We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel for Harley Fans”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iron Horse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
191 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for Harley Fans”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This hotel is very cool and modern. It is in a nice location that is close to the Harley-Davidson Museum. They have adapted an old building into loft accommodations that are very nice and modern. The hotel staff was all friendly and very helpful. The restaurant was nice as well. The only down side is that they have very nice covered parking in front for those who come on their motorcycles. However, if your room is on that side of the building, you might wake up at 6 a.m. to people revving their bikes. So the proximity of their parking to the hotel is convenient and nice, but can be a downside if you are trying to sleep. They also have an exterior loud speaker blaring music on the front of the building, so between that and the Harleys, you might want to request a room on a different side....in addition to the fact that another side of the building faces train tracks. So if you are a light sleeper, it would be best to request a quiet room and make sure it isn't facing the train tracks or the front of the building. I guess having music on the outside of your building might be welcoming to some folks and it might give you a hip factor, but not everyone who comes to a hotel is planning to party...so the initial impact when we pulled up made us wonder if we had made a mistake. It turned out to be a nice stay and the staff did turn off the speaker on the outside when asked, thus I am rating it a 5, as the facility is really nice, the beds were very comfortable, and I'm sure it is also a great place to have a party :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
The Iron Horse really is great place to let loose and have a great time but we would also like to create a relaxing atmosphere for those guests who are in need of some down time. Next time you come to see us please contact me so th I can make sure you get ll the rest you need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,183
    204
    38
    17
    12
See reviews for
158
701
62
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Stayed at the Iron Horse on 5/4. Room 604. Greeted by the staff and offered a complimentary cocktail at check in. The room was spacious with a vast view facing south. The decor is decidedly masculine with wood, leather, horsehair. The king bed was comfy. The bathroom, also spacious, has a walk in shower with an overhead "rain" type showerhead. One wall is frosted glass that faces the room so if you are weird about seeing the shadow of someone showering, you probably wouldn't like it. They use SpaH2O products which were really nice. The room has ear plugs in the event that a train goes by (it didn't) but perhaps they are better used to avoid hearing your neighbors. The walls are thin and we unfortunately could hear our neighbors having a moment in the morning. Had it been a late night party, it would have been a problem. The hotel itself is beautiful. The library is a sunny room that would be lovely for reading in the morning. I regret not having a drink in the bar or eating some of the food to try it out. They have valet parking but you can also find parking on the street near the hotel. The hotel is TAG certified which was also nice to see. The hotel is high end and deserves the accolades that it has received. Would probably stay here each time I'm in Milwaukee

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chartfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments on the Hotel. So many of our guests are in awe the first time that they walk in. Thank you again and hopefully next time you are with us you will have a chance to hang out in Branded or Smyth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We planned a 3 day weekend in Milwaukee, and the Iron Horse was our first choice in lodging. Admittedly, we found it a challenge for the property to live up to the hype...this is one of the very few cases where the positive hype is warranted.

From arrival through checkout, service was flawless, professional without being stuffy; making this is a true 5-star location comparable to any bigger city plush digs. Obviously, the overall cost reflects this; however you are truly getting a lot for the money.

We loved the size of the bathroom and the walk in shower (would love one at home), and little touches that mean so much like the spring armed wall mirror so you can actually check the back of your hair like you do at home. The frosted glass allows massive amounts of daylight into the room. Lighting fixtures have welcome dimmers, and all electronics were top notch and in perfect working order. A complimentary cocktail awaited us upon arrival (alas, the recipe for the ginger vodka citrus mix was not on the regular menu-a Sunday afternoon bartender indicated often the complimentary drinks were comprised of flavored liquors which were no longer destined to be stocked in the bar), which was delicious.

We enjoyed afternoon cocktails in the bar on Sunday as well as a nightcap. Service impeccable there as well.

We used valet parking Friday and Saturday, and then opted for the street on Sunday. This is a very safe area (had we been thinking and had it not been raining so hard Saturday night, we would have done street parking then too). If using valet, it is $25.00 with unlimited in/out privileges, and the valets are always busy, opening doors, getting cars, sweeping. I don't think we ever saw one standing still. When paying premium prices, this is gratifying.

Toiletries, towels, robes, and linens here are truly luxurious. A Kuerig coffee maker offers Altera blends. Housekeeping is extremely prompt, and we appreciated that our room was made up on Sunday so early...after brunch we wante to unwind for a while.

The most important feature to us is the architecture and design...we love historical buildings, and the developers have made the most of this location. It seems very New York loft-meets-Midwest sensibility. A very easy stroll to the 3rd Ward and all the restaurants and entertainment it has to offer.

Because there are so many options, we decided to spread our funds around to other locations for meals, so did not have an opportunity to dine, though the Sunday brunch spread did look great.

We loved seeing the dog guests, and will certainly think of bringing our twins along in the future. Loved the little blackboard with the guest’s names and the bowl of treats. Regardless of occasion, you really can't go wrong at Iron Horse. More properties should take lessons in service and professionalism...this is the real deal.

Room Tip: We had 5th floor corner room facing the clock tower...very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fussytrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director do Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
It is great to hear that we lived up to you expectations! We all work very hard to try and maintain the level of service and style that our guests come to expect. Thank you so much for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Wonderful hotel with a top notch staff and terrific rooms. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The service, food and wine served in the restaurant, Smyth, was incredible. Our Golden Retriever loved it too - a truly pet friendly hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review. It's great to hear that both you and your retriever had a great time. We hope to give you just as an amazing trip next to e that you are it us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is its open, pet-friendly policy (for $50 per stay.) Our dog was warmly welcomed and it is absolutely fantastic that pets can be in the lounge area where its possible to get food and drinks.

That said, I thought the service was good but not great. I can't give a single incidence of someone going out of their way to make our experience better than say, a standard chain hotel. With a pet in the room, we didn't get any maid service but we did request a refill for the in-room coffee and cocoa service. A single coffee and single decaf was refilled as well as a pile of creamer, no cocoa. So the one time we asked for something, I was underwhelmed.

Room was hip, extremely comfortable. We want to remodel our home bathroom shower to match the one in our room. Great beds. Train tracks run right by the hotel but on our floor (6), I watched a train from the window and could barely hear it.

Some big negatives: valet parking (required if you get there late) is $25 per night. The Sunday brunch is $40/person. I live in Chicago where we are used to these rates -- here, I felt it was just gouging. We were happy to score street parking the second night. We looked over the brunch and couldn't justify the cost. The hotel is already on the expensive for its location.

We ate in the bar one night. It took a very long time to get service. The waitresses seem to be afraid to leave the far corner of the bar. Once they noticed us, service was fine. I thought the food was ok -- upscale bar food. I was really interested in trying the craft beers on hand but found many of the staff were fairly clueless and had trouble even telling me which beers were local.

I ran/walked with my dog all around the area -- not much going on here. Several mexican restaurants (the nearest had some rowdy folks around after dark), a distillery across the street (get there early for tours!), the Harley museum, and that's about it. For breakfast, check out Zack's around the corner. Lobster benedict for $12.95.

All in all, recommended with some reservations.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeptMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
I very much appreciate the time that you took to write a review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the pet friendly atmosphere of the hotel. The staff here at the hotel really do love animals and it can be difficult getting through the lobby without being stopped by associates wanting to meet a guests pet. All of that being said I apologize for having experiencing anything less than a stellar experience. We strive to give every guest an amazing experience that sets us apart from other hotels and to hear that we missed the mark is disheartening. I hope that on your next visit you will experience a true Iron Horse experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

If you are looking for a vintage hotel with a modern touch where you could mix business and pleasure, the Iron Horse Hotel is what you are looking for. Very close to the world famous Harley Davidson Motor Company's world headquarters, the Iron Horse is a host to all Harley Davidson business executives as well as other visitors. Whether you are on a Harley pilgrimage or just a traveler looking to have a good time at the numerous microbreweries, the Iron Horse is a perfect place to experience, enjoy and rest.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sujai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
We are very lucky to have The Harley Davidson Museum as a neighbor. To have the history of an iconic American company only minutes away is amazing. Our guests who come to stay with us love the museum just as much as our guests who love to ride. Thank you so much for the great comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

The Iron Horse Hotel Staff is the heart and soul of this establishment! I, personally, have never been treated with the level of respect and professionalism exuded by the Staff. The atmosphere is fantastic. Charles Dwyer is a Milwaukee treasure, and his work is prominently displayed throughout. Attention to detail is impeccable. I have the highest regards for The Iron Horse Hotel. I encourage, strongly, anyone riding a motorcycle consider The Iron Horse Hotel for their stay, while visiting Milwaukee.
Regards, Jermi Irvin

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 01pwrchkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesValona, Director of Guest Experience at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words about our staff. They play a very large part in the success of The Iron Horse. I also wholeheartedly agree that Chuck Dwyer is a Milwaukee treasure. We are so fortunate to have his pieces throughout the hotel, especially the American Flag and murals in our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,794 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 56 in Milwaukee
887 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#10 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Property: Iron Horse Hotel
Address: 500 W Florida St, Milwaukee, WI 53204-1534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing