We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Stay In Milwaukee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Milwaukee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Milwaukee
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice Stay In Milwaukee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great location in this modern hotel along the river. Walkable to just about anywhere in central part of the city, and is great for both business travel or a weekend at summerfest. Rooms were comfortable, clean and well appointed. The lobby, is well done, and has a nice bar. Service is top notch. Parking does not appear to is be part of the hotel and in another part of the building complex. Though it can be pricey, it is a hotel I would recommend to out of town guests, and would return here again.

Room Tip: I like higher room and a view towards the old city hall.. but everyone has their opinion..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TGG312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    296
    164
    55
    38
See reviews for
135
363
45
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed in this hotel Labor Day weekend – on a quick holiday trip from Chicago. The hotel location was very good – right on the riverwalk – with easy access to restaurants and downtown without a car. The parking garage is a little bit of a hassle. It does not appear to be owned by the hotel itself so parking directions were confusing and it was almost entirely full when we got there. We did not get the car out each day – but if you wanted to do so you might find it somewhat inconvenient.

We had after dinner drinks in the lobby bar (called CLEAR) a few nights in a row, and our server was quick to remember us. The lobby and bar have a nice clubby feel and some great changing lighting – the whole place certainly feels bustling. There were a few weddings taking place during our stay –so there seemed to be constant stream of crying bridesmaids and drunk groomsmen filling the elevators, bar, halls and lobby. It wasn't an imposition - you just have to be up for that sort of thing. One thing I enjoyed was a weekend chocolate buffet they set up at the bar. It was very well done, and you could select just a few dessert truffles to have with your drink.

We did have the opportunity to use the gym during our stay - which was fine with a few machine and towels and water. We were very impressed with the size of our room, as it had a whole separate sitting area with a second TV a couch and a coffee table. It was a perfect place for planning our day and using the wifi, which worked well. I was pretty under-whelmed with the quality of room cleaning, which occurred after 6pm each day and was nothing more than a hurried pulling up of the bed sheets. Throw pillows remained on the floor and the bathroom was not touched – we were forced to get new shampoo from the concierge downstairs. Aside from that – no other complaints and we ended our weekend with a lovely (and pretty reasonably priced) room service breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EastCoaster36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here for our wedding night. As soon as we checked in we were upgraded to a better room- we were originally told we'd have 2 queen beds(not romantic) but without asking they gave us a king bed suite! the Bed was super comfy:) The hotel staff helped us with guests that were also staying there and with how to get around downtown. Breakfast was also great! nothing like tasty room service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsay b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The bell staff, Joshua Hunt, was curtious and professional. He went above and beyond the normal to make sure our stay was a pleasant one. He always remembered our name from the first night of our stay and had our car ready with in minutes of your request to retrieve the vehicle.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed on a Friday night, I could hear the conversion of the room next door perfectly clear very annoying considering they were still talking at 2 am. Bed was comfortable, breakfast was wonderful and not too pricey. A bit annoyed that I was not acknowledged as a priority club member considering this is an upscale hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merelymagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for the positive comments in light of your concerns. I will make a very deliberate segment in our next meeting/training refreshing the importance of recognizing club status. As for the noise next door, always call the front desk when this occurs. We have a few ways we can deal with this type of problem that can assure a comfortable stay for all guests We appreciate your business and your taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The stand out for this hotel is the incredible staff. Every single encounter I had with staff was customer service oriented, pro-active, positive and helpful. The lobby and bar area are tasteful and the room was quite large. I would agree with others re: bathroom could be modernized but overall this was an excellent value. A huge thanks to the staff!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chajrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
I will be giving our staff three big cheers at our next meeting. There is nothing better than sharing a review like this with them. This review is a great example to take into training on how important they are so I thank you for taking the time to write this. I am delighted you enjoyed some of the amenities at our hotel and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel really is lovely. It is a short walk to Lake Michigan, Shopping areas downtown, and has all of the amenities. The stand out for me was the level of service. Staff were very courteous, respectful, and helpful. The bed had a goosedown pillow top that was so soft and comfortable. The bar area near the lobby is a great place to hang out with friends, and there were nightly happy hours.

Room Tip: If I stayed there again, I would ask fo ra street view, rather than a view of the rooftop of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
All areas of our industry are important in making guests feel special when they are away from home; however, we believe it begins with service. Much time is spent in training personnel in this area; so, it was with utmost pleasure I read this review. I do believe the decision to add the goosedown pillow top was at the top of many of our guests lists. I hope we have the pleasure of your company again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#17 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 1,197 reviews
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#18 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Milwaukee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Milwaukee

Property: InterContinental Milwaukee
Address: 139 E Kilbourn Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202-3125 (Formerly Wyndham Milwaukee Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#20 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#27 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Milwaukee 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Milwaukee is the place to indulge your senses. Located along the Milwaukee Riverwalk, a vibrant stretch lined with parks, sculptures, restaurants and nightlife, the InterContinental Milwaukee places you in the centre of the downtown business and theatre districts. Discover the historic Pabst Theatre, the Milwaukee Art and Natural History Museums, or one of Milwaukee's many summer festivals. For a more leisurely tour of the city take a walk along Old World Third Street or in Cathedral Square Park, and don't forget to visit the Milwaukee Public Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Milwaukee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Milwaukee Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing