We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iron Horse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at the Iron Horse for our wedding night, and it was just wonderful! Everybody was so helpful, friendly, and laid back. We had a ton of stuff and everyone was so helpful. Juve (I am pretty sure that was his name) was so kind and helped with our many, many bags. We had a lot of family come for brunch the Sunday after the wedding and everyone loved it! It was such a neat spot and our waiter, Travis (I think), was great at accommodating our large group. Also, there was a great band on Sunday afternoon which was so much fun. I highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsM-7-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you so much for mentioning both Juve and Travis. They are amazing people who make both coworkers and guests happy. We are lucky to have them both. More importantly, congratulations and thank you for choosing to spend such an important time in your life with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,196
    206
    38
    17
    12
See reviews for
160
709
62
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
103 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

There is plenty of good things about this hotel... The aesthetic is great, the service fantastic, and the rooms do not disappoint though they are slightly over priced. The bathroom is large but without a tub... Be sure to ask for a city view room as all other directions are dire and leave one feeling you're somewhere less interesting than MKE... Our room faced the 'round about, above the entrance, and left me feeling, upon looking out the window, as if i were in one of the most desolate places on earth. And the outdoor seating area is located next to the entrance below us, where if a band was playing, as it was during our stay, you have the pleasure of what amounted to jug band music till mid-night... Food in the bar was fantastic as was the brunch buffet... I would stay here again, as there is nothing better in Milwaukee.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoshuaSims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We are pretty lucky to have our northern views face downtown Milwaukee and the Harley Museum. A little know fact about Milwaukee is that the southern part of Milwaukee (the side with the round about) has more steeples than anywhere else the world. It really is remarkable to see the skyline dotted with beautiful architecture from Milwaukee's rich history. Thank you for the review and I hope you will have the opportunity to come back to Milwaukee soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitelaw, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

After reading all the reviews, I guess I expected better. We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and looking for a special place to stay. Based on the descriptions of the rooms on the hotel's web site, we chose a premium loft. The room we stayed in was much smaller with a smaller bathroom with only one sink. There was only one chair with the table. Not the spacious furnished room we were expecting. I did call down to the desk, all they had to say is that we were on the loft floor and did not offer to move us. Would I have known this, I would have book a studio or a corner alcove. It wasn't about the money.
People did warn of the trains. We knew it was a pet friendly hotel. No one told us there would be a dog fair in the parking lot in the morning. Here we were looking for a quiet relaxing morning, breakfast in bed, only to be disappointed by the multiple dogs barking, constantly. I looked out the window only to see 8-10 tents set up with many people and their pets. It would have been nice to have been told. Btw, never was bothered by the sound of trains
As for the bar, service was poor. It was not busy, but you waited anyway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It looks like you stayed with us the Friday night before our Muttwaukee event which we held to benefit local rescues and increase awareness about the need for dog adoption. I do apologize that the noise took away from your stay. I also did want to apologize for any confusion on your room. Our lofted rooms do have the regular sized bathrooms with one sink. Our Corner Alcoves and Junior Suites are the rooms with the double sinks and larger bathrooms. Had we not been sold out the night that you stayed we would have been more than happy to get you into the room that you wanted. I am happy that you had an overall great experience and we hope to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel is unique and interesting. Located in the old Milwaukee 3rd ward it has an atmosphere that makes you want to stay longer. Great food, bar and rooms! (especially if you ride your Harley). The nighttime summer bar scene is fantastic. Convenient to everything downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiikeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
The location of the hotel is perfect because we are central to so many great neighborhoods like the 3rd Ward, 5th Ward, Bayview and downtown. Thank you for the review and come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed in room 603 for one night while attending Summerfest. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room, but it was very comfortable. We actually got the room for an amazing $32/night on an online hotel reservation site and were surprised and pleased when the hotel honored the rate.

The hotel caters to the wealthy and the biker crowds. The rooms are usually over $300/night during this time of the year. We are neither wealthy nor bikers, but still enjoyed the atmosphere. The room was spacious enough, except that ours tapered in and the chair by the window was too close to the bed, causing us both to ram our legs into the bed frame a couple of times.

Nicely decorated rooms with a beautiful mural on one wall, we also had a loft room on the highest floor with what looked like the original wooden ceiling and original brick walls from when the building was first used a hundred years ago. After having walked around Summerfest all day the extremely plush carpet felt fantastic on our feet. Our room faced Nortth toward Milwaukee, which was a nice view and a short distance from the Harley Davidson Museum (which we have been to in the past and absolutely loved!).

One negative or interesting feature, whichever way you want to view it, is the bathroom. All Kohler features with a beautiful sink that is only about 1-1/2" deep, the toilet seat wasn't installed properly so every time I sat down it shifted to the right which made me feel like I was going to fall off. The shower is large and has two shower heads, one in the ceiling and the other at a 4' height on a pivot which could be hand held also. Unfortunately it seemed to only point down. My spouse described the shower as having been designed by someone who has never actually taken a shower before, as you also need to reach across to turn on the ceiling shower head which comes out cold directly on you. I did enjoy watching my spouse shower through the frosted glass wall that separated the bed from the bathroom -- a floor to ceiling glass wall, which only shows the outline of the person showering, but kind of cool. Unless your spouse gets up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom and turns on the light...not so cool.

When we got our bill they had included a $25 valet parking fee, which we didn't use. Parking is an issue, if you don't use the valet they make you feel pretty bad about it and finding close by parking can be challenging. Fortunately we found a free spot just South of the hotel in front of the Mexican restaurant, Conejito's (awesome, authentic food, the atmosphere will not be for everyone, but highly recommended and affordable). The front desk clerk took my word for it on the valet fee and immediately took the charge off of our bill.

We did not eat at the restaurant or go to the bar during this trip, but have had a drink at the bar in the past. Very nice and a free pool table!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the North if you want a good view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiskaysin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the thoughtful review. We appreciate all comments both good and not so good as we use them to only improve. We hope to have you back soon even if for just a drink after dinner at Conejito's (I love it too)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This place is off the hook! Loved it, and we will be back! Job well done with this old building, the transformation is amazing! We loved exposed brick walls in the room!

My wife and I had a wonderful valentines day get away! One of the things we noticed immediately was the attentiveness of the staff. Always there to help and always helpful. Food and service throughout was great!!

We are not Harley riders, but if you are this is the place for you to go! You will not be let down!! I can think of nothing negative to say about this establishment. Go and have the time of your life!
My wife and I look forward to coming back and enjoying the outside deck and summer concerts!

The location is fantastic - easy access to so many attractions (Miller Park, casino, Harley Davidson and Great Lakes Distillery)

Room Tip: I can't imagine it having a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We appreciate all of your kind words and hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

By far, this is one of the best hotels we have stayed in. Every member of the front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The bartenders were very nice and attentive. Concierge Kathryn went above and beyond to decorate our room with balloons for my daughter's birthday. The hotel itself is a renovated warehouse with super cool decor and very comfortable guest rooms. Our room (607) had an impressive view of the city. Loved the black concrete counters in the room as well as the awesome wall murals done by a local artist. The bathroom is roomy with both a rain shower head and handheld spray in the black and glass shower. Valet parking was $25. Only complaint...we could not get the curtains to close as they snagged on the rail. Those balloons came in handy to block the light!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
I am so happy to hear that your daughter and a wonderful birthday and I will be sure Kathryn sees this review. She truly is a gem of a person!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#11 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Property: Iron Horse Hotel
Address: 500 W Florida St, Milwaukee, WI 53204-1534
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing