We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aesthetically pleasing hotel, but unfriendly staff.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
Ranked #24 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Baraboo, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Aesthetically pleasing hotel, but unfriendly staff.”
Reviewed May 4, 2011

The hotel and rooms were aesthetically very nice, modern, clean, and smelled fantastic! Unfortunately, the staff was quite cold (with the exception of the very helpful and friendly young maintenance man that was working in the evening, and the GM).
When I called the hotel to confirm my reservations, they answered in a kind of cold unwelcoming way. I had called a few times (different shifts), and it was the same each time (and it wasn't them responding to just me, because before I ever spoke they answered this way). This concerned me a little, but I let it go. During my entire stay there, I never saw any of the front desk staff (on any shift) SMILE or be warm and welcoming. They were accommodating, but it was with gritted teeth. The exception was the GM who offered to comp us a rollaway because our room was dirty upon late evening arrival and the adjoining door wasn't initially working. (By the way, I'm NOT complaining about the dirty room or the adjoining door and wasn't upset by it. Things happen, and they had already accomodated us with adjoining rooms. They were on top of the situation. The maintenance gentleman that they sent to clean our room and fix our door did a very good job and was very helpful.)
I used my CHOICE POINTS for my entire stay and required an incidental c.c. I didn't have a c.c., but did have a debit card which they wanted to authorize for a ridiculously excessive amount ($240 +). (Eventually they authorized it for $135+ which was still a stress for us.) The claim was that they needed to authorize it for the amount of the full stay, but this was actually much higher than the actual stay cost (I know Corporate's rate). I totally understand needing an incidental c.c. AND being able to authorize it just in case damage is done to the room; but let's be reasonable. $50-$100 is reasonable and they are able to select a "NO POST" option that doesn't allow a guest to charge anything to their room (like movies). You would think when a guest is using points, the staff would give them a little extra consideration (like a warm friendly smile and demeanor). The staff needs to realize when a guest is using points, CORPORATE IS PAYING FOR THE ROOM. Coorporate is REWARDING this guest for being beneficial to the company. The guest should not be walking away feeling like they were treated less by the staff. I feel this way.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FOXYPOXMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    85
    35
    8
    5
See reviews for
69
75
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lockport, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Me and my friends took a trip to the Potawatomi Bingo Casino, The casino it self was a disaster. Such a relief that a Completely Clean Hotel and the most Comfortable beds that i have ever slept in totally took away the pain from loosing money on the ridiculous table games that were offered at the casino. Pretty sad that the only money i won there was from
"War". But anyways, This Hotel was Spotless Clean, Great Value, With a Pool and Hot Tub, Personal Fridge with Microwave, Free Wifi, Buisness Chair and Desk and to top it off 32inch Flatscreen! Excellent Stay Will Most Definitely Recommend!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeppie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BThoe, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 17, 2010
Thank You so much for a great review on our hotel. We really pride ourselves on a clean room and great customer service and hope you come back and better luck next time at the casino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2010

The service was fine and the room had two double queens as we requested through the internet. The room was spacious for us (two adults & a teen). The beds were very comfortable. I heard no noise within the hotel except for maybe some road construction outside. Breakfast was more then I expected such as fresh waffles, fruit, yogurt, and cereal There was also french toast you could warm in the microwave. I mean there was no meat or eggs, but it sure satisfied us for the price.
We used Garmin to help us find the baseball stadium, which was helpful with all the construction. It only took about 15 minutes and was easy to figure out the parking. Many resturants close to the hotel. Oh and this hotel has free parking. Watch for that when booking in downtown Milwaukee. We will stay here again when we attend another baseball game.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mkklein5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

I've stayed at this hotel several times in past when using the airport and I keep coming back for a reason. The front desk staff is always friendly and welcoming, and this stay was no different. He even asked some teens to leave the business center so I could use the computer to check in for my flight (without me even asking). The rooms are always very clean and comfortable. It's always quiet also, which is important to me because I'm a light sleeper. I use the park and fly option, which has never let me down. The shuttle is always timely going to and from the airport and runs 24/7. I feel the car is safe in their lot as there is plenty of lights and in a relatively active area. Just around the corner are lots of dining options as well. I plan on using this hotel everytime I use MKE airport in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mschuh03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
172 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Honestly, the pillows on the bed were smaller than throw pillows. I kept laughing about them, until bedtime, when I couldn't sleep because they were too small. The room was clean, however the pool area was very dirty. Used towels & wrppaers all over. The hot tub was filled with wrappers & used tissues. We went to use the pool, but it was dirty too. As we were leaving, we noticed that the flood light from the pool was laying in the pool. We overheard the couple in the elevator sya they were the ones that the light popped out on. I guesss one the wife brushed the pool wall with her foot, and the light popped out. Walls were super thin- could hear people running through the halls above us. Thank goodness it stopped around 10. Breakfast was super small. Just juice, coffee, fruit, pre-wrapped pastry, yogurt, waffles, cereal, toast, and microwaved breakfast burritos. All in all, I guess I would stay here in a pinch, but I would pack my own pillows.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nosilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Stayed overnight. Very nice hotel at a great price. Looked to be fairly new. Beds were a little soft for my liking, but you can't win 'em all,. Overall, a nice experience. Beware of 11:00 check-out time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AskMeLater24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

I stayed at this hotel one night when, due to severe weather, all flights out of MKE were cancelled (and mass confusion ensued). I got on the shuttle at the airport while I was on the phone with the hotel trying to make a last-minute reservation; I was on hold. I arrived ten minutes later (close to 11:00pm) and was still on hold but joined the short line to check in. (Considering the craziness going on, I was willing to overlook the long hold time.) The clerk at the desk was new to the job but handling the massive influx of customers well. I was given a very large and comfortable room with a king bed. I was not a fan of the pillows -- too soft -- but that's personal preference. The free breakfast in the morning was the usual: some pre-packaged muffins and microwaveable breakfast sandwiches, waffles, cereal, bagels, etc. Nothing fancy but perfectly edible.

I had never stayed at a Sleep Inn before and expected a total dive, what I found instead was a new-looking, well appointed, comfortable hotel a short distance from the airport whose rooms were very reasonably priced. Should I need another airport hotel in Milwaukee, I would definitely consider this property.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Academiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
1.5 mi away
Quality Suites Milwaukee Airport
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Milwaukee Airport Hotel & Conference Ctr.
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Milwaukee Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Milwaukee Airport
Courtyard Milwaukee Airport
#39 of 56 in Milwaukee
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Milwaukee Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites
Address: 4600 S 6th St, Milwaukee, WI 53221-2469
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Milwaukee
#13 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Sleep Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport we guarantee high quality modern accommodations, friendly and efficient service, clean and comfortable surroundings. The Sleep Inn & Suites offers 24-hour shuttle service to and from the Milwaukee airport and complimentary parking. We offer a complimentary breakfast daily, an indoor pool and whirlpool, Fitness Room and Business Center. Our guest rooms feature a 32" flat panel television, microwave, refrigerator, plush bedding, a work area and lounge chair. The hotel is located just 8 miles south of downtown Milwaukee and only 1.2 miles from the General Mitchell International airport. We offer a Park N Fly program to stay, park and return up to 2 weeks later while we house your vehicle. We offer corporate, group and leisure rates and pride ourselves on our price competitiveness and value to our guests. We invite you to "Sleep Inn". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing