We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for business travel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Milwaukee Airport
Ranked #22 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Reviewed March 3, 2010

I stayed on the Executive Level (5th floor) and was pleased with the rooms there. Plenty of room and it was quiet even though the hotel was pretty full. If I had to be picky, i would say the room service menu was limited, but the food was good. Everyone working there was nice also.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tc3399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaMKE, Manager at Crowne Plaza Milwaukee Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2010

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 475 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2010

After looking at all the Milwaukee airport hotels The Crowne Plaza seemed to best bang for the buck. When I arrived I was greeted by a very accommodating staff member. We did not eat in restaurant but it looked like a good place. The room was warm and inviting and the beads were grate. The only problem with this room was the pillows. They were way to firm and all of the pillows were the same in our room, but other than that the hotel is great and the perfect place to stay before an early morning flight.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoKman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaMKE, Manager at Crowne Plaza Milwaukee Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2010

We are so glad you chose to stay with us and enjoyed it! We are currently looking into alternate pillow options as our guests have a variety of preferences. On your next visit back I'm confident we will be able to provide pillows more to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2010

Lovely hotel! Great pool area! Exec floor rooms a bit small, but clean and quiet. Nice hotel, will go again, for sure, but...

New Years Eve, the bars were not open! The restaurant was open, and with no customers, we had the slowest service EVER! I was served lukewarm soup. I would NEVER, EVER eat there again. There's a Houligan's next door at the Ramada..

Breakfast, New Years Day, we tried again, as it was included with the exec room, service was better, but the eggs/toast were cold.. Just not good!

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilwaukeeDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2009

Business travellers who work for companies that "manage" their travel budgets have quite a menagerie of $60 - $85 dollar/night hotels to choose from near the Milwaukee Airport. Some of try hotel after hotel looking for a reasonably comfortable bed, a edible breakfast. a quiet room, and a staff that understands what guests need. Sometimes we find an alternative we like but we can't always get a rate that falls within company limits.

The Crowne Plaza - Milwaukee Airport offers yet another choice but is it a good one? The operators did a major renovation of a low-end brand hotel. Having stayed in the area, I was curious to see what the place looks like once the contractor trucks pulled away and the place opened.

Entering the hotel, you immediately notice its contemporary vibe and are greeted professionally by the front desk staff. The modern subdued decor is refreshing after a day of bright flourescent office lights. After I got my room key, here is what I experienced:

Rooms: Relatively spacious for the $62 dollar (prepaid) rate a night I paid. Small parlor with sofa, flat screen on wall, and work desk. Modern furnishings including contemporary lighting. Small bedroom with another flatscreen (did not work). Nice clock with jacks for music and integrated CD player. Lamp on night stand has a power outlet so you don't have to move the bed to find the outlet or string you power cord across the room if you like working/surfing in bed.

The Bed: deserving of its own category in any hotel review, the beds are not bad. They are almost equivalent what you find in better $80 a night hotels and relatively comfortable. The pillows are firm for me since I like soft pillows. The mattresses are institutional, not pillowtops. If they were pillow tops, then this hotel really would have differentiated itself in the airport area at its price point. Too bad for us and the hotel. When will more hotel operators learn that the bed is an extremely important facet of the guest experience?

Bathroom: The bathroom has bathtub/shower with reasonably good water pressure and and hot water. The toilet worked fine. However the toliet paper was about as effective as wax paper. Cheap paper in the long run does not save the hotel money when you have to use twice as much. Outside the bathroom in the area between the parlor and the bedroom is a sink with a very small counter area. However it had great hot water. Hair dryer was operational and there was a lighted makeup mirror my wife would have liked.
Shampoo, conditioner, moisturizer, face and bath soap were provided.

Closet: Mirrored doors open to a good closet with a good supply of normal room hangers and an effective ironing board and iron.

Heating/AC: When the electric heater unit turns on and runs, it makes noise as most of these units do. I just took it off auto so that it ran continually which created decent white noise.

Noise Insulation: This hotel is next to freeway, near a busy intersection, and on a street that sees tons of trucks tearing up its pavement. I asked for a quiet room and could still hear the noise outside. Interesting, the hotel leaves you earplugs on your nightstand! However I found that leaving leaving the fan on in the room drownded out grating of the truck motors.

Staff Responsiveness: I made one request while at the hotel: please fix the TV in the bedroom since it was not working. The one in the parlor worked fine and I had no problem operating it. I asked the front desk before I left for the office and when I returned around 8pm, I found the TV was still not operational. And there was no message regarding the TV either.

Wireless: Good speed. Easy to connect.

Other ameneties: In room coffee. It would be great to have complimentary to-go coffee for the drive to the office as many hotels do but this hotel makes you pay for it in a small snack shop they have next to the front desk. In room coffee is rarely good and free to-go coffee is a great way to say goodbye to a guest as they head off for work or an early flight.
Paper cups are not provided for in room coffee.

Workout Room: Extremely small. One treadmill. A multifunction weight machine. A few other cardio machines. Dissappointing. To spend Millions on renovations and not put in more treadmills and some freeweights (10lbs-65lb dumbells) defies explanation.

Pool: Looked pretty nice but did not use.

Food: I did not have a chance to eat at the hotel but If I stay again, I will be curious to try it.
At the prepay rate, I did not receive breakfast but did not expect that although there is another hotel in the area that offers a fantastic breakfast included at basically the same rate. But the rooms are not as nice.

The Bottom Line: What could be! This place has potential.

I wish that

- the beds were more comfortable but they are acceptable. However I wonder how they will hold up as more and more guests sleep in them.

- the TV would have gotten fixed

- the hotel did not skimp on amenities like coffee to go and toilet tissue..i guess thats not an amenity :-)

- the fitness room was equipped better and a little bigger

The operators of this hotel had a shot at exceeding my expectations for its price point but fell short. If it would have, I would be staying at this property every time I visit MKE.
I will probably give it another try to see if the management is continuously improving the guest experience. And I would tell coworkers to check the place out since there are aspects of the property that might appeal to some but not to others.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
2  Thank snowshoedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaMKE, Manager at Crowne Plaza Milwaukee Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2010

We greatly appreciate your detailed review of the hotel and genuinely hope we can impress you next time around. Thank you so much for your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

Our recent conference at this hotel proved that this hotel valued our business to the utmost of levels. The hotel was always accomodating to our group, and the hotel manager Michael gave us special considerations that really went above and beyond expectations. The bar staff were social and professional. The rooms: top grade....completely upgraded fixtures and bedding. The pool is warm enough to swim in at any temperature, and there is a nice jacuzzi with powerful jets. The only downfall of this hotel is that is not in walking distance of many other restaurants, so you feel 'stuck' while you are there. But otherwise, this hotel is a perfect spot for the business traveller.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
Thank jokerjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaMKE, Manager at Crowne Plaza Milwaukee Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2010

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We look forward to future business with you and your group!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2009

I agree the decor is like a Park Avenue Hotel. The beds are heavenly. The staff very friendly, courteous, and knowledgeable. I did eat in the Atitude restaurant. I had the shrimp and scallops over pasta. Food cooked to perfection. The waite staff was on their game. The chef even came out to ask me how was everything. They have high-speed internet and flat screens everywhere.

I would definately come back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redavogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

I was impressed with this hotel... The lobby was so well decorated and staff was on top of their game. Check out Fried Cheese Curds in the restaurant... sooooo yummy!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustMeMPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Milwaukee Airport
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Airport
1.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Milwaukee Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Milwaukee Airport
2.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#21 of 55 in Milwaukee
241 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Milwaukee Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Milwaukee Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Milwaukee Airport

Address: 6401 S 13th St, Milwaukee, WI 53221-5246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#9 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#10 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range: $95 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Milwaukee Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milwaukee Airport Crowne Plaza Hotel is located in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and is The Place to Meet for meetings and weddings alike. Our hotel is located just 2 miles from General Mitchell International Airport, and ten miles from downtown Milwaukee, Midwest Airlines Center, Milwaukee Art Museum, and U.S. Celluar Arena, home of Brewer Baseball.Featuring 24,000 square feet of meeting, conference and banquet space, the Crowne Plaza Milwaukee Airport offers an ideal location for important events. We offer a free 24-hour airport shuttle as well as upgraded beds with Crowne Plaza s signature Sleep Advantage! Business travelers will appreciate our high-speed Internet access, executive level rooms and lounge and our 24-hour business center. The Crowne Plaza Milwaukee Airport is a beautifully decorated hotel conveniently located off I-94 near Lake Michigan, the new Harley Davidson Museum, and some of Wisconsin s most popular attractions. Crowne Plaza Hotel Milwaukee Airport, is a family-friendly hotel where Kids Stay Free in parents room. Enjoy our huge indoor pool and fully-equipped fitness center. Leisure travelers will love our proximity to Miller Brewery Tours, Wisconsin State Fair Park and Milwaukee Summer Fest Grounds.Crowne Plaza, the best value for Milwaukee, Wisconsin Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Milwaukee Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Milwaukee Arpt Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing