We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iron Horse Hotel”
Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iron Horse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Groves
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Iron Horse Hotel”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

IHH is a first class hotel that 's really cool. IHH is motorcycle friendly, wash station, special parking and staff was very friendly and helpful. Bike night, outdoor area is cool overall a excellant place to experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Team_Ultra_Warriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
We are absolutely motorcycle friendly. Whether you get here with 4 wheels or 2, we want all of our guests to have a great time while they are with us! Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,195
    206
    38
    17
    12
See reviews for
159
710
62
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Only stayed one night here but wish it had been for longer. The reception staff made you feel welcome as soon as you walked in. The room was first class & the shower became the talking point of the holiday!! I have never seen such a great supply of sweets, chocholates, biscuits & something else to give your night an extra thrill!!! Every drink you can think of was also supplied. The hotel is a coverted warehouse so the decor has been kept to liken it to a big loft. It's a few minutes drive from the Harley Davidson museum (hence the name) but unfortunately we weren't there long enough to see anything else of the area.
Grat atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussybird58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you so much for the amazing review. We did not scimp on the mini bar baskets in the room and wanted to make sure that there would be something for everyone. I hope that next time you are in Milwaukee you will be able to stay with us for more than just one evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
166 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Pros:
Great location
Friendly staff
Great restaurant
Greeted with a complimentary cocktail upon check-in
Rustic, but morded amenities
Clean and comfortable rooms

Cons:
Mildly pricey, but worth even dollar

Room Tip: Had room 218 that overlooked the "Yard", outdoor bar. No problems with noise or anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for the review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the complimentary cocktail at check-in. We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The hotel is a unique find in Milwaukee! Great wine selection. The outdoor area is to die for. Menu is limited but good. I would love to buy those cool coffee tables.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Our outdoor patio, The Yard, really is an amazing space and our neighbors enjoy it as much as our guests. I wish I could give you the name of a store to pick up our tables but they were all custom made. Thank you again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
257 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I were thrilled to read the TA reviews for The Iron Horse Hotel – sounded perfect for us. My husband called a day in advance to ensure we had reservations for the on property Smyth restaurant before going to the Beach Boys concert. Josh called back to confirm our reservation. When we arrived to the hotel, our room was not ready – we were 30 minutes early – and we were then notified the restaurant was NOT open that day – Sunday (first disappointment). The person at the front desk was very nice offering us complimentary beverages while we waited for our room. As she was trying to assist us with finding a place to eat, we told her we were interested in fine dining for our evening meal. Our definition of fine dining and hers was vastly different. We left the hotel early to find a restaurant and attend the concert. We ended up eating bar food because that is what we could find open. We came back to the hotel and wanted to have a drink at the bar – not a soul there. Second disappointment. The following morning we went down for breakfast only to be told breakfast was over and we could wait another 30 minutes and have lunch – need I say THIRD DISAPPOINTMENT.
We were so excited to go to this hotel after reading the reviews and wanted to check out all the unique offerings but instead we had to constantly be in search of decent food.
Bottom line, don’t go to Milwaukee on a Sunday and expect to find a decent restaurant to eat and be prepared for The Iron Horse to let you down in the food department. Don’t get me wrong, we liked the room and the décor and the folks we talked with there were very nice. Overall, it just didn’t meet our standards. When we checked out and told the person at the desk of our disappointment and why, she graciously reduced our room rate by $75.00, however, we would rather have had the comforts we were looking forward to at this highly rated hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pinked_10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
I am so sorry to hear that you did not have an amazing time with us. It is true that a vast majority of restaurants are closed Sunday evenings here in Milwaukee and is our slowest night of the week. I am also sorry to hear about the confusion with your dinner reservations. I will be looking into that to find out exactly what happened so that we don't run into a similar situation. I hope you will give us another opportunity to meet your expectations and if there is anything that I may do to help please email me directly at jvalona@theironhorsehotel.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Stay here if you're in Milwaukee. Great staff, cool rooms, and a friendly/fun vibe. Well worth a few extra bucks. As good as advertised.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jgertt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you do much for the great review! We hope to have you back with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Went to Milwaukee June 22, stayed here ,and went up to Kohler Waters Spa for my daughter's birthday. With her, and her bff, shared a room, which worked great. Girls had so much fun! The hotel is fab; easy going, beautiful, artsy. And an easy walk to the 3rd Ward historic district; great restaurants & shopping. The front desk people were so helpful in guiding & directing us to fun places, easily walkable.
I would happily stay here again; it is also a very romantic couples destination.

We ordered, for an "hors d'oevere", after arriving & settling,room service, the "Wisconsin Cheese Soup" in pretzel bowl; shared by us 3. Awesome!! Chef sent message; "85 degrees outside"; we said, cool in here. Gotta have cheese in Wisconsin...
Rooms large, beautiful, but cozy, and very artsy. Lovely bathroom, but strange shower with half door. Not terrible though. Only thing for 3 "girls"; no mirror in main room. Full length mirror in closet; but hard to do makeup while one of us in bathroom. But, small issue in the scheme of things; great room & time. The beds & pillows were very comfy. The room was very cold, though, and difficult to regulate temp, but again, no big deal in the scheme. I turned off the thermostat for awhile. On again at night; like it cool.

The bars, outdoor & indoor were phenomenal; wish I could be there with my honey sometime. Looks so romantic. The greeting with the refreshing drink was wonderful, too.

One thing to keep in mind, though is parking fees. They are extra, and rather pricy, so factor that in to your stay if driving. It wasn't much when shared with 3 for just 2 nights; but a week for a couple could add up. Just sayin'. Always the hidden fees; most places & times, everywhere.
I have no reason to come back this way, but if I did, would sure stay here! Overall, loved it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherylb-rn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
I'm so happy to hear that you had a great ladies weekend! I know that you don't travel to Milwaukee often, but should you have reason to come back we would love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#11 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Property: Iron Horse Hotel
Address: 500 W Florida St, Milwaukee, WI 53204-1534
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing