We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good downtown location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Milwaukee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
InterContinental Milwaukee
Ranked #24 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good downtown location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Nice upscale-like lobby and bars but restaurant and bars a bit overpriced (for Milwaukee). Rooms comfortable and room rates okay. Have met there three times now for annual family Bulls/Bucks game and had a great time. Good location.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    312
    190
    61
    39
See reviews for
142
395
48
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

My first stay at InterContinental Milwaukee was mid-December 2013 and I returned during early January 2014, all while conducting family business around Greater Milwaukee. I particularly appreciated the self-parking underneath--costs $25 per day, but once I chose a "parking package" that chopped a few bucks off, and for the other visit I happened to be renting one of the two Zipcars that park there anyway with a pass (and that coincidence boosted my convenience considerably). In December I was upgraded for free to a larger King room with a mini-livingroom just inside and in January I stayed in the regular "deluxe" King room I'd booked (lowest rate available). The northward view from the smaller room was better, in my opinion (since the bigger eastward-facing room looked over a dark, snowy roof, then across to other windows in the hotel and office tower, as well as partially blocked segments of downtown and riverside). The smaller King room was plenty big, with many outlets, a huge work-station/desk and a recliner. During both stays all the staff I encountered went out of their ways to accommodate, even (at the start of the the first visit) seeking through the lost-and-found and finding and delivering to my room a loaner wall adapter for my tablet charger when I called down wondering if they had any for sale because I'd just realized I'd inadvertently left mine at a relative's place. There was a terry-cloth robe & spa slippers in the room on the first visit and a robe (because they were out of slippers) for the second--I was told this is the usual practice and if I'm ever there and find there's no robe in the closet I can call and housekeeping will bring one. Overall, I can't think up any cause for complaints, but I've left off a star because the bathrooms in both rooms, while adequate, had older fixtures--rust around the tub in the first and a broken fan in the second. Also, during the December visit the soda vending machine on my floor was inoperative and during the January visit, the ice machine on my floor was barely operative--I reported all these minor problems, and if I'd asked, I do believe (based on how eager to please everyone there has behaved, so far) probably the staff would offered to change my room (if possible) or to bring ice or soda up. The rooms there do not have mini-fridges, but both I stayed in were equipped with iron, ironing board, hair dryer, radio-music-player-alarm-clocks, ice bucket and tongs, glasses and mugs, coffee-maker (with supplies) and very pleasantly fragrant toiletries. Free basic WiFi was free and it was fast enough for my smartphone, tablet and ultrabook.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ECP-Writes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Wow...what an amazing review for any traveler coming to our city. Thank you for being so detailed in helping visitors understand the essence of who we are--a truly service oriented hotel whose guests come first. I thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. By the way, the next time you are here, we do have "mini-fridges" that can be brought up to your room. Most of our guests do not use them, but we certainly keep them around for those who like the convenience of having one in their rooms. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We booked a executive room at the hotel. It was lovely overlooking the ice skating rink with two large windows. Before we left for the evening the toilet would not flush. We called the front desk they assured us someone would take care of it while we were out. Once we returned 4 hours later after dinner and a hockey game there was a note on the bathroom door informing us the toilet was very broken and could not be fixed. We COULD move to another room if we wanted. Well of course we wanted to move. However no executive room was available because it was so late and all the rooms were taken so we were moved to a dingy standard room on the conference room level. The staff tried to accommodate with free breakfast. My problem was why did they not save a room earlier in the evening. Of course we would want a bathroom!!! Not my definition of a high quality hotel providing superior service to their guests.

Room Tip: Make sure you upgrade because the standard rooms are very standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Nicole0611,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are deeply sorry for the experience you had with your room accommodations and the service you received did not live up to your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Rest assured, we have taken note of comments and have forwarded to the appropriate department for review and enhancements.

Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
136 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Great location downtown on the river. Clean rooms with a good amount of space and my last one had a fantastic work desk to get things done. We made use of their work spaces on the 3rd floor working all day out of the board room. In here service was good (people ensured we were appropriately stocked, brought in lunch & breakfast daily both of which were good). The service is as to be expected and the main bar is a decent place to gather and relax. Parking is a touch pricey for the area @ $25.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

For a mini-Christmas vacation, my husband and I booked a two night "bed and breakfast" package. Our family consists of four, two teenagers (male and female, one year apart) and us. We reserved a standard double room, and asked for a cot from housekeeping. With a little rearranging (scooting a chair, and a floor lamp) the cot fit very nicely by the window and we still had LOTS of room remaining to walk around and move in our room. We were on the 10th floor and had a great view of a cute outdoor ice skating rink that was decorated nicely with Christmas lights. The hotel staff was pleasant, and professional. The breakfast "vouchers" included in our package were not for every member of our family; however, the Kil@Wat (the hotel's upscale restaurant) staff removed all beverages from our bill and instead of removing the two least expensive breakfast meals, removed the two most expensive meals! Our breakfast bill before the voucher was approximately $66/per day, but after the breakfast voucher (and before tip) we paid $22! What a wonderful surprise. Our teenagers felt like we were really splurging and felt like we were rich by eating in this beautiful restaurant for breakfast. It was a fun experience and a great treat, and we did not "break the bank" in the process! We would highly recommend this package ESPECIALLY for a family that has big teenage eaters! We enjoyed a Buck's game during our mini-Milwaukee vacation, and it was very easy to walk to the game from our hotel. We had dinner at the Safe House, which was a fun experience (not spectacular food, but that's not why people go to the restaurant, the atmosphere is fun and that's why people go there). We also ate at Joey Bueno's Italian restaurant (not within walking distance during the winter) and loved their food! If you go, order the Italian nachos, there will be enough to share with the entire table and won't ruin your appetite for the entrees you choose. Great vacation! The kids said they can't believe how much fun they had! Additionally we went to the Milwaukee Public Museum (not within walking distance during winter) and were surprised how pricey it was for a "public" museum, but had a nice time. Only negatives: the granite in our bathroom counter needed to be resealed, the tub had pealing enamel, and the staff at the front desk did not allow me to have a cot placed in our room, but a simple call to housekeeping upon arriving to our room fixed that. Housekeeping within 10 minutes brought a cot to our room, set it up and made sure we had extra pillows and blankets too! We would repeat this vacation in a heartbeat! Please note, the parking is $25/day to park in the hotel ramp, so be sure to include this in your budget.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyfulwkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
237 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

The valet service was extremely prompt and helpful and the service from front desk staff extremely friendly. I really liked the bar and dining options at this hotel. Location was central to most everything downtown. The rooms were clean and well appointed but definitely not over the top. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again at the right price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tpharkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

For rooms that cost over 200.00 a night, I would have expected a lot nicer room than I stayed in. The door connecting the rooms had the laminate hanging off it, as did the entrance door to the room. There was left over bottle caps on the floor. We didn't use the towels that were stacked on the shelves in the bathrooms because the shelves had so much dust on them, I doubt the towels were very clean. The bellhop couldn't get one of the lights near the bed to go on. The bathrobe in the room was torn on the shoulder. So over all, the rooms definitely need updating and the cleaning staff needs to do a better job cleaning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsnynana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear dsnynana,

I truly appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. It was nice to hear you like our friendly staff. However, please accept my sincerest apologies for any difficulties that you may have encountered during your stay with us. I am sorry if the housekeeping service and state of the door was less than satisfactory. Rest assured your comments are valued and aid in the improvement of our services and amenities.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I do hope we have opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#19 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#39 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Milwaukee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Milwaukee

Property: InterContinental Milwaukee
Address: 139 East Kilbourn Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Formerly Wyndham Milwaukee Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#20 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#27 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Milwaukee 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Milwaukee is the place to indulge your senses. Located along the Milwaukee Riverwalk, a vibrant stretch lined with parks, sculptures, restaurants and nightlife, the InterContinental Milwaukee places you in the centre of the downtown business and theatre districts. Discover the historic Pabst Theatre, the Milwaukee Art and Natural History Museums, or one of Milwaukee's many summer festivals. For a more leisurely tour of the city take a walk along Old World Third Street or in Cathedral Square Park, and don't forget to visit the Milwaukee Public Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Milwaukee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Milwaukee Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing