We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay - Again”
Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iron Horse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Iron Horse is a great hotel. We arrived the Monday before Thanksgiving, and this was the 1st hotel stay for our 2 yo Leo - a 90 lb German Shepherd. Very dog friendly. Leo's name on the pet guest board, treats and water by the elevator.

Large, spacious room - lots of places to put your stuff. Room looked toward Downtown. Nice view.

Very close to downtown. Third Ward is a 5-7 minute walk. Easy Interstate access. We could be to my sister's house in Whitefish Bay in 10 minutes.

The staff is great. Very friendly and accommodating. Had a great breakfast each morning. Had snacks and beer in the bar. Leo even joined us for a beer in the once (he didn't drink - just people watched). Every experience a good one.

Truly 5 star hotel and 5 star experience. And very price competitive. I've paid more for a tired room in a Marriott or Hyatt.

Only place to stay in Milwaukee.

Dave, John and Leo - Lincoln, NE

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave68516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you so much for not only writing us such a great review but also for coming to stay with us while you are in Milwaukee. We hope to have you and Leo with us again the next time you are back in Milwaukee!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,606)
There are newer reviews for Iron Horse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

967 - 973 of 1,606 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

This hotel is where IT is at. The lobby, rooms, bar and restaurant are were decorated super cool and stylish. The mural on the wall in the room was a nice touch and I love the dog friendly touch. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel. We truly do appreciate the time our guests take to write a review about our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Given its high ratings, we always wanted to stay at the Iron Horse and finally had the chance in late November 2012. This is a hip, stylish and modern hotel with lots of pizzazz to keep you coming back. The check in process was smooth and we were up in our room in no time. We loved the large mural and high ceilings in the room as well as the massive bar with lots of wine and beverage choices as well as many snacks. The desk area was easy to use with lots of accessible plugs and good lighting. The bed is massive and very comfortable. The Wireless worked great and was very quick and the TV had lots of channels to choose from. The only negative was that the previous guest had left a pair of socks on the chair - they blended with the chair color so it was likely very hard for housekeeping to see. The view out the window isn't much - just some old warehouses and a parking lot on our side of the building, but you could see a glimpse of Lake Michigan way out there.

The bathroom was also nice and large and the shower was huge. You could choose from the big rain shower head or the handheld shower, but neither offered too much water pressure. And, the wall between the bedroom and the shower is pretty much see through, so you'd better be on pretty friendly terms with whomever you are sharing the room with.

On our first morning, we ordered two omelets from room service. They were very good and served right on time. The fitness studio wasn't too big with just two treadmills, two bikes and a stair stepper as well as some free weights and punching bags.

We also did a couples massage for one hour and that was very well done. The room they use isn't too big, and is pretty nondescript, but the services rendered were excellent.

The biggest surprise to us was what a happening place this is. Every lunch and evening, the place was hopping. The bar offered a great beer selection with several TVs, 1 pool table and nice views out the window. In the evening the music was a notch or two too loud for our taste, but it was a fun place to hang out. There were about 6 or 7 draft beers to choose from and more than a dozen nice bottle choices. The draft lines seemed well kept,those the icy cold frosted glasses should be reserved just for the domestic beer. My wife did have to send her Long Island ice tea back, but it was promptly replaced, no questions asked (there had been an issue with their cola)

We ate there twice. The food was excellent and the service very efficient. The food tends to be a bit on the trendy side and is priced a little high. Also, the library room is a really neat space and is a great place to hang out with a bit less bustle than in the lobby.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank BayernTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Thank you so much for the thoughtful review. The Iron Horse is a place to come for those traveling here or living blocks away. We promote an atmosphere of relaxed fun that I am happy to hear you enjoyed. Hopefully we will have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

What a beautiful, modern hotel just south of downtown Milwaukee.
The rooms are very updated and comfortable. The breakfast in the
library was very good. Very accommodating and pleasant staff.
The only option is to valet your car as there is no parking.
My only complaint would be certain rooms close to the train tracks can be
noisy. They have earplugs in the rooms, but when I have stayed on the other
end of the hotel you don't hear the trains.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the train tracks.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Thank you for the review. I am sorry you had problems with the train noise. As you said we do offer ear plugs but we want people to be comfortable regardless. Next time you stay with us let us know that you prefer to be away from the tracks and we will do everything we can to accomodate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had a girls weekend and stayed at the Iron Horse! It was an outstanding atmosphere with decor that was very well done. We ate breakfast at the Library and food was nice. Close to great restaurants. Very friendly and helpful staff. Only wish is that there is no other choice really besides valet parking and it was $25. Would definitely return.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
Thank kmalmberg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

I am so happy to hear that you ladies had a great time with us! We would love to have you back next time you feel like getting away!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Iron Horse is a nice hotel in Milwaukee. It's considered to be one of the best in the city, and likely it is but comparing it with hotels in other cities, IH is average. It's clean, and well located just 25 minutes away from downtown. The deluxe king room is spacious and nice. Food in the restaurant Branded was very good and service was excellent ! Free wi fi was surprisingly fast and reliable.
A negative factor, you can hear the train from the room, occasionally. It was not a problem for me.

Room Tip: I got the 502, great view...but you could hear the train occasionally.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

We all very much appreciate the time you took to write us a review. Thank you and we hope to have you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I couldn't have had a better weekend and a large part of it was my experience at the Iron Horse. Holy sexy hotel! We were there over Halloween weekend and I was disappointed we already had evening plans - I can definitely say that the hotel bar/lobby is one of those unique places that you really could sit down with a drink and meet people. It was packed and had a great fun but not too crazy atmosphere. Definitely where all the locals are going.

My partner and I travel a lot and I love boutique hotels. While the Iron Horse isn't cheap by any means, it definitely competes with places we've stayed that are twice as expensive. Everything was perfect and I don't say that lightly. The rooms are gorgeous with the exposed wood and high ceilings - a very non-froofy masculine feeling that is refreshing. If you are an architecture lover you will LOVE this place.

Also want to say as an LGBT person I felt completely welcomed in that regard.

We will definitely be back.

Only complaint is the valet parking is ridiculously expensive. We parked on the street for free - just make sure to register your vehicle through Milwaukee's city website so you don't get a ticket (google Milwaukee overnight parking to see what I mean). We had no issue finding a spot within a couple of blocks on Friday/Saturday nights.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

I am so sorry to hear you couldn't hang out with us for our Halloween party. This year our theme was "Wicked Enchantment" and the staff all dressed up like wicked fairy tale characters. We are already planning for next year. Thank you for the review and maybe we will see you next Halloween but hopefully sooner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,902 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 56 in Milwaukee
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Address: 500 W Florida St, Milwaukee, WI 53204-1534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range: $224 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing