We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Milwaukee Enjoyed”
Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iron Horse Hotel
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
“Milwaukee Enjoyed”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have stayed at the Iron Horse Hotel a half dozen times now. I wanted to write to tell you why I will always return. The Hotel has comfortable atmosphere within a unique building. Warm and Interesting. The rooms are clean and comfortable. I enjoy the bar and the restaurant offers and excellent menu. You will not find a better staff as the service is truly outstanding. When in Milwaukee, Enjoy the Iron Horse Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhh492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Constance Williams- Assistant Front Office Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Our staff takes pride in providing exceptional customer service as well as establishing good relationships with our guests. We are always delighted to hear that guests love to stay with us when traveling to Milwaukee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,217
    209
    38
    17
    13
See reviews for
165
723
63
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I live one hour north of the Iron Horse Hotel and we stay personally many times per year just to get away. We love the location as much as the hotel itself being in the 3rd Ward area. We like the mix of bars, restaurants, distilleries, breweries, the Public Market, museums, and shops etc as we wander the area on foot.This area feels like New Orleans to us, but without having to travel there! The atmospher in the hotel has a cool industrial feel, which is as great as the staff. We have had some great times talking with the bartenders and all of the staff are freindly and helpful. I also use the Iron Horse for business since I have had many conferences in Milwaukee. The Iron Horse Hotel is my wife's favorite place to stay and we are lucky to have this ammenity so close to home! I highly recommend the Iron Horse Hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Constance Williams-Assistant Front Office Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Being centrally located near a lot of Milwaukee's great attractions, we are always excited to hear that our guests are able to experience what our city has to offer. We enjoy having you and your wife stay with us and hope to see you again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
197 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Loved this place! We booked the Pfister but at the last minute changed to the Iron Horse. Upon entry you get a great feeling of the history of the building, which melds well with the hip nature of the hotel. Our corner room was large, and overlooked the city. The black slate tile in the room contrasted well with the exposed brick & natural beams. Also, I loved the spa amenities, some of the best we have used.
We had breakfast in the restaurant in the morn. I had the Wisconsin Scramble, which was amazing, check the menu on their website. The Neuskis bacon was the cherry on top. We will definitely be back in the summer when the patio bar, called The Yard, opens.
If you are planning a trip to Milwaukee, and enjoy finer things, the Iron Horse is a best bet.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GlobalMogul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
The hotel space is a perfect blend of industrial, natural materials and and stylish furnishings. It is such a beautiful building that we are all proud to be a part of. Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The hotel is nice and refreshing. Ate at the bar early since I was on eastern time. By the time I finished the place was pretty crowded. My only complaint with the rooms would be that they are kind of dark. The lighting is not all that great, but fits with the theme of the hotel. The people at the front desk were polite efficient and pleasant in a very genuine way. Overall this was the nicest hotel I have stayed in during visits to Milwaukee.

They have a 24 hour exercise room. It doesn't have a lot of equipment, but that didn't end up being a problem.

I rarely give 5 stars. This place is close to being a 5 star in my opinion.

Room Tip: I asked to get a room away from the tracks. I could hear and feel the rumble of the trains passing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxsar911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Direct at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Our bar Branded and the Lobby have be come a place to be on the weekends. It is not uncommon for our guests to make friends in Milwaukee by just hanging out downstairs. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the rest of your time with us as well and thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I don't normally take the time to review, but I just had to do it for this one. The hotel was great. The rooms were spacious, very clean and upscale. I was there for work and we had conferences in the meeting rooms - the food was great and they were very attentive to our needs. We also held some parties in their rooms - really cool atmosphere. The staff was very helpful. This hotel was first class all the way and I highly recommend it if you are looking for a hip, clean, and inviting atmosphere to stay at - book here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Our bar Branded and the Lobby have be come a place to be on the weekends. It is not uncommon for our guests to make friends in Milwaukee by just hanging out downstairs. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the rest of your time with us as well and thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2013

First time at Iron Horse, came up for the weekend from Chicago and found the staff to be warm and inviting. The ambience was trendy and very unique. Have stayed at great boutique hotels all over the country and this tops the list - the use of vintage material, the attention to details - loved every little detail. Will absolutely come back - heard there is another opening in Ohio and will be sure to visit. There was a gorgeous wedding proposal going on the evening we checked in. Irish dancers, bagpipes - I completely understand now why he chose to make this hotel part of his special night.

Room Tip: I am a heavy sleeper and never heard the train that runs right outside the hotel - my husband is a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kad72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
The proposal that you saw in the Lobby was probably one of the top 5 we had here at the hotel. We are all so lucky to be a part of special moments in people's lives. Thank you for the review and please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Drove up from Chicago, valet parking only and it was professional and friendly. Check in was an easy process and the bell staff was efficient with my luggage. The room was spacious, clean and modern with a lovely bathroom (see pictures). I had the corner loft alcove room. Good onsite restaurants and friendly guests, so very harley, loved it! Location was nice, close to downtown and there is a casino near by. Checkout was equally painless. Will stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WI036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you so much for this great review. To hear that we left such a great impression on you. To hear that we are one of the best hotels you have experienced is amazing! Thank you so much and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,833 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 56 in Milwaukee
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#13 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Property: Iron Horse Hotel
Address: 500 W Florida St, Milwaukee, WI 53204-1534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing