We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food in the bar, clean room, and comfy bed”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iron Horse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food in the bar, clean room, and comfy bed”
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Title pretty much says it all. Stayed there a few days and it was great. Friendly staff and great stay.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jersey_Shoretown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,183
    204
    38
    17
    12
See reviews for
158
701
62
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
156 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

I travel frequently for work and pleasure, and have stayed in 1,000+ hotels during my lifetime. I LOVE the Iron Horse. It is probably one of my 5 favorite hotels - ever. The hotel is hip and comfortable, in a beautifully restored 100 year old warehouse. They have preserved the beautiful brick and solid pine beams nicely. The staff is incredibly friendly and attentive. The bar is "happening". The restaurant is wonderful with really outstanding food. The rooms are clean, comfortable, tastefully decorated and have excellent beds. This is a wonderfully executed hip, trendy upscale hotel. If you want one of the posh, luxury "top-shelf" name brands, this isn't for you. If you want a fun place and great experience, I absolutely recommend the Iron Horse. It is my favorite hotel in Milwaukee, and a lot of other cities, too ...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling-Buckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2010

I travel to Milwaukee two or three times a year and have stayed in many downtown hotels. The best - by far - is the Iron Horse... a real gem!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vdlmadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpentersville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Stayed there for only one night, unfortunately, but I will definately be back. Decor was awesome and the staff was more than willing to help with anything we could have needed.

Location is also good, within walking distance to the downtown area. Parking could have been better (ended up parking on the street of an industrial area), but hey, it was free. They do offer valet for $25.00, but i literally parked within 100" of the hotel for free.

Pet friendly, I was pleased to see a doggie bowl with water and treats-made me miss my dog who was at home.

Restaurant and bar looked inviting, although we did not get a chance to visit them.

Also, ran out of hot water by 10 am, which was kind of disappointing, but not enough to warrent any negative feedback.

Thanks Ironhorse, I'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank appompa255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

You know how when you find something great you want to share it only with your close friends because you don't want all the other junkies spoil it for you?? Yeah, this is that place. As great as it is, I'd hate to run into it being sold out! I have been staying at the Iron Horse Hotel for about a year now. Probably hovering around my tenth stay. They have created an atmosphere which is edgy and chill at the same time. The staff is always VERY attentive from Kira to Jay to Graham. I just feel so welcome there. It's Milwaukee's Gem and a destination as much as a hotel. Smyth restaurant on premises is top notch. The bar area has a road house feel minus the cheesy, peanuts and lite beer. It's sophisticated on levels of design and spirits. I give this hotel high marks. Now if we can just move the railroad!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank f1orchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Spa was excellent. Valet and Front Desk were helpful & friendly. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 99chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati,OH
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

This was a very neat hotel, clean and new. Excellant service, and a caring attittude.
The restraunt was very good and very good service, cant say it was the best reatraunt in town, but one one of the best hotel restraunts i'vd eaten at.
It has a lively lobby, and bar scene, with a lot of locals of all ages.
It is a cab ride to get anywhere, but just a short ride 5 minutes or less to anywhere.
I found Milwaukee to be a very friendly town, I was impressed. Downtown was fun and not scary like some downtowns. We had a great time. Were were there for the NCAA basketball tourney. You will not regret staying here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liberty7734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,794 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 56 in Milwaukee
886 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#10 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Property: Iron Horse Hotel
Address: 500 W Florida St, Milwaukee, WI 53204-1534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing