We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels in the US”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Iron Horse Hotel
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had an absolutely phenomenal time at this hotel. The nightly rate is a bit high for Milwaukee, but you get exactly what you pay for. The hotel is gorgeous, and it's tucked away just south of the Third Ward. The building itself is an old factory and they renovated to keep every bit of charm. The rooms are spacious and sexy, and the frosted glass shower wall adds a unique touch. The service was outstanding through and through. I contacted the concierge beforehand to make reservations for dinner and let him know that it was a special occasion, and we were greeted at the front desk with a glass of champagne (I think all guests are) and a bottle of champagne in the room.

The bed was extremely comfortable, food at Smyth and Branded was great and well-priced for the quality, and we loved enjoying the afternoon sun on the huge patio (The Yard). We return to Smyth often and stay at the hotel whenever we can think up an excuse.

Sidenote: this hotel is beyond pet-friendly. The offer a special package for dogs that includes a bed, bowls, toys and treats. It's not unusual to see a dog hanging out in the lobby soaking up attention from staff and guests.

Room Tip: Contact the concierge if you're celebrating a special occasion, request a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SP82736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you so much for this great review. Your comments on our showers and our VIPooches were glowing and we appreciate that so much. Thank you again and we hope to have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

974 - 980 of 1,664 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Ever see gorgeous pictures online - only to get there and be dissappointed by the dirtiness or worn out rooms? Well the pics online were beautiful and in person - it is outstanding! If you love the contemporary industrial combination of wood/stone/metal re-purposed furnishings you will love this place. The rooms are very romantic. Comfy feather top beds. A glassed in waterfall shower that you can see into from your room or bathroom. Super clean. Very friendly. The bartenders and the custom cocktails were amazing as was the steak. I surprised my husband for a bday one night getaway - once we arrived we never left. He said i hit a homerun. The only surprise is that he is a Harley owner - and I assumed this was a Harley Hotel. But its not. Not a singe Harley symbol in the place! We did go down the street to the museum on our way out of town. It was great! As was the restaurant there.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North are directly next to the very active train tracks. My husband loves trains so we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Our team of Engineers and Housekeepers work very hard every day to make sure that the hotel is at its best. Thank you so much for the review and I hope your husband had a wonderful time on his birthday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The place was almost to trendy to describe! Location is very neat with old industrial buildings everywhere. Views from our alcove corner room were amazing. Service was of course top notch. You could probably walk around the place for a couple hours just admiring the decor. Felt very old-school hip and modern at the same time. I stay at hotels more than my own house and never been in one this unique. Would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Alcove room was worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you so much for the review! I can tell you that almost all of the different pieces that you will find in the hotel have their own unique story to tell. From the model train in the curio cabinet that is older than the building to the mirror in our bar Branded that is originally a 120 year old window from a cathedral in Pennsylvania. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

My sons and I stayed here after a horrific experience at the Hyatt earlier in the week. The Ironhorse was a more than welcome retreat! I was not familiar with the hotel but found it to be an amazing nugget. As a Marquette parent, I will post this on the recommend site for great places to stay - contrary to the Hyatt in particular.
Thank you to the Ironhorse hotel for validating what a great hotel experience should be! (and it add insult to injury, it was less expensive than the ridiculous Hyatt!)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy1695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

I am so happy to hear that we were able to turn your time in Milwaukee around and thank you so much for sharing your thoughts about us! We hope to have you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I was traveling on business to Milwaukee and booked a room at the Iron Horse thinking it would be a hotel as usual....NOT! What a wonderful surprise - this is now my favorite hotel - the customer service is spotless and impeccable! We've even modeled a t-shirt after the same that the bar staff wear for our District employees!!

You will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

We are definitely not a usual hotel. We pride ourselves on our unique individualized service to our guests and I see that we hit the mark during your stay. Please come see us again and I would love to see the shirts you made!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We went to Milwaukee for a one night stay and picked this hotel only because it was the closest to the Harley Davidson museum. Huge Surprise! The valets, the front desk and the bartenders were nothing but over the top when it came to service! This very clean hotel was decored beautifully! Our room was so roomy and the bed was comfortable! The room had all the essentials AND choices of drink and snacks galore! When I first noticed that it was pet friendly, honestly, I was concerned. But I never heard or smelled anything. We will definetely be back in the summertime and only will be staying at the Iron Horse! Congrats to whoever took the time and money to refurbish this building because in my eyes, this hotel has to be one of Milwaukee's finest!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rakyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

We could not have asked for a better neighbor than the Harley Davidson Museum. The museum is one of the top things we recommend to our guests and they send people over to us all the time. I am happy that you found us and hope to have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We decided to stay in Milwaukee for the Rob Thomas concert and since Milwaukee doesn't have a Four Seasons, we decided to give the Iron Horse a try. Forget Four Seasons! I will never stay anywhere but the Iron Horse when in Milwaukee. Such a great hotel! As soon as you drive up, you will experience first class service alongside Midwestern hospitality. (The hotel is pet friendly which is such a plus.) The minute we pulled up to the door, we were treated with such warmth and authenticity. The valet took great care of our car. The front desk handed us a drink when we checked in. AWESOME!! Not one to enjoy vodka, I was gladly offered a substitution with no questions. I didn't need to ask. Everything during our stay was that way - everyone working at the hotel anticipated what we needed and we didn't have to ask. Since it was our first time to the property, everyone was so helpful. The bartenders were very willing to offer suggestions from the dinner menu. We were able to sit at the bar and watch the game and order from the full dinner menu. The drinks were exceptional and the bar atmosphere was super friendly. The food was superb! Even though we were seated at the bar, the food was presented like we were at a 5 star 5 diamond restaurant. Excellent presentation and flavor. We had so much fun in the bar, we stayed for more than 3 hours! Could have spent the whole night there but we had a concert to attend. (Rob Thomas was awesome by the way!)
Our room was very spacious. Definitely worth requesting the loft (6th floor) city view. We were only able to stay one night but we are absolutely going to return. Bed was super comfortable and though there were a lot of festivities going on in the hotel that weekend, the room was very quiet. Definitely worth a visit just to stay on property.
On the morning we left, we had the best brunch of our lives. The food was divine and varied. The entire dining experience was first class!! The spread was impressive!! It included such a variety, everything from fruits and pastries, to salads and soups, to pastas and waffles. (Ask for the risotto!!) They had the best croissant french toast I've ever eaten plus sausage gravy! Yum! The service was super friendly and very quick. Our water glass was always filled and there was always someone to clear the used plates when we went back for more. Oh, you will go back!! Don't miss out on the bloody mary bar. First class all the way. (Even the manager visited our table to make sure we were happy!)
This is a first class hotel with no pretense. Everyone is so nice and seem to really love their job. It's so refreshing to stay in a place where everyone is genuine and not trying too hard. Just professional and hospitable. This is a great place for a weekend getaway or a week's vacation. No matter what brings you to Milwaukee, this is the place to stay. We didn't try the spa due to time but will be back for sure to enjoy that soon. Thanks Iron Horse staff! You all ROCK!

Room Tip: Book the Loft level and get a city view! It's worth the upgrade! Reserve a table for brunch. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

I can not thank you enough for such a thoughtful review. You have touched on so many different things about us that I do not even know where to start! I have shared this review with everyone at the hotel. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,945 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#8 of 56 in Milwaukee
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,660 reviews
Historic Third Ward
The Kimpton Journeyman Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iron Horse Hotel

Address: 500 W Florida St, Milwaukee, WI 53204-1534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range: $194 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing