We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff was incredible!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Milwaukee
Ranked #26 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
South Setauket NY
2 reviews
“Staff was incredible!!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have to say without a doubt I have never been more pleased with the staff at a hotel The bell staff were so friendly and offered so many good suggestions as to where to go and where to find the best meals. The desk staff were also went above and beyond. The were kind, courteous and very helpful. The rooms were clean, cool and very comfortable . I have no complaints and will recommend Intercontinenial to all my family an friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terryr795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    316
    194
    64
    43
See reviews for
148
398
50
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Completed another stay at Intercon for a wedding. Multiple stays and always a terrific experience. Doesn't have the brand name of Pfister but rooms and space are modern; cleaner. Service is outstanding. Doormen and valets really go out of their way. They take a lot of pride in the hotel but it's not over the top or fake. Handle large groups realy well. The onsite restaurants are good. Easy walk down to the river and good restaurants on both Water St and Old Third World St. Def recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicknyc2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Can only say what has been repeated….Great Staff, Great Staff, Great Staff.
Yes the hotel could use an update, but I would put it more on the edge of just needing one.
However the level of the service from the staff made any shortcoming of the décor easily overlookable.
Lobby was well appointed and very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel when staying in Milwaukee

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chitownboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersville, Maryland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We arrived later than we had hoped and received great service from a bellman named Matt. He helped us to order tickets online for the Music festival and gave us great tips on how to enjoy the venue! The rate could not be beat and we had some of the best sleep away from home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chockel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kewaunee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

rooms are nothing special, we did not spend much time there so no big deal, clean and comfy beds. mini bar?, inventory way off. staff was very helpfull. not a very clean city, the milwaukee river is full of garbage and has a awfull smell to it. will not return, there is so much more out there for the high prices.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KewauneeBillybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I am so sorry you didn't experience any of the charm that is usually associated with Milwaukee. Thank you for the compliments about my staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This Hotel has a great location and great common areas. The valet and bell staff folks are excellent. The problem with this hotel is the rooms. Dirty, worn, rooms in dis-repair are the norm. This hotel is in desperate need of an upgrade. Torn carpet, mold ridden – dirty baths, filthy dirty drapes are to be expected.

Inter-continental should be ashamed of these rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MacHueg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Every guest's opinion is taken into account as we look to the future in meeting the many needs of a busy hotel. I do appreciate the kind words about the staff and common areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

There was not one person working here that you could fault. Everyone was attentive and eager to please. Whether business or pleasure this certainly ranks tops for service. A complimentary basket of crackers/cheese/sausage awaited us.

There is no turndown service which one could expect at a hotel of this quality. Some furniture was chipped and a bathtub had rusting. Soundproofing is a problem. Walls were very thin and neighbors could be easily heard. Unfortunately, we had VERY noisy neighbors. Although security was quick to act, their continued conversation still permeated the walls. Desk staff got us into another room for our next night and we were settled by 10AM along with a complimentary breakfast; nicely done! If you are interested in a view don't accept a back room. It does have full sun but is right above a gravel roof. Rooms on the 5th floor are right at roof level which can be disconcerting.

Self-parking at $25/night is a good option but might be too pricey for some. Good location: .5 mile walk to the Third Ward and just under a mile to the Milwaukee Art Museum.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edwers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for the many kudos on the staff's performance and mentioning the convenience of our location. We are aware, of course, of the need of updating and unfortunately the progress is never as fast as we would like it to be. I am delighted to know your needs we met with quick responses and hope we have the pleasure of your company again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Milwaukee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Milwaukee

Property: InterContinental Milwaukee
Address: 139 E Kilbourn Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202-3125 (Formerly Wyndham Milwaukee Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#20 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#27 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Milwaukee 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Milwaukee is the place to indulge your senses. Located along the Milwaukee Riverwalk, a vibrant stretch lined with parks, sculptures, restaurants and nightlife, the InterContinental Milwaukee places you in the centre of the downtown business and theatre districts. Discover the historic Pabst Theatre, the Milwaukee Art and Natural History Museums, or one of Milwaukee's many summer festivals. For a more leisurely tour of the city take a walk along Old World Third Street or in Cathedral Square Park, and don't forget to visit the Milwaukee Public Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Milwaukee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Milwaukee Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing