away. We did not need it, even though it was November, the room stayed at a comfortable temperature.

The other issue was there was no ice on our floor or the one above or below. My husband was not happy after walking all over. We called the front desk and someone brought ice quickly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bexxx98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is your hotel if looking for Value and Location in Milwaukee. In the heart of downtown Milwaukee and walking distance to so many locations for lunch or dinner. Great staff and cleanliness. I stay at this property everytime I go to Milwaukee and need a convenient downtown stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Robert Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

After a long ride from Chicago, I was greeting by a great staff. Every time I left and returned the hotel they asked if there was anything I need. Great service from the front desk to the great house keepers!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Cynthia,

Thank you for your review and your kind words regarding our front desk staff. We pride ourselves on being the friendliest hotel in Milwaukee, and our front desk staff is essential to that achievement. It is always nice when someone takes the time to tell us when we're doing a good job and exceeding expectations. Thank you. We look forward to serving your lodging needs on a future trip to Milwaukee!

Misty Kingsley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Our friend in the cast of Flashdance the musical, touring the US, suggested we stay where the cast was staying, so we did! The show was great and so was the room, the staff, the breakfast. All very cozy and fun!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Corya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Corya,

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, just as I hope you enjoyed the show. Thank you for your business and for your review. I hope that your pleasant experience at our hotel lends to future stays with the Hampton and Hilton brands.

Misty Kingsley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

If you stay here you are risking it! The neighborhood is questionable, but the hotel is lovely. The staff is great. Not a very quiet experience, if that is what you seek I suggest a hotel room to the West, or a higher priced hotel like the Pfister.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Jessica,

Thank you for your business and for your review of our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you did not feel 100% comfortable in our part of town, but I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel itself. We hope that you will consider staying with us in the future, as we are ideally located to visit all downtown Milwaukee attractions. We look forward to serving your future lodging needs in downtown Milwaukee!

Misty Kingsley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The room was very clean and staff were very helpful. I really enjoyed the free breakfast that was a full breakfast and tasteful. I will book the Hampton again when I'm in Milwaukee, WI The location of the Hotel was just were I needed to be, which was downtown Milwaukee.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank 703valeriep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Valerie,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to serve your lodging needs again!

Misty Kingsley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#31 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,107 reviews
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 176 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203-2507 (Formerly Howard Johnson Milwaukee)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range: $110 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown is located in Milwaukee, close to Riverside Theater, BMO Harris Bradley Center, and Milwaukee Art Museum. Nearby points of interest also include Marquette University and Summerfest grounds. Recreational amenities include an indoor pool, a spa tub, and a 24-hour fitness facility. This hotel has a 24-hour business center and offers small meeting rooms and audiovisual equipment. All stays include free hot breakfast and internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Downtown Milwaukee Hotel
Hampton Inn Milwaukee
Milwaukee Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing