We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great if you bring your dog.”
Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iron Horse Hotel
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2010

I stayed in a King Lofted room on the 6th floor (top floor) facing south. The room was clean with nice appointments. not overly sapcious, but the lofted ceiling made it seem larger. The biggest problem was the train noise. The trains do go by slowly at night, but you can still hear them.

The location is good, but not great. You are about 8-9 blocks from the Old Third Ward.

Parking was interesting. They park your car about 15 paces from the front door, where there is also street parking. As others have mentioned, it is $25/day. I would advise you to save your money and walk the 1/2 block to the street parking.

We had an appetizer and drinks in the Yard (outdoor lounge) this is a fantastic place during the evenings. The furniture is extremely comfortable, and you can bring your dog down to join you. The prices of the martini's were a little steep ($13-$15). Beer was $4 for domestics. We ordered the overpriced and average spinach dip. DO NOT ORDER THIS. It was $17 and served with crutons essentially. Way overpriced.

Overall I would say this is great choice if you are traveling with your dog or if you plan to visit the Harley museum just over the bridge. If you do go with your dog plan to have drinks in the Yard around or just after sunset.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MastermindDSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,448 - 1,454 of 1,635 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2010

My husband and I have stayed in this hotel several times and usually stay here when we are in Milwaukee. It's a cool, edgy hotel with a very non-pretentious hip vibe. We have stayed in almost every kind of room, including a double with our 3-year son (they only have pack and plays, no cribs FYI), Corner Alcove King, and standard king room. I have learned that while charming, not all rooms are created equal. Avoid the second floor all together if you don't want to be awakened by the lobby/bar/restaurant noise - they are exposed to the open balcony overlooking the lobby - with the exception of the corner king alcove rooms, but they are also still a bit noisier. Also, you can book a corner king alcove and have a room that has a door you walk into with a private little hallway and then another door to your room - you share that hallway with the other room which can be used for adjoining OR you just get a regular room door that opens directly into your room. I didn't know there were two style rooms under the exact same category which was a bit of a let down since I like it to be very quiet when I sleep and enjoy that extra hallway and door to block out noise (and pay for it).
I debated listing this as a 3 star after our visit this past weekend. I walked into an extremely stale and funky smelling room (corner king alcove (no little extra hallway)). The concierge that brought up my Desires welcome gift (their frequent visitor club) agreed with my assessment of the smell stating it smelled like "old wet towels". They gave me a free drink at the bar while they sprayed some scented stuff in the room and then after I asked the front desk if my room was ready yet, since it had been about 30 minutes I had been waiting, they called housekeeping and said it was ready. I got back to my room and it smelled better - but just like air freshener, which the following day disappeared but the stink did not. I also noticed something that looked like makeup smeared across the "clean robe" hanging in our bathroom. Very disappointing considering I paid $650 for my two night stay and would expect more.
I decided to give the 4 star review given this being an isolated incident and I have had positive interactions with staff, including the bar and at Smyth.
Room service was nice but there wasn't a breakfast menu on our room so we just basically ordered based on what we remember having at Smyth's brunch during another stay and asking if they had xxx.
By the way, there needs to be more vegetarian options on both the bar and Smyth menus. I found two things to eat. Smyth is a bit overpriced for what you get, and I'm not oppose to paying for a great meal - but I want it to live up to the bill.
Parking is either street (not the most secure area) or you pay $25 for valet - a little overpriced.
If you have a dog, this is your place. They not only allow all sizes of them, the pamper them.
Location is not in the prime area but nearby, but you will need to drive everywhere or hire a taxi.
Another option while in Milwaukee is the newly remodeled Intercontinental with an impressive lobby, but moderate rooms - or the Hotel Metro, which has a moderate lobby and restaurant, but nice rooms. I still like the overall experience at the Iron Horse and most likely will be back - I'll just try to be a little more insistent on getting what I want and pay for.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HinChgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

I am surprised that some people are disappointed with the Iron Horse Hotel, especially the person stating that "real bikers" aren't welcomed there. Just what IS the definition of a "real biker?" I and a friend attended the Harley Women Riders weekend and traveled almost 1,100 miles, on our bikes, to get to Milwaukee and had the best time ever! Between the rally, the Harley Museum, the great riding, and all the friendly people we met, the Iron Horse was THE best place we could have ever stayed. The staff could not have been more helpful and went out of their way to accommodate us. The food was great as were the cocktails. Our room, on the 6th floor, was spectacular, immaculate and large. I had to shake my head in disbelief at one woman's review where she complained about the mural of a woman in her room. I think it's a brilliant decorating idea. She must be a bit insecure or prudish to think it was inappropriate because all the art, sculptures and photos at the Iron Horse are very tasteful and not one bit offensive. I would never stay anywhere but the Iron Horse when in Milwaukee! It was the trip of a lifetime!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dyna05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We stayed at The Iron Horse one night during Summerfest. I was concerned about my stay there because it seemed like such a nice, boutique hotel and I would be bringing my infant child along with a babysitter.
I called ahead to confirm that the hotel was baby friendly and was offered a crib, a pull-out couch for the sitter, and help sourcing anything I would need for my baby during the stay.
My husband and I were incredibly impressed by the decor and the service of this place. Everything was perfect from the friendly staff to the eclectic and comfortable furnishings. We did not feel at all out of place with our young baby as we hung out in The Yard, walked the neighborhood, and visited with staff members.
I was so impressed with every aspect of this hotel and the fact that they were so accommodating for my young family was just icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lacey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

We've travelled the USA for 14 years. The Iron Horse is by far the finest hotel we have stayed at so far! The loft rooms (booked early for a 30% discount) are stunning. Exposed brickwork, high ceilings, huge photographic wall murals and marble tops. A real treat (don't know if this every night) is the complimentary glass of vodka and lemonade at check-in! A lovely touch. Some reviews have commented on its location - worry not, it's moments from Grand Place (the shopping area) and minutes from the lake. The Harley-Davidson is literally over the bridge. The patio bar area (which runs round the side of the hotel) is an oasis despite the regular growl of Harleys pulling up! So 100% success? No. Two quibbles: $24 dollars for 'valet parking' (a parking lot round the other side of the hotel`) is something they should take a serious look at. And the wi-fi (granted it's free) is a little flaky. Mere quibbles though - treat yourself, move away from the lake and enjoy Milwaukee's finest retreat to rest your head!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DumDumBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Not since the earth cooled did turning 50 feel this wonderful! From the minute the hot valet greeted us we felt welcomed. Everyone seemed to know it was a very special occasion and were genuinely excited for me. Ruth at the front desk was a vision and completely on top of things, I knew I had left my cares at home.
10 of our friends joined us for drinks and dinner were blown away with the suite we had, (Chad Clausen the rooms manager knows how to run the floor!!) it's unique and sophisticated style, expansive layout and of course the view Milwaukee's magnificent Lakefront was one HUGE WOW!!
The Chef came out to meet me for heavens sake! Chef Schultz is a culinary Chihuly!
And don't even get me started on Troy Molen the Symth manager...perfection!
The "Yard" was a blast after dinner, great music, the weather was perfect, and the drinks..
tasted like nectar from the Gods!
I never wanted to leave...really..the staff is like family now. Thank You ALL!
# 51 Bring it ON ! I'll just enjoy it at the Iron Horse Hotel Milwaukee, Wi

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjplecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

There is no doubt in my mind that this is the single best hotel in Milwaukee... I travel extensively for work and I've stayed in the finest hotels in the country and this one tops them all. The service here is unmatched... the staff even went so far as to run to the pharmacy for me when I was sick!!! The rooms are gorgeous and HUGE!! Customer service and comfort is clearly a priority here...no expense is spared in making every quest feel right at home. I've never felt so welcome and so at home in a hotel. I truly recommend this hotel to anyone who plans a visit to Milwaukee. I can't see how or why anyone would give this hotel anything other than a perfect review. I LOVE this place and I'm sure you will too, :)

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lola312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,926 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#7 of 56 in Milwaukee
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Address: 500 W Florida St, Milwaukee, WI 53204-1534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range: $208 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing