We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good clean quiet rooms, great for business travel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #32 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Chesterland, Ohio
Level Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good clean quiet rooms, great for business travel”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel has all the basics. Convenient location for downtown Milwaukee, good service, good hot breakfast, clean rooms and all the basics you need. The garage is attached and provides easy access parking.

The morning offers an enormous selection from fruits, good coffee and hot breakfast items (that were different each day - which I thought was nice!)

The staff was super helpful on a very snowy cold winter night. The hot tub was out of service but that will happen!

Room Tip: There is no evening room service - so plan to head out to Mo's or several other nearby eateries...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princess_software
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney F, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback! I am so happy that the attached garage and complimentary breakfast were to your liking. We have many amenities that we hope our guests are able to enjoy during their stays with us. I did want to inform you that the whirlpool is up and running if you are looking to stay with us in the future. Our Wisconsin winters can be rough, but I am so pleased that our staff created a warm environment for you to enjoy. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    253
    146
    107
    68
See reviews for
240
180
30
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is generally a good hotel. The room was up to date with plenty of outlets, tasteful decor, and the bedding (duvet covers included) are freshly laundered daily. The breakfast is great, with lots of choices. It's well-stocked and served until 10 even on weekdays.

Unfortunately, the Internet service here failed to meet my expectations. They claim to offer "high speed" Internet, but it consistently tested between .30 and .50 mbps (often slower than old school dial-up) during my entire week-long stay. Downloading a simple file took forever and Skyping was impossible. It was also annoying to have to log in with the access code several times per day and having the code change at midnight on Sunday and not being told this in advance.

I requested a refrigerator and was told there were none available, which was unfortunate. There's a revolving door at the front entrance but it was locked, and one afternoon I sat in the lobby and watched no less than a dozen people try to get in the locked door, because there was no sign. Little things like that can really annoy a guest. Fortunately someone later posted a sign saying that the door is locked.

The bad Internet service and the annoyances regarding the locked door and lack of refrigerators for rent prevent me from giving this property the 5-stars I would otherwise have given it. Still, if fast Internet service isn't a priority for you, this hotel may be for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank room317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney F, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize if you were inconvenienced in any way regarding our internet connection at our hotel. Your feedback is incredibly important to us and I assure you that we are in the process of increasing our internet speed with our provider. I do empathize with your situation and assure you that we are always looking for ways to improve our guests’ satisfaction and I will definitely take you feedback into consideration.

Again, I truly regret any inconveniences you went through and hope that you give us another chance of staying with us if you are ever around our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My daughter and I were in Milwaukee to visit Marquette University. It was the perfect location - right downtown, just a few short minutes from the campus, close to many restaurants, the riverwalk, parks etc. (although it was much too cold to enjoy the later sights). The room was very clean, appointed well, comfortable in every respect. Breakfast was hot and plentiful. The front desk staff was extremely friendly, and very helpful. Covered parking with direct hotel access a plus. This was our first visit to Milwaukee and as we hope it won't be the last, this will be our go-to hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney F, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. I am so pleased that you enjoyed our hotel so much. As you stated in your review, we have many destinations within blocks of our hotel. I understand you were here for a visit to Marquette University. Hopefully you will be able to come back to enjoy our city some more. We have great pride in our staff, and I am so happy their personalities and helpfulness made your stay so great! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We got a free upgrade upon arrival. The room was very clean, and the beds were very nice. if ever in town we would stay at this Hampton again. The continintal breakfast was very good, and lots to choose from.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

What I have come to expect from Hampton: clean, consistent rooms. This hotel most def. had that. The room was spacious and comfortable. Coffee down stairs was hot, staff was friendly. Location is great. What more to ask? I will stay here again next trip to Milwaukee!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank autiger3313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney F, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your review on our hotel. I am very happy that our hotel lived up to your Hampton standards. Our staff does a great job of showing our guests their “Hamptonality.” It is just one of the attributes that keeps our guests coming back. We would be honored if you would come to stay with us again and enjoy all of the great attractions that are within walking distance of the hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Close to great restaurants and bars, covered parking. Clean rooms. refrigerator and microwave in room. Many items to choose from for breakfast. Dislike when people are barefoot in lobby and in food/coffee areas. Less than a block from Riverside Theater (concerts). Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
319 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We are becoming frequent visitors to Milwaukee and are working our way through the downtown hotels. This stay at the Hampton was on a Friday night. We have stayed at many Hamptons and find them to be very nice hotels for the money.

Here are the good points about this hotel:
Our room was very clean. I did not see a speck of anything anywhere. The bed was very comfortable. I like the fact that they wash the duvet covers between each occupant. It's nice to be able to sit on and set things on the beds, knowing they are clean. The breakfast area is adjacent to the lobby. This area looks like it has been recently renovated and is very attractive. The breakfast is really nice. There are several hot options, such as scrambled eggs, meats, and make your own waffles. Cereals, yogurt, oatmeal, fruit, juice, and a nice coffee/tea set up. The front desk staff was very friendly and efficient. Parking was $13.50/day, with in and out privileges.
And now for the negatives:
Our room was very odd. A smaller, interior room looking out onto the fire escape. It felt fairly claustrophobic. I'm very surprised that they created guest rooms in this location. It is really quite undesirable. There is no closet, but the room does have a wardrobe. It is nice that they provide a mini fridge, but it is just sitting on the floor by the chair, and looks out of place. Our room was starting to show some wear, with things like peeling wallpaper. You could see where they had previously "fixed" it with staples near the ceiling. I really don't think they should be charging full price for this room. Had it been sold as an "interior room with an obstructed view" at a reduced price- that would be fair.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bloomcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney F, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. While we are delighted that you found our rooms to be clean and your bed comfortable, we are sorry that you are disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us.

I truly apologize if you were disappointed with condition you found your room to be in. We are updating our property on an ongoing basis and I do appreciate you bringing these issues to my attention. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Also, please know we have added your preference of an exterior room to your profile for future stays.

We hope that next time you'll be in the Milwaukee area, you'll consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Courtyard Milwaukee Downtown
#36 of 56 in Milwaukee
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#16 of 56 in Milwaukee
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 176 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203-2507 (Formerly Howard Johnson Milwaukee)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown is located in Milwaukee, close to Riverside Theater, BMO Harris Bradley Center, and Milwaukee Art Museum. Nearby points of interest also include Marquette University and Summerfest grounds. Recreational amenities include an indoor pool, a spa tub, and a 24-hour fitness facility. This hotel has a 24-hour business center and offers small meeting rooms and audiovisual equipment. All stays include free hot breakfast and internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Downtown Milwaukee Hotel
Hampton Inn Milwaukee
Milwaukee Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing