We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel for bikers, close to Harley Davidson Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iron Horse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great hotel for bikers, close to Harley Davidson Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

My husband and I traveled by motorcycle from Iowa to Wisconsin for leisure and to tour the Harley Davidson Museum. The Iron Horse Hotel is only a two minute ride from the museum. It is a beautiful hotel with lots of special features. Our room was ready at the 3 p.m. check-in time. It was spacious, comfortable, and nice ammenities including H2O toiletries. The hotel provides covered parking for motorcycles and has special packages for cyclists, but we opted for a king room only. Staff were friendly, the hotel was very clean and trendy. The room had a good variety of liquor (Patron), drinks and snack items, but I missed not having normal desk accessories like pen and paper. We didn't eat at the hotel's restaurants, but did enjoy a cocktail in the outdoor lounge, The Yard, which was absolutely beautiful at night with fire pits set into boulders and a view of the 6th St. Bridge. I ordered a breakfast to go of cinnamon rolls and a bagel with cream cheese. I didn't know until we were on the road that the server did not include a knife for the cream cheese or napkins, so a little hard to spread the cream cheese. At $4 a shot, would have been nice to include these items. By the time taxes, etc. were added to the room charge, it was a little steep, but worth it to be close to the museum as it sits just on the fringe of what appears to be a shady part of town. The Iron Horse is worth a visit if you are in Milwaukee and visiting the H-D Museum.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,133
    196
    38
    17
    10
See reviews for
151
677
59
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

I stayed at the Iron Horse for one night when my 3 friends and I decided to take a trip up North (from Chicago) to Milwaukee to see Aziz Ansari perform. At first from the outside the hotel seemed unassuming ,but at first look through the glass doors I could tell that it was going to be a pretty posh place (as the pictures from the website suggested). The man who was working the reception/check-in desk was awesome! He was super friendly, helpful and genuinely seemed interested in our reason for travel as well with helping us with whatever we needed. It didn't hurt that as soon as we stepped to the desk we were given complimentary cocktails!!
The room itself was really great as well! The beds were comfortable, the place was spotless, it was upscale without being stuffy and the shower/bathroom was AMAZING! Everything modern with an artistic touch and high end finishes.
We visited the bar (branded) for cocktails and appetizers before heading out to the show. The food was really good (especially for bar food). I was surprised at how good the mussels were (it was enough for a full meal for 1 person) and also the kobe/crab sliders - If I had $32 to drop on a burger I probably would have gotten the full portion.
They also have this gorgeous outdoor patio but unfortunately the weather was poor and we were unable to enjoy.
This is a definitely must stay while in Milwaukee!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanBlairB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

From the valet parking (pretty much required and $25/night) to the maids we encountered, everybody was extremely friendly and made us feel genuinely welcomed. Our third floor room overlooked a railroad track, but I barely heard the trains most of the time (earplugs were provided but I didn't use them). The room had a huge wall of windows, so lots of natural light. There were easily accesible outlets all over room. The bathroom featured a shower with floor to ceiling translucent glass panels and a "rain" showerhead. We had pre-dinner drinks in the Branded bar (inside bar) and later on in the evening we stopped at the Yard bar (outdoor - with comfy couches) for a nightcap. Both bars were cool with a wide selection of beers, reasonable priced wines by the glass, and hard liquors. Had breakfast in the Library - I thought my omelette was great, hubby said his was overcooked. Did not try the main restaurant. Within easy walking distance of the Harley museum - across the bridge and decent walking distance to the Third Ward area - bars/shops/bistros, etc. Would definately consider staying here again if I'm ever back in Milwaukee.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Absolute 1st class service...as good as any 5 star hotel I've stayed at. The rooms were large, very clean (fantastic bed), immaculate bathroom and really interesting decor. I generally don't get too worked up about a hotel, but this place was great. It's set in a really cool old building, but the inside is brand new. I get the feeling the people who work there really care about doing a good job and providing excellent, friendly service. The bed was incredibly comfortable, I have to call them back and find out what mattresses they use so I can buy one for my bed at home. There's a young, cool vibe at the bar and restaurants (outdoor and indoor) without any pretension. I went on business but took my wife. She loved it too. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJNfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

This hotel has character! The interior lobby and the rooms are very well designed and unique. Highly recommend this hotel. The outside bar is a great place to meet friends for a drink.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel5612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

I just arrived and I am blown away by the urban-chic atmosphere. Cool lobby, and cool rooms.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriBNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

We spent five nights at the Iron Horse Hotel. It was my second visit in less than a year. This time I brought the family. The hotel has a chic upscale vibe that everyone loved. The hotel staff is friendly, helpful and very service oriented. When our TV did not work, they immediately sent someone up to fix it. After acknowledging that it would require the on demand movie supplier to address the problem they comped us breakfast. Not a bad trade off.

The Library where breakfast is served offers books and games that the kids enjoyed. The Harley Museum next door offers a great diversion for the whole family, as does seeing a Brewer game just 5 minutes away at Miller Park. During the summer having dinner or lunch outside at The Yard is the perfect spot to people watch and get some sun.

This hotel beats the chain hotels and offers a welcome change from the Pfister, one of the few top rated hotels in Milwaukee.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NestEggTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,631 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#4 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 821 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#13 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Property: Iron Horse Hotel
Address: 500 W Florida St, Milwaukee, WI 53204-1534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing