We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Iron Horse Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$137
$129
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$131
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$142
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$171
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee(Milwaukee)(Great Value!)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ambassador Hotel(Milwaukee)(Great Value!)
$129
$97
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Pfister Hotel(Milwaukee)
$203
$179
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$99
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,805)
Filter reviews
1,806 results
Traveler rating
1,467
253
48
24
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,467
253
48
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe harley davidson museumsmyth restaurantcorner alcovemattress factorywelcome cocktailoutdoor barrain showerboutique hotelexposed brickcool hotelfavorite hotelgreat barlight sleeperamazing hotelrooms are spaciousfrom chicagohigh ceilings
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,234 - 1,239 of 1,806 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Iron Horse was a great hotel choice in Milwaukee. Beautiful place, excellent service (housekeeping, bar staff, valet staff, and front desk staff), and comfortable rooms. Nice indoor bar as well as a great patio. We did not eat at the restaurants here so I can't comment on them, but they do have a great reputation in the area.

Close to Miller Park and the casino.

Another surprise was they are dog friendly. We did not have dogs with us, but others did.

Parking was the only downside as you had to pay about $25 for a night for valet and there was not much else for options.

Room Tip: Staff are willing to accommodate you to wherever you want if there is availability.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ma_golfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thank you for the review. I am so happy to hear that you received excellent service throughout our hotel. Should you come back to Milwaukee, please come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is one of the best hotels ever! When I travel to the midwest, I always try and make a stop here. Rooms are great! The bar has the yummiest fresh herb blended cocktails. The parking does seem to be an issue sometimes. Better to just pay for the overnight hotel parking as I did get a parking ticket after parking on the street during a big snow/ice storm once. Not being from Milwaukee, the parking signs are not very clear and sometimes there are no signs. A minor thing compared to the friendly staff, great service and quality found here!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kborangeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thank you so much for the review and for coming to see us time after time. I hope you continue to come and see us when you are in Milwaukee!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This former mattress factory turned hotel is outstanding. Forget all the big corporate cookie cutter hotels, this hotel really offers something different. From the decor featuring motorcycles and murals to the impeccable service this is the place to stay. We ate at the restaurants at the hotel and they were equally excellent. Our room was spacious, well appointed and clean. The see through glass wall looking into the shower from the bedroom was crazy. The attention to little details was appreciated and welcomed in a world where every hotel seems the same. There was a lot of hype about the noise from the trains but we never noticed a single train.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Namellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

You are so right when you say we are not cookie cutter. We want our hotel and service to be original and genuine. Thank you for the review and we hope to have you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We spent a three day weekend here with our German Shepherd and the hotel staff was absolutely wonderful! Our dog was allowed to be with us at their outside bar/restaurant and they even brought her a bowl of ice water. They even left dog treats for her by the lobby elevator. The hotel itself was really wonderful. My only complaint was that I reserved a room via the Internet and looking at the accompanied pictures from the website. I purposedly requested a room on the top floor based on the photos and was given a room on the top floor--but room 609 was the smallest room on the floor and nothing like the photo.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chiguycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

We believe that our guests with paws should have just a good of a time as their owners. We would love to have both you and your German Shepard with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Enjoyed every part of our 2 night stay during Festa Italiano. Valet was great, front desk was great, bars were great and rooms were great. We arrived late on Friday night and were immediately greeted by the valets. The front desk was friendly and addressed all our questions regarding the trip to the festival the following day which was the reason we traveled to Milwaukee. When we returned late Saturday night from the festival the valets again immediately greeted us. We hung out in the bars for the rest of the evening where we were greeted and treated well.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Festa is such a great festival especially because of all of the amazing food they serve. Thank you for the great review and if you head back to Festa next year we would love to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews