We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique decor, great service everywhere but restaurant...”
Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iron Horse Hotel
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unique decor, great service everywhere but restaurant...”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Love this place and not just because it has no real competition in Milwaukee. Great staff, interesting decor, good location in a difficult city to love for a three day vacation. Restaurant was super slow for dinner since the patio was PACKED and likely this overwhelmed the kitchen.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We love being the place to be in Milwaukee and as you mentioned we can fill seats quickly, especially the Yard. It is our goal to make sure that every person is taken care of and I am sorry that service was slow that evening. I hope you will see us again next time you are in Milwaukee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,242
    211
    41
    17
    13
See reviews for
169
744
64
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wimbledon
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed for one night and loved the bedroom which had a boutique/industrial style to it. The toiletries in the bathroom were lovely. Public areas were a little gloomy and service at breakfast was very slow.

Room Tip: Avoid the railway line if you're a light sleeper - although ear plugs are provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the review! I am sorry that you had slow service during breakfast. I promise that is not the norm and I hope you come see us again to see for yourself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I was overnight in Milwaukee and decided to stay at the Iron Horse. There is only valet parking and the nightly guest rate is about $20. Unlimited in and out though. Staff was very welcoming and I noticed they had a personalized bowl with treats at the front desk for guests with dogs. The sign by the bowl actually had the names of the dogs on it, welcoming them to the hotel. The feel was very modern and industrial. My room had a huge bed, chair, tv, and desk. Free wifi throughout. The walls were natural brick. Bathroom had Kohler fixtures, including a rain shower style shower head. I'm a big guy and this place had the first robe that ever fit me, which was very surprising and enjoyable. There is a big, well stocked fridge in the room. It even had enough room for my Green Machine to stay cool. Tv has a sleep function, which I really enjoy. The pillows were numerous and extremely comfortable, including a long tube like body roll pillow. Surprisingly, the bed was not as soft as I would have thought for a pillow top. It was comfortable, but seemed to be made more for durability ;-) When I came in after my meeting, the lobby and bar were hoppin'. Lots of singles and couples throughout, relaxing on the numerous couches and enjoying the bar. It is very close to the casino, Harley museum, miller park, Lake Michigan, and the Petit Ice Center, but it is a destination in and of itself.

Room Tip: I was in 316, which just had a view of the hotel entrance and a roundabout. I would suggest trying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6Foot6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
The Perlick systems (mini refrigerators) are pretty big. I am not surprised that they were large enough to hold what may be the largest bottle of Naked Green Machine I have ever seen. Thank you so much and come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spalover30
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Accomodating. Friendly. Easy. Words I would use to describe the staff and the stay at Iron Horse. We had the Sunday Sounds package. After arrival, we went out to "The Yard" and listened to a great band. Our package came with a bucket of four local bottled beers. Fun! The room is also cool. Nice touches and unique finishes. Our view was the band and the seating area. When my boyfirend wanted to watch the U.S. Open Golf, the staff worked hard to meet our needs and get it on the t.v. at the interior bar which was closed on Sundays. We then were able to watch the golf while we played games of pool. We went back and forth to the outside area all through the evening and had appetizers later on out there. The feeling was a larger scale bed and breakfast experience really.
In the morning, we were a little confused about our included "On The Go Breakfast" and we ended up in the breakfast serving are in the library room. The staff again was so accomodating and made it that we could dine in as opposed to hanging our room service sign to get the to go option. They just make everything work for you.
We took a walk from the hotel in the morning and ended up walking probably three miles. Just checking out downtown areas and old buildings. We walked all the way to the Milwaukee Public Market.
I hated to leave The Iron Horse. Truly unique. There is really no need to leave at night. It is the kind of place you immerse yourself in. Nothing but positives to say!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spalover30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Sunday Sounds in the Yard is one of my favorite things that we do at the hotel. The day you were with us was the day the Blue Ribbon Band was playing and they are fantastic. Thank you so much for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Peoria, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Iron Horse Hotel is definitely higher class. You definitely get what you pay for - everything is modern, sleek and clean. The shampoo and conditioner samples in the shower were amazing! The front desk attendants were extremely friendly and helpful. We traveled with our dog Frankie - and truly, the Iron Horse Hotel has dog friendly staff.

However, the only drawback was the area provided for pets to relieve themselves. It's just a small trip of grass near the valet parking lot. It may be more conducive to smaller dogs. The only thing I'd change about the hotel is to provide a slightly larger place for pets to potty.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllPipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
You are so right when you say we really are pet friendly. I have said it before and I think it is worth saying it again, if you bring your pup with you be prepared to be stopped multiple times by our staff because they are going to want to pet them. Thank you so much for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I organized a two day meeting at the Iron Horse and everyone had a great time. The hotel is very unique.....and beautiful. The manager, Janine was extremely pleasant and helpful to deal with. My attendees have decided this was a great venue for meetings and plan to use the venue in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marva62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Janine has been with for several years and I know when I see her I should be ready to laugh. Thank you so much for mentioning her!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My wife, adult children and I used the past weekend to visit Milwaukee for the first time. The Iron Horse made our getaway a special weekend we will always remember. The staff seemed to always anticipate what we needed. From the wait staff in the restaurant to housekeeping, everyone seemed to have the same goal - make our visit exceptional. An incredible bonus we were stunned to find that the hotel went beyond pet friendly. The Iron Horse pushes the envelope toward pet welcoming. When you arrive your dog's name is on the welcome blackboard to the gift bag (treats, bowls and toys). Also, plenty of comfortable walking space around the hotel. The location is fantastic - easy access to so many attractions (Miller Park, casino, Harley Davidson and Great Lakes Distillery) and plenty of restaurants. We had a fabulous stay. If you have the opportunity, staying at the Iron Horse will elevate your trip to Milwaukee. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfessorTim10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,856 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Ambassador Hotel
#13 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 56 in Milwaukee
923 reviews
Historic Third Ward
The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Property: Iron Horse Hotel
Address: 500 W Florida St, Milwaukee, WI 53204-1534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing