We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Milwaukee
Ranked #26 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Good hotel for the price in good location. Very helpful and friendly staff, particularly helpful doormen. Pretty good bar. Would stay there again. Location is close to a lot of things, Milwaukee is a great walking city in the Summer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DallasLonghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    318
    197
    65
    44
See reviews for
149
401
51
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

We were displaced by the hotel due to water damage to a rival, which treated us well and was very accommodating. We returned to the Intercontinental when a room opened up. They were apologetic, and we received first class treatment to rehabilitate the stay. The room was comfortable with a great view of City Hall. The bar was lively with the theater crowd and staff attentive. The art gallery was interesting. Will consider them again when we return to the city. The staff treated us extremely well after the initial difficulty.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DavidR1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
96 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I was in on business, and came in from Chicago. I was hoping to unwind in the evening but the location wasn't within walking distance of anything tempting so stayed in.
Otherwise, it did the trick. Amenities were average and as there was nothing in town, the fact that they didn't have a pool was a real downer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yacovk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear yacovk,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. I am sorry that you found our facilities only at average best. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your comments have been forwarded to the hotel management and we are confident they will take necessary actions to improve our guest satisfaction.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley, Alabama
Level Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Just stayed here for a quick weekend trip to Milwaukee to see The Phantom of the Opera at the Marcus Center. Highly recommend this hotel because of its amazing location! It is right in the middle of EVERYTHING. The River Walk, many different restaurants, the trolly system, and all the theatres are in walking distance of this hotel. The Marcus Center is literally RIGHT across the street, so it was incredibly convenient.

Parking is through the public access lot located right next door, but you take your parking pass to the front desk and they give you the $25 rate overnight unlimited parking until 3 pm, so you can come and go as you place for one flat rate.

The rooms were clean, great layout. Staff was friendly and helpful with any questions I had about the area. The walls seem a little thin because I could hear people talking through them occasionally, but it wasn't an issue. The price is a little steep but for the location, it was worth shelling out the extra money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaina09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed at the Intercontinental for a romantic weekend in Milwaukee. The location is fantastic, right along the Milwaukee river downtown, with easy access to the river walk, third ward and downtown attractions. The staff was friendly enough, and when we checked in and informed the manager that it was our anniversary, he even provided us with a coupon for free breakfast at the hotel restaurant, which was fantastic. The rooms are nice enough. They are set up interestingly, with a "TV room" when you first walk it, and a separate bedroom in the back. The bed was large and comfortable. The hotel is aging, but everything was clean and well taken care of. We did not have any issues with excessive sound through the walls, as some other reviewers have eluded to. The lobby is very nice, with a bar that features music and modern seating on the weekends, for a little bit of fun before you head out on the town. Parking is $25 a day if you park under the hotel, but we choose just to street park and walk the 5 blocks or so to the hotel, which worked well and saved us some dough. Overall it was a nice experience and I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

I have now stayed in both the Pfister and the Intercontinental and now i made my reservation to Pfister. The hotel is nice and clean, especially the lobby and the location is great. I did like the gym a lot, it was rather big and it was great that they had a Sauna ( for a Finnish person it is a huge +). The service was very good and did not have any thing there to complain about. We were staying there for 4 nights and the first night we had a baby crying the hole night next door, which was not nice because we had a hard time sleeping also due to the time difference. I called the front desk to ask if the next door family were going to stay longer, which they did, so we asked if there were any available rooms. The lady at the front desk was nice and understandable and she said she could move us one floor lower, but the room was going to be upgraded. Very nice, even though we most definitely did not expect that and the room that we have was already very big and clean, plus it had decent view. So we moved to the "upgraded" room and it was terrible. The "view" from the window was to a back yard and the room had so called two separate rooms, but only one window. It looked like they had turned a closet in to a room plus it was a lot smaller. So we did not want to complain any more, we didn't come there to spend the time in the room. But an upgrade, NO, definitely not. But besides that, the stay was nice and nothing to complain.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel right off the River Walk section of town and in a gorgeous downtown area.
Growing up I always thought Milwaukee was kind of blah (well it probably was in the 70's and 80's) but it's very cool now.
Could totally live here.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,834 reviews
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#15 of 56 in Milwaukee
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Milwaukee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Milwaukee

Property: InterContinental Milwaukee
Address: 139 E Kilbourn Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202-3125 (Formerly Wyndham Milwaukee Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#20 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#27 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Milwaukee 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Milwaukee is the place to indulge your senses. Located along the Milwaukee Riverwalk, a vibrant stretch lined with parks, sculptures, restaurants and nightlife, the InterContinental Milwaukee places you in the centre of the downtown business and theatre districts. Discover the historic Pabst Theatre, the Milwaukee Art and Natural History Museums, or one of Milwaukee's many summer festivals. For a more leisurely tour of the city take a walk along Old World Third Street or in Cathedral Square Park, and don't forget to visit the Milwaukee Public Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Milwaukee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Milwaukee Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing