We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great value & location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #36 of 54 Hotels in Milwaukee
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
217 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great value & location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here this weekend with two friends in a one bedroom suite. Clean & comfortable suite in downtown. Good location and walking distance to alot of areas in the city. The staff were very helpful providing recommendations in the area. Hotel offered free breakfast, computer access, wireless, and fitness cetner. Good value and would recommend staying here if you are looking for a suite.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for your time, feedback and your kind words. We hope to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    233
    138
    101
    62
See reviews for
222
168
30
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Another good stay here at the Hampton Inn downtown Milwaukee. Had a room with 2 queens, the room was pretty tiny. As with many older downtown hotels, some rooms here are really spacious and others are like closets. This time we had one like a closet and it had a view of an abandoned building next door. The 2 beds were literally crammed into that room. I would definately ask not to have a tiny room like that again. We spent 2 nights, the first night we went down to the pool and got in the hot tub. When we walked in there some other people in the pool area who said you can't get in there there are too many chemicals in it. Boy were they right. I stuck my feet in but my husband got in. It stunk of chemicals so bad that he had to get out, his eyes were red, watering and burning all night. I told them at the desk and he called maintenance. The hot tub was closed after that and so the next night there was no hot tub for us. Pretty disappointing really. Would stay again for sure but next time we're trying the Hilton Garden Inn that's opening just across the river. Next time I stay at the Hampton I would definately tell them I don't want the tiny closet style rooms. Desk staff is super friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Be sure to be aware some rooms are super tiny so if you have more than 2 people be sure to mention y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thecablegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We appreciate that you notified us of the smell coming from the pool area. The health and safety of our guests is a top priority. Consequently, this meant that we had to close down the hot tub for maintenance. As noted in a response to another guest, our automatic chemical feeders malfunctioned, causing a spike in the chemical levels. I apologize that we weren’t able to get it up and running before the end of your stay. This malfunction has since been corrected. Thank you for your flexibility and we are very sorry for the inconvenience. We hope to see you again soon so you can enjoy the hot tub and our friendly staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrews, IN
Level Contributor
173 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed at this hotel while doing a baseball game in Milwaukee. It was conviently located near the Trolley and to other downtown venues. Our room was located on the second floor right off the elevator. The room was very clean with a large bathroom, a flat screen TV and free WIFI. Parking was in an attached garage which was easily accesible from our room. The breakfast provided by the hotel was very good with a spacious dining area overlooking the downtown area. Although a little pricey, it is downtown after all. The only problem we had was as we were leaving the parking garage a car came up the spiral exit and since it is a blind area we almost had a head on collision. I guess the fellow could not figure out how to pay to exit the garage area. With the exception of a small power failure on Sunday morning, the rest of our staff was uneventful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. We're happy that you enjoyed our hotel. I apologize that the layout of the city parking garage attached to our hotel was confusing for some individuals and almost resulted in an accident. I am happy you and your vehicle are undamaged and I hope you come visit us again when your travels bring you to Milwaukee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Had some trouble with our reservation (our error not theirs) and Frederick was so kind. Before all of our transaction was complete he let us weary travelers up to our room to get things taken care of. All of the staff has been great. Only thing on the con list is room's bath is so small door bangs on curtin rod when you open it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heimhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thanks for your feedback. We love our staff and we're always happy to hear that others do too! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

The room was large and clean, but the hotel is showing a lot of wear and tear and could use some updating. The front desk staff was excellent. Breakfast was adequate, typical hotel continental. Great restaurants are close and walkable and there is a shopping center across the street. It was a good value for our family of 5 but if we did not need the suite I would have stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VAFamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are happy that we were able to accommodate your needs and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

On sept 2 just stopped in on a whim with family. Decent rate and friendly staff. We had a very large 2 queen with city view. Clean and comfortable. Beds very comfortable! Only negative was there was no mini frig and the pillows weren't comfy for us. Hotel decor is nice and modern, cozy sitting area and good breakfast. Kids loved the pool which by the way did not smell during our visit, as noted by other reviewer (problem must of been addressed).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chaniqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback! I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take in hotel amenities, like the breakfast and pool, and that those amenities met your needs and standards. Come see us again when you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed at Hampton Inn and Suites during the Orientation Day at Marquette University. Great location and close to all the attractions in Downtown Milwaukee. Staff were great and even got an upgraded room. The accommodation includes a great breakfast every morning. I would recommend and stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Always book directly with Hilton Hotels.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarissarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty K, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with others. We hope to see you again when you visit Marquette!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Milwaukee Downtown
#37 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#15 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 176 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Howard Johnson Milwaukee)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 54 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown is located in Milwaukee, close to Riverside Theater, BMO Harris Bradley Center, and Milwaukee Art Museum. Nearby points of interest also include Marquette University and Summerfest grounds. Recreational amenities include an indoor pool, a spa tub, and a 24-hour fitness facility. This hotel has a 24-hour business center and offers small meeting rooms and audiovisual equipment. All stays include free hot breakfast and internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Downtown Milwaukee Hotel
Hampton Inn Milwaukee
Milwaukee Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing