We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Intercontinental to the Rescue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Milwaukee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
InterContinental Milwaukee
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Milwaukee
Wisconsin
1 review
“Intercontinental to the Rescue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2010

Planning for my son’s bachelor party to be held on April 10, 2010 included making reservation to accommodate nine well behaved young men. Having previously stayed at the Residence Inn in downtown Milwaukee I made reservations for two suites on February 10, 2010. Unfortunately upon our arrival I was advised that our reservation had been cancelled, despite having a confirmation number in hand, as the room had not been held with a credit card. In my adult life of 56 years I have never made hotel reservations without being required to hold the room with a credit card number. Needless to say I was upset.

In the course of correcting their error we were given two complimentary rooms at the Intercontinental Hotel in Milwaukee. To ensure all of my fellows were comfortable I needed an additional room. The staff at the Intercontinental was fabulous! Ms Jenny Peretz, the Assistant General Service Manager, was excellent and very understanding. She should get a raise. Our rooms were magnificent as was all of the hotel’s staff. This is a huge coup for the Intercontinental Hotel as when I travel to Milwaukee next I will be staying there.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bicycle1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i1adive, Rooms Division Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, April 15, 2010
We’ll be sure to recognize Jenny. Thanks for the kind words. -Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    311
    190
    61
    39
See reviews for
142
394
48
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
preston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. From the moment we walked in we were impressed! Very Metro/Modern flair. Our room was clean, and the pillow menu (one you didn't have to ask for) was perfect! The staff was very attentive to our every need. We decided to stay in for dinner our second night as the hotel had a really nice restaurant. We were not disappointed. Our waiter knew the menu like the back of his hand and the food was out of this world. Truly four star! We decided to finish off our night in the lobby bar where there was great entertainment & a chocolate bar. Hand pick your desired items from fresh fruit to truffles to pound cake & smores and then seat yourself and dip them in your own private fondue bowls. The hotel did not have a spa but did send us just a few blocks away to their sister hotel teh Pfister and once again we were amazed. The spa was reasonably priced, and services were done in your very own private spa suite. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Milwaukee. We had no idea what to expect from this city as it was our first visit there. We will definately return!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjacobik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i1adive, Rooms Division Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, April 15, 2010
In this industry we’re always appreciative to hear the positive comments regarding comfort and sleep quality since that’s a critical component of the experience. I am amazed at all of the positive feedback we receive from the Chocolate Bar people love it just as you do but I’m shocked that you didn’t mention the chocolate covered bacon. That’s the crowd favorite that everyone likes to discuss. Thanks for the great post and we’ll be glad to have you back anytime! -Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingleside, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

WHAT A TREAT!!!! The hotel beautiful and the accessibility was truly amazing. My husband and I was there for a show at the Pabst and what more can you ask for, so many things all joined in the plaza so you don't even need to go outside with weather turns bad! Than to top it off the food was OUT OF THIS WORLD!!! We ate at the Kil@Wat Restaurant the food was FABULOUS and PRETTY!! Friday and Saturdays they offer a chocolate buffet in the lobby what a special treat. Than there's the bed........ So many pillows and ssssssoooooo comfortable, I didnt way to leave it!!! Will definately stay again!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tselzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i1adive, Rooms Division Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, April 23, 2010
I’m glad to hear this was such a great experience for you. We are very lucky to have such an incredibly talented Chef that puts a lot of time and effort into creating our ever changing menus and creating some of best innovative American cuisine around. I’ll be sure to pass on the good word. Thank you for the post and hope to see you soon. -Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlsbad, ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2010

I stayed here with my 7 yr. old daughter for a few days in April. Everyone at the hotel provided top notch service. One very pleasant surprise was the food - the first evening we got in quite late and I ordered room service and the meal was really outstanding. I have traveled a lot and even in great hotels, I don't generally expect much from hotel food, but this was such an exception, we ended up doing room service for breakfast and dinner almost every day that we were there. They were also very flexible around making things not on the menu for my daughter.

One other thing I should mention, our itinerary involved us staying for one night, leaving for a few days, and then returning for a few more days. On that first stay, my daughter left a canvas case with a number of movies in it. When we discovered the miss, I contacted the hotel, and sure enough, it had been turned in by housekeeping. Not something that would happen everywhere.
This is the only place we will stay when in Milwaukee.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank socal_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i1adive, Rooms Division Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, April 15, 2010
Thank you for the beautiful recap of your InterContinental Milwaukee experience . I'm happy to hear specifically about the service you enjoyed. Our goal is to provide a comfortable, stylish and guest focused experience without pretense. I'm glad this is what you were able to receive. - Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie du Chien
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2010

We had a great stay in our hotel. We were there for 2 nights, and even got a free upgrade (even though we'd never stayed there before). The staff was awesome - if you need anything from anyone, they will do it and will a smile on their face. The room had a very nice view, a great bed, nice TV, and a good shower and bathroom. This hotel is in the BEST location in Milwaukee - by great bars, restaurants, and about a block away from the concert we went to. My only complaint is that I heard there was botchy ball on Tuesdays, and they should definitely have that on weekends!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i1adive, Rooms Division Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, April 9, 2010
Thank you for the kind words about our team. We are extremely proud of the service culture we have been able to create. The dedication and commitment of the team make it easy! You’re always welcome to come back on a Tuesday even if it's just for Bocce Ball. - Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brookfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

My husband & I wanted a romantic weekend getaway in the City. We chose the Intercontinental Hotel because of it's great location near good restaurants and downtown activities as well as it's great reputation. The staff treated us like royalty, catering to our every wish, making our stay very enjoyable. The rooms are tastefully modern, spacious and clean. The view from our room overlooking the local iceskating rink was delightful. An extra plus was the workout room: the equipment is terrific and rivals many health clubs. We were delighted in every way and would certainly stay there again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marathonmom081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i1adive, Rooms Division Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, April 9, 2010
Quite a compliment! Thank you for the amazing review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2010

We booked this hotel through Priceline.com and got a fabulous rate. This was a very nice hotel and was easily worth double what we paid. Parking was convenient, the staff was pleasant and helpful and our room was beautiful. The hotel is located downtown close to many restaurants, bars and entertainment. Though we didn't try the bar or restaurant in the hotel, both looked nice. We had a great stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loves2travel0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i1adive, Rooms Division Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, April 5, 2010
Thank you for the kind words. We look forward to having you back soon. - Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#19 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#40 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Milwaukee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Milwaukee

Property: InterContinental Milwaukee
Address: 139 East Kilbourn Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Formerly Wyndham Milwaukee Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#20 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#27 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Milwaukee 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Milwaukee is the place to indulge your senses. Located along the Milwaukee Riverwalk, a vibrant stretch lined with parks, sculptures, restaurants and nightlife, the InterContinental Milwaukee places you in the centre of the downtown business and theatre districts. Discover the historic Pabst Theatre, the Milwaukee Art and Natural History Museums, or one of Milwaukee's many summer festivals. For a more leisurely tour of the city take a walk along Old World Third Street or in Cathedral Square Park, and don't forget to visit the Milwaukee Public Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Milwaukee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Milwaukee Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing