We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good own own hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Milwaukee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
InterContinental Milwaukee
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Milwaukee
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
449 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Very good own own hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Great downtown location. Hotel has a little mileage on it, but very comfortable. Service excellent, upbeat, cheerful, including Bell staff, Front Desk, Room, Maid, and Banquet. Pricing reasonable. Look forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: As high as you can get to lessen street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VacaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
I love it when I get to read all that is great about us...and you gave me much to smile about. As for the mileage, we are looking and working hard at updating. It is always the greatest compliment for someone to tell us they are looking forward to their next visit. We look forward to the pleasure of your company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    311
    190
    61
    39
See reviews for
142
394
48
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

The first room they gave me had been poorly serviced and the bed had a huge puddle of pee, which luckly I noticed before unpacking or touching it. I called the maid which said that "she did not noticed it before". Later they sent someone else over to double check before offering us another room. Since I was tired and the second room seemed fine I let it be. Later I faced a few problems such as the room serviced after 4pm, very dirty behind the bed (looking desperately for an outlet to charge my iphone), problems with tv in room. Overall, I think its just a normal business hotel, the location is good with a park in front and one or two restaurants worth checking out, including the one in the hotel. But the room/cleaning problems during my stay dropped the rating for me.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank shadowsc133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear shadowsc133,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered over the cleanliness of the rooms. Thank you for alerting us and bringing this matter to our attention. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Nice room, great location, attentive lobby service. More or less walking distance from the lake, art museum, etc. as well as close to the river. Not a lot of retail and the downtown is fairly dead -- handy for a quiet night's sleep!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eindave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for all the positive comments on the hotel. Actually most of the time there is a lot going on downtown...make sure you check in with our concierge, Lee, who knows positively everything about downtown MKE. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

My wife and I decided to spend a weekend in Milwaukee, and got a good rate at the Intercontinental. The room was very nice, as was the entire property. There was plenty to see and do in the immediate area, in fact, an art fair was in progress right across the street during our stay. we were out and about alot, and with the variety of available dining venues available nearby, we did not have dinner in. We did, however, have breakfast- it was wonderful! We both had the benedict oscar. Fresh crabmeat, avocado, wow! It was exceptional, I I feel it was a steal at $12.00 per person. I'd go back just for breakfast!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
So happy you chose us for your getaway and that we were able to provide such a nice experience. Our location is exceptional and there is always lots to do any time of year. I hope you will come back the next time you need to getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marfa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed for 5 days. Super tall ceilings in the room gave feeling of lots of space. The lobby bar and the restaurant are both great - felt like a break from the city. There was an error on the bill - these things happen - but the IC staff was both courteous and professional. They fixed the mistake and made up for it very nicely. This is not the case at other hotels. FYI - I reserve 5 stars for the most exceptional stays - so the 4 star is very good.

Room Tip: The King Deluxe is only about $20 more than a stnd room - a lot more space.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vilis I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
So delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Mistakes do happen, and I thank you for being so understanding and mentioning our staff being quick to respond in correcting it. Thank you also for mentioning the restaurant as they work hard at providing the kind of food and service that is expected. I will make sure to share this review. Looking forward to seeing you next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk Va
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

I would highly recommend staying at this lovely hotel when visiting Milwaukee. The hotel is immaculately clean and well furnished. Best of all are the staff who are proactive to help guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NavyGuy337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for paying particular attention to the staff. They work hard at meeting guests' expectations. It is gratifying to hear their efforts gain notice. We hope the next time you are in town we have the pleasure of serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

I have stayed many times at the InterCon Milwaukee. They know me by name. The rooms are nice and I almost always get an upgrade. It's a great location, clean and the service is very nice. It's close to the lake and lots of great walking/running is available. The restaurant is nice too. It's a great place to stay for the business traveler.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifertucker, Manager at InterContinental Milwaukee, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
It is always such a pleasure to know we are chosen by travelers as the place they wish to return to when in town. Thank you for all the compliments and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#18 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#40 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Milwaukee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Milwaukee

Property: InterContinental Milwaukee
Address: 139 East Kilbourn Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Formerly Wyndham Milwaukee Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#20 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#27 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Milwaukee 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Milwaukee is the place to indulge your senses. Located along the Milwaukee Riverwalk, a vibrant stretch lined with parks, sculptures, restaurants and nightlife, the InterContinental Milwaukee places you in the centre of the downtown business and theatre districts. Discover the historic Pabst Theatre, the Milwaukee Art and Natural History Museums, or one of Milwaukee's many summer festivals. For a more leisurely tour of the city take a walk along Old World Third Street or in Cathedral Square Park, and don't forget to visit the Milwaukee Public Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Milwaukee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Milwaukee Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing