We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"wow"”
Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iron Horse Hotel
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“"wow"”
Reviewed May 30, 2009

Loved this hotel. Our room was beautifully decorated. The front desk service was wonderful, there was a glitch with our bill and J and Jason assisted us and were very helpful and apologetic. They were very nice about the situation and quite amusing while helping us. All staff that we came in contact with were very friendly and greeted us.

The hotel is in walking distance of the Harley Davidson Museum. We did walk to the Riverfront area, but it was a distance. I don't think that I would walk it alone or at night though.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Milwaukee and stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyTChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,221
    209
    38
    17
    13
See reviews for
165
726
63
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2009

This hotel is 15 minutes from home, so it of course makes you wonder what could lure us to pay for a room down the road? Well, the Iron Horse has it all. We rode our motorcycles in and we were immediately welcomed by several staff out front. We were practically whisked off our feet by the friendly staff. Jay at the front desk was smiling and telling jokes. We felt we were at a friends luxury home not a hotel. Our rooms were amazing. Everything from the different color palettes and fabric textures were appealing. It was so clean and so well put together - I could have almost stayed in my room all night. We didn't however and went downstairs to enjoy some wine (great list) at Branded, the bar. I loved that they had the "garage door" open where you could float between the outdoors and the bar. We went to make sure our reservation was in the books for Smythe - it was and Troy assured us our table would be ready on time. We had been looking forward to seeing how Chef Tom's vision for Smythe would turn out. It did not disappoint. In fact, the atmosphere was warm and again whoever the decorators at this place were did an amazing job. The wines Troy paired with the different course Chef Tom offered were amazing. We found ourselves deferring to their judgment on everything and the four of us were elated! I know what I like to eat but I allowed myself to go with Chef Tom's recommendations and was thankful I did. Even now writing this I'm getting hungry! Do yourself a favor and eat here. Lexus, our waitress, offered us great service as well. For the remainder of the evening we drank wine in the hotel lobby which is the coolest lobby to hang out in - seriously. We played some cards listened to the DJ they had for the night and enjoyed the atmosphere. In the morning we had room service. Again the food and service were exceptional. The breakfast sausage was delicious! We went to the lobby to check out and I recognized all the same staff! I wondered if they ever left? They were as cheerful and chatty as ever. As we rode off on our motorcycles, I couldn't help but wish we had booked another night.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2009

What makes the Iron Horse Hotel wonderful is its staff. We got to know several of them during our stay, from the valet parking attendants to the front desk folks. Everyone was terrifically accommodating and friendly. The hotel rooms are gorgeous and have the most comfortable beds of any hotel room I have ever stayed in.

The required valet parking (at $25 per day!) was somewhat excessive, but at least they offer unlimited in-out privileges. Although the bathrooms are spacious and attractive, they offer little to no privacy due to the translucent wall and lack of shower door/curtain.

Overall, we would stay here again. The plusses outweigh the minuses. And as a tip, they don't charge the valet fee to park motorcycles, so we will probably take the bike next time.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ams199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Iron Horse on a Thursday night as a spur of the moment trip to Milwaukee. The room was masculine, but luxurious. We especially enjoyed the polite and attentive staff, the overall decor, and the wonderfully sinful Kobe mini corn dogs down in the bar. I would stay here again without a second thought.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spencersmom59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2009

We live in the Milwaukee suburbs so haven't stayed at the hotel... although we definitely plan to treat ourselves to that experience! We had previously dined at Branded and last night we had the pleasure of dining at Smyth. Milwaukee can be proud of this exceptional destination. The renovation, the decor and the staff are first rate. Everyone was so friendly and we were made to feel like we were truly welcome. We had called earlier in the day to request a reservation to dine at Smyth but were told nothing was available until later in the evening but were advised to check in with the Maitre'd upon our arrival. To our good forturne, they had had a no show. The food and the service were superb! We will definitely return and we will tell everyone we can about the wonderful experience we had. Iron Horse Hotel..... whatever you're doing, keep on doing it! Congratulations and best wishes for your continued success.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trialatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosinee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Went to Milwaukee early for a meeting & met up with a good friend for a girls-night out. Location was close to a Mexican area with several restaurants nearby. Not necessarily walking distance to downtown--especially in cold weather. Very fun, casual atmosphere. No breakfast included. Also, there was no full length mirror in the room. You could hear the train at night, but was not enough to be a annoying.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WILive2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

We were amazed by the attention to detail and the decor-but we arrived on a Friday night and the lobby was one big party. We escaped to a 5th floor room which was fortunately very quiet.
The "iron horse" theme was entertaining. It pertains to the trains and the motorcycles.
I was a bit taken aback at first at all the larger than life pictures of Milwaukee women (very seductively portrayed). Once I understood the story behind it, I was more at ease but I still found it a bit strange to have a gorgeous woman staring at us from the walls of the room.
The room was otherwise very upscale and we loved the bathroom also. The renovation was very well done and everything is meticulously thought out. The breakfast in the Library was fun although when families with children arrived it was chaotic due to the noise level and group tables.
All in all, it was fun and we enjoyed the experience for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paprikaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,834 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 56 in Milwaukee
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#13 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Property: Iron Horse Hotel
Address: 500 W Florida St, Milwaukee, WI 53204-1534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing