We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty hotel room where nothing worked, disappointing post-review service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Milwaukee
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Reviewed November 25, 2010

Below is my original review of my very disappointing stay at this hotel. But I deleted it so that I could add this. The hotel's "manager" sent me a private TA message asking what room I had stayed in, so that they could use it as an example "for training purposes." I confirmed the room number. And that was it. No apology of any sorts. I was hesitant to even complain to hotel staff until the series of non-working devices in our dirty room escalated to having to leave with wet hair on a cold morning. I restrained my TA review because the hotel staff had been so friendly. But this manager's almost passive aggressive and apology-free TA response will keep me from giving this property another shot. All that needed to be said (if anything was said at all) was "I am sorry for your disappointing stay." That is a manager's job.

Below is my original review; read it keeping in mind I was going easy on exactly how filthy our "four star" room was.

I was looking forward to treating myself to a stay here and couldn't have been more disappointed. Our room was dirty--grass and dirt all over the desk, mildewy shower, mildewy comforter, gross face/finger smudge prints on the window, some sort of sticky substance on the wall. And everything was broken: three burned out lights, the television didn't work, the hairdryer didn't work. One of the beds had two sheets but no comforter. I finally called the manager when the hair dryer wouldn't work, and she was quite polite and comped our parking. The place is NOT a treat--stick with the Pfister for that, and if you're deal hunting stick with the Hyatt down the road.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannah619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsmith61, General Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2010

I sincerely apologize for the shortcomings you experienced at our hotel on your recent stay. As a team of hospitality professionals, we strive to exceed guest expectations and clearly in this case we disappointed you.

It was nice to read your comment about the friendly staff you encountered while here. We do take great pride in our staff and their friendly, helpful nature.

Hopefully while planning your next visit to our city you will consider giving our great hotel and staf another chance.

Timothy Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

969 - 975 of 1,107 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2010

We found the room to be neat and bathroom clean with wonderfull bath towels, the only minor thing was the bed was a bit soft compare to the one at home but had a good night sleep anyway.
The location is great, we had an event to attend at the Pabst Theater on Saturday night, at ten in the evening, and was surprised about the convenience of it. Also the building as a whole is quite beautiful.
Was very happy with the service starting at the front desk to the wait staff at both restaurants. The service and people were just wonderful. Food was so tasty from the hamburgers we had at CLEAR to our breakfast at KIL(A)WAT the next morning.
Price was right except for the parking, but the valets were very prompt in getting our car and helpful with directions. We left this last Sunday morning, and it was very busy at this time, a lot was going on.
Oh, and our room #704 had a great veiw and very quite But now thinking about it, I'm sure that all the rooms would.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Downers5336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i1adive, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2010

We are very fortunate to be right in the center of the Theater District with the Marcus Center for Performing Arts right across the street and directly connected to a complex housing so many theaters: The Historic Pabst Theater, the Quadracci, the Stiemke and the Stackner Cabaret. It really makes it convenient for our guests just like you that enjoy taking in some of the Arts. Sounds like all things being said you had a pretty good time in Milwaukee. Thank you for choosing us and please visit us again. -Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We went to Milwaukee for a wedding and decided to make it a week-end getaway and booked the Leisure Package. It included a deluxe room with a view, breakfast each day, two drinks each evening, free parking and a 4:00 pm late checkout. We arrived early afternoon so we could explore the city and was pleasantly surprised when the front desk offered to upgrade our room to a mini-suite because our room was not ready. The amenities were exceptionally nice and there was a bathrobe hanging in the bathroom. The fitness room had everything you would want and there was both a sauna and steam room. All the staff were pleasant and helpful. The lounge area was fun with entertainment and plenty of different seating areas. A totally decadent dessert bar was available to satisfy your chocolate cravings! The service in all areas was outstanding. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the InterContinental and would recommend this hotel to anyone planning to visit Milwaukee.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaLosOsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i1adive, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2010

That really makes our day to hear that you had such a good time with us and to hear the great observations. I hope you had a good time at the wedding, and you’re more then welcome to use us as your hub the next time you feel like exploring Milwaukee. Thanks for the good words. -Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

The bell boys were top notch and personable. Bryant ,Mitchell and Charlie
made our stay a stay we will not forget soon. Bryant for bringing my book from
my car and remembering me the next day by asking me how i liked the book.
Mitchell who we met at check in who was a great help with where to go in the city.
Charlie who we met the next day helped us with what activities to see and do on
the last day. all three were reason enough to come back, they didn't act as though
it was there job,I felt they enjoyed giving excellent service. Iam in the hospitality
business I know excellence when I see it. Job well done. Pam

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nordiclady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i1adive, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2010

Pam, thank you so much for recognizing some of our colleagues. We do take pride in working day to day with individuals that genuinely enjoy what they do and providing top notch service and it really means a lot to them and to us to hear the accolades of a job well done. I’ll be sure to pass on your comments, which I’m sure will mean a lot to the individuals you mentioned. I’m sure glad you had such a positive experience with us and that you decided to share with the Tripadvisor community. Thank again, Steve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

My husband and I came to Milwaukee to attend a friend's wedding. We stayed at the Intercontinental since the reviews for this hotel were decent and the other four star hotels were very expensive. The room was large and the free wifi is a plus. We had a room with a king size bed, but the bed was a little lumpy so after the second night, our backs felt a little sore. There was a strange smell in our bathroom, but the cleaning ladies were nice enough to spray and wipe down the toilet several times. The location is very central, although everything to see or do in Milwaukee is within a 15 minute drive from each other. Parking is quite expensive at about $24/day for self-serve. The parking garage is under construction but we didn't hear any noise from our hotel room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sillybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i1adive, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2010

We’re very thankful that you decided to choose us for your visit to Milwaukee. I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t have a more comfortable night’s sleep. We typically get very positive marks for the comfort of our beds so I would be interested to find out which room you were in so that we can fix that immediately. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel. –Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

I wanted to express my gratitude and appreciation to all the staff at this hotel. The event could not have been better. Most of our friends and family stay 2 nights/days and every commented on the great staff and service they received. The hotel is just beautiful and they made our wedding occasion very special. The rehearsal dinner was booked at the Kilowatt Bar/restaurant and that was unbelievable. The wait staff did an excellent job with the food service and the dinner was perfect. Thank you all for taking care of the family and friends that participated. A big thanks to Bridget-the events coordinator!!! You surpassed yourself!!!...The wedding event on the 2nd floor was to beautiful for words and again the staff presented themselves in a professional manner!! I haven't seen this type of service in many years and many weddings...The decor is dynamic as well. I will definitely recommend your hotel to anyone that is looking for a great place to visit and stay. It was money well spent!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VILLANUEVA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i1adive, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2010

Bridget IS incredible. We are very fortunate to have her on our team. She has such a positive and upbeat personality which truly shines through with all of her clients. Her passion alone helps to motivate all around her to put on great events. We will be sure to pass your comments on to all that had a hand in making you’re your special event a special memory. Best wishes to the bride & groom. -Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We entered the lobby and were treated like we were the only guests. From beginnig to end, our week-end getaway was wonderful!! Great customer service! Clean, quiet and very comfortable rooms! Safe, secure, reasonably priced parking. Fantastic location! I am very fussy about service and cleanliness and this was definitely top of the line. You can't go wrong booking you're stay at the Intercontinental Milwaukee!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunkport85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i1adive, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2010

That’s great to hear! Thank you so much for the positive feedback. We are certainly glad that we had a positive contribution to your time in Milwaukee. Hope to see you again soon. –Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
#32 of 56 in Milwaukee
632 reviews
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Milwaukee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Milwaukee

Address: 139 E Kilbourn Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202-3125 (Formerly Wyndham Milwaukee Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#20 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#27 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range: $94 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Milwaukee 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Milwaukee is the place to indulge your senses. Located along the Milwaukee Riverwalk, a vibrant stretch lined with parks, sculptures, restaurants and nightlife, the InterContinental Milwaukee places you in the centre of the downtown business and theatre districts. Discover the historic Pabst Theatre, the Milwaukee Art and Natural History Museums, or one of Milwaukee's many summer festivals. For a more leisurely tour of the city take a walk along Old World Third Street or in Cathedral Square Park, and don't forget to visit the Milwaukee Public Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Milwaukee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Milwaukee Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing