We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Well Done” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Milwaukee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
InterContinental Milwaukee
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Milwaukee
Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well Done”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel has a modern contemporary vibe with smooth, clean architecture in relaxing hughes. The staff from doorman to waiter are incredibly attentive and courteous. I was there during the week but the lobby indoor/outdoor bar with bocce looked like a fun place to hang out. A coworker told me the rooms were tiny but mine was HUGE with a beautiful view of the performing arts center accross the street.

My trip was for business. I checked in at the end of a 16 hour workday. Tired and hungry my energy level matched my hope for a good dining experience. Needing to work after dinner just couldn't explore to find a local place (which are usually better and more afordable than the hotel). The restaurant was AMAZING. Warm rolls, special butter, perfectly fresh salad with dressing, impecable entree...it was EXACTLY what I needed. The next morning I had a 7 a.m. conference call. Up at 5:30 a.m. I ordered oatmeal brulee and coffee to wake up. If someone here offers you oatmeal brulee-you say yes PLEASE!

The chair in the room and the bathroom tub are a little dated but the overall room was clean and safe feeling.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorkorSpaStay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    309
    186
    59
    39
See reviews for
142
388
47
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last weekend during an outing for work. The valet parking was a nice touch to start our stay. Brad, our valet, was very friendly and efficient. We then had drinks at the bar which is a very comfortable place to hang out. The Guiness was great.

The bed was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep in a quiet room. All in all, a great place for a special outing.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I spent one night at this hotel in connection with a conference. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, with a nice welcome at check-in. I stayed in an executive room; it was large and divided into a bedroom and sitting section - more like a mini-suite. The hotel was very quiet and comfortable, and well located. There is a Starbucks located diagonally across from the hotel - good for a quick breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RFSAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Big, bright room overlooking Red Arrow Park Ice Skating Rink. Plenty of room for the two of us with a king bed, desk, sitting area with two chairs and big screen television and very clean. Chocolate covered strawberries and a bottle of champagne were waiting for us to celebrate our anniversary downtown Milwaukee. The hotel staff was super friendly and very accommodating. The concierge, Catherina Matthews, was beyond helpful with our dinner plans and entertainment, continually updating us regarding events going on around town. We walked across the street and went ice skating under the lights on the frigid Friday night we were there. Then came back to CLEAR and enjoyed their chocolate bar; a sweet touch! We had dinner at the Rumpus Room just down the street (plenty of dining options), took in a show, had one of the best brunches ever at Kilawat, walked around the Third Ward and enjoyed casual cocktails at The Wicked Hop. There sure was plenty to do and see; we thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and area!

Room Tip: Corner suite on a higher floor overlooking the skating rink was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JinGermantown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
334 reviews
301 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel itself is nice. The staff are superb. The bellman, the desk clerks - all excellent.

The rooms are a little goofy - a small sitting area with a narrow corridor leading back to the bed. The bedroom was small - just enough room to walk around the bed. However it was quiet and comfortable. Just a poor use of space (unless you want a separate sitting area).

The hotel restaurant food was excellent. The Pfister may be slightly better but this is a solid second choice and usually a better value.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank sbccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunter, TX
Level Contributor
176 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Big rooms with nice views of the river or downtown. Lots of cool things within walking distance during nice weather, and a good bar for when the weather is bad. Room service was good and the staff is real good. Nice parking garage which makes things real easy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarnivoreGunter_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Intercontinental turned out to be a wonderful place to stay. The hotel was lovely — a great room with a view and decadent chocolate bar and live music on Friday night. But I REALLY liked the location. It was within walking distance to so much of what Milwaukee has to offer. We walked to the Riverwalk, Art Museum, Third Ward, Old World and Brady Street. Plus it has a top notch restaurant right on the premises, Kil@wat. The very best oatmeal ever and dinner was truly gourmet. Plus, the hotel staff could not have been nicer. The server in the lounge even hunted down horseradish to honor my request to have the bartender make me a bloody mary just the way I like it. Just right. This is the place for me when visiting Milwaukee.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#17 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#15 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
#27 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Milwaukee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Milwaukee

Property: InterContinental Milwaukee
Address: 139 East Kilbourn Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Formerly Wyndham Milwaukee Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#20 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#26 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Milwaukee 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Milwaukee is the place to indulge your senses. Located along the Milwaukee Riverwalk, a vibrant stretch lined with parks, sculptures, restaurants and nightlife, the InterContinental Milwaukee places you in the centre of the downtown business and theatre districts. Discover the historic Pabst Theatre, the Milwaukee Art and Natural History Museums, or one of Milwaukee's many summer festivals. For a more leisurely tour of the city take a walk along Old World Third Street or in Cathedral Square Park, and don't forget to visit the Milwaukee Public Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Milwaukee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Milwaukee Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing