We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, Modern, and Chic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iron Horse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, Modern, and Chic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

My partner & I were bowled over by this place from start to finish. The decor was modern and elegent without feeling fragile or fussy like modern interiors sometimes can. The room and finishings were wonderful, and the staff helpful and courteous. Had fun prowling around downstairs.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanKaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,178
    204
    38
    17
    12
See reviews for
158
700
60
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

A fantastic 'biker' hotel-free parking for bikes-with security!!-every need attended to professionally, with friendly, knowledgeable service. Louis and his staff went way beyond in making sure our group of 16 Canadian bikers was looked after in every way-the staff is great -helpful with every touristy question- even the hotel tour is worth it!! We all want to return and stay for longer-this is what a hotel should be like from attention to decor and needs of clients -lovely rooms -to great food and variety of venues - well done!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bikers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois - USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

1) great staff --I was very impressed with two individuals Interacted with when I had an issue with noise ---they did everything they could to solve the problem without making me feel as if I was imposing on them.... "we want to enjoy your stay and we realize that noise can be an issue for some guests... we will move you to another room and you can let us know if you think it will work for you. The other room worked; problem solved.
2) Clean.
3) Nice design - personally it was not my preferred type of design but it was very nicely done - the bathrooms are probably the highlight of the room.
4) Convenient area if you have a car (or motorcycle) -- not a great area if you plan on walking. It is in a warehouse district that is a very short ride to downtown (about 5 mintues) - for those who like to walk, you could walk to downtown and it is in walking distance to the restaurants in the Third Ward --- but even though it is safe to walk in the area, it is not a pedestrian filled area and may feel a little desolate especially at night. Valet parking was $20/day but we found easy parking about a block away.
5) In the cold months (that's about 9 months out of the year in Milwaukee) sound should not be an issue-- but the first night we were on the south side of the building and we heard the cars and motorcycles coming and going all night.... i woke up to a motorcyclist revving their engine at about 3:00 am. The West side of the building could also be loud in the summer because of the popular outdoor bar.. if you are sound sensitive like me, this is something that you really need to be aware of . There is a train track close to the North side of the building but the trains go by infrequently, so I don't think that would be an issue.
6) Very attractive alternative to the other hotels in Milwaukee which are mostly Chains.
7) If you are a into Harleys or motorcycles in general, you are likely to enjoy the hotel even more since it has a motorcycle theme and you will be likely to meet up with others who are into Harleys.
8) Would I stay here again? Definitely... but I would be very careful to make sure I got a quiet room on the North or East side if staying there in the summer. If you are not sound sensitive, that should not be an issue.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

This was our first (but certainly not our last) stay at the Iron Horse Hotel. The staff was extremely personable, courteous, and knowledgeable about the area. The bar (and hors d’ oeuvres) were excellent, as was the outdoor patio with its view of downtown and neighboring Harley Davidson museum. The unique room and high-quality amenities enhanced our romantic and relaxing stay. We’ll definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank outnabout25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

This place is so different, we loved it ! The motorcycle in the lobby was a great touch. It was nothing like the usual chain hotels. Our room was on the fourth floor so it had a lot of character and charm. It was spacious and very inviting. We loved the decorating style: rather contemporary with the old warehouse structure.
The service was friendly and impeccable everywhere in the hotel: front desk, bar, restaurant, valet. The food and drinks were really wonderful. We got the feeling that they really cared about us and that it was important to make us happy. We really hated to leave and look forward to going back again. It was a great experience that we highly recommend. Give it a try it’s a lot of fun.

Steve & Angela

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank puckdropper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

Beautiful hotel. A little expensive but well worth it for one or two nights!!! Very dog friendly ($50 surcharge per stay). We forgot our dog bowl and they had one handy. Only a short walk to the summerfest grounds. While we were at summerfest, we called the hotel to take our dog out to #1 - didn't charge us for that. Bar was well stocked but didn't use. Lunch at the bar and breakfast in the morning library didn't break the bank - about $11/person for each meal excluding drinks. Extremely clean! Staff very helpful! $25/night valet parking with 24hr in/out privileges.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tapdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

I Recently booked 3 rooms for a long birthday weekend, while the bar was fun and the rooms were ok, the front desk was disorganized and overcharged me for an entire mystery room that I didn't find out about until I got my credit card statement. When I called to complain I was rudely told the accounting department would get back to me. I am waiting on a resolution. Be really careful here ! I have stayed all over the world and never had a problem like this.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank potrerotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ironhorsehotel, Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2009
I sincerely apologize for the billing error which occurred during your stay in June. It is our goal to always be accurate and ethical in our billing practices. Your request to research occurred on a Holiday weekend Sunday afternoon where the front desk staff was not able to access previous records for security reasons. I apologize that the Accounting Department assistance was needed to process your request, but understand that is was complete by Sunday afternoon the same day. Please feel to contact us if you have any further questions, and again we apologize for our error.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#11 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#19 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Property: Iron Horse Hotel
Address: 500 W Florida St, Milwaukee, WI 53204-1534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing