We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place. Not so processed and different from most asain food.”
Review of Jing's

Jing's
Ranked #248 of 1,518 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Historic Third Ward
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Love this place. Not so processed and different from most asain food.”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Food is great, interesting flavors or blends of spices. Not like other Chinese foods where you feel like some of the sauces are just poured out of a giant can. The food seems to be cooked by someone without so much processed food. It tastes like someone is actually making the sauces from scratch and taking time to cook the meal.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Měiwèi (Delicious!)”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

My husband and I have been to Jing's many times and absolutely love it! We brought our best gal pal with us to check it out since we haven't dined there in a while due to a home purchase in the burbs. You MUST start with the steamed dumplings filled with broth and meatball. The General Tso's chicken is very tasty, some of the best I've ever had even though it's a very generic Chinese dish. The Mooney Squid was to die for! A tad bit on the salty side, but it worked. Jing recommended to add shrimp with it, and what a great idea! My husband had a bubbling hot, clear noodle dish with meatballs that was so dense and delicate at the same time (I can't remember the name of it, but it's on the special menu). I highly recommend this place for the authentic Chinese food, great ambiance, and fabulous staff and owner. We will definitely be back soon! Thanks Jing!!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Halo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
100 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Alternative to your typical or chain Chinese restaurant”
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Jing's in my opinion is one of the best Chinese restaurants I have been to. The decor is fung shui with light colored walls and a high ceiling. This is a fantastic and fresh change from the typical dark and dingy Chinese restaurant. At Jing's you can actually hear yourself think. This is a plus for people who want to hold a conversation versus an exercise in lip reading. Now on to the best part, the food, or the service I cannot decide. The food is prepared in top notch fashion, it is delivered with care by the attentive servers who are there to help your journey through an enjoyable dinning experience. If you do not know what it is you are in the mood to eat, just ask and it may even be created for you.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dr_foucault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“modern atmosphere, good food”
Reviewed June 22, 2010

The only thing that would make this place great is be closer to where I live. Ha
When my husband and I went at 2 pm the place was deserted. I was hoping to try the buffet but I liked having the peace and quiet and the server all to ourselves. The shrimp lo mein was great but would of liked bigger shrimp. The spring rolls had a nice light coating.
We went here based on a friend recommend and definitely want to extend that to everyone else.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 95tigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Jing's is the place for Chinese”
Reviewed October 12, 2009

After reading a glowing review in the Shepard weekly paper we tried out Jing's a few months ago, and have been back 4 times since.
Forget the 'regular' menu. I'm sure the US/Chinese staples like fried rice, general tsao's chicken and lo mein are well prepared and quite tasty, but you can get these anywhere.
No, the reason we go to Jing's is the "Special Menu", which I'm emploring Jing to use exclusively (probably end up like the Indian guy on Seinfeld who went out of business after taking such advice...).
I haven't been to mainland china yet, but supposedly this is authentic, and even if it wasn't it's still fabulous.
Addictive broth dumplings, pork belly with preserved mustard greens, spicy fish, etcetctc.
It's just thoughtfully prepared, highly delicious, out of the ordinary (i.e. REAL) chinese food servced by sincerely friendly people.
Well done Jing!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shinerbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jing's also viewed

Milwaukee, WI
Milwaukee, WI
 

Been to Jing's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing