We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“An amazing place to stay in Milwaukee to see a Brewers Game!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iron Horse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An amazing place to stay in Milwaukee to see a Brewers Game!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

The Iron Horse Hotel is a great place to stay when visiting Milwaukee for a Brewers - Cubs Game. The rooms are amazing and very unique to any average hotel. The Hotel has a great lobby, bar, and restaurant. We visited the Milwaukee Brewing Company before the game and with your tour you receive a token for a free beer a choice of local bars. http://www.milwaukeebrewingco.com We visited Steny's because we were told by the hotel concierge they offered a complimentary shuttle to and from the game. The hotel is located in a great area with a local feel of Milwaukee.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmezik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ironhorsehotel, Front Office Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Thank you very much for staying with us. We are very excited to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the Iron Horse. It sounds like you also took pleasure in everything great about Milwaukee. Please let us know how we can make your next trip to Milwaukee even better. We sincerely appreciate all of your kind and sincere comments.

Thank you,
The Iron Horse Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,112
    193
    37
    16
    10
See reviews for
144
667
59
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suamico, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

Awesome rooms with a mixed vintage and modern decor. High quality tile, bathroom fixtures/showers, and accents throughout. Very friendly staff, especially the historic information from James, Ruth and Kathlyn. Easy access to Harley Davidson Museum. Only thing that we didn't enjoy was the $25.00 parking fee, but staff informed us that they lease their lot from someone else.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fabian22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

Outstanding Hotel... Superior Hotel Staff & Service, Fabulous high celing large rooms that are decorated so comfortably , clean and new. Great Beds and Bedding. Loved the hugh shower heads in the Bathrooms. the food in Library(great Omlettes), Branded(Yummy Burgers & you have tro try the Cheese Soup!) & Smyth (fabulous Filet Minon & Sea Bass..great drinks & wine list too!) was exceptional..The room service food was excellent as well (we had breakfast in-room dining..great coffee!) I cant say enough about the staff, from the Doorman to the Manager...Never in all my travels have i come across a more dedicated, freindly & helpful Hotel Staff! Ever single one of them were absolutly outstanding in thier postions at the Iron Horse Hotel.Love the homey, sexy, & chic feel of the place... I cant wait to go back! http://www.theironhorsehotel.com

Room Tip: ask for the Bridge side for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeriKeough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ironhorsehotel, General Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel, restaurant, and bar. I will ensure that your comments are passed to our Executive Chef, Jason Gorman, and the culinary team. We also appreciate your comments about our design and staff. We hope to be able able to serve you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

Our stay at the Iron Horse Hotel was just lovely! The staff was wonderful, food was great, and rooms were suave. I am encouraging all my family and friends to stay here.

The decor around the hotel has a refreshing unique style that you don't see everywhere. It's great!

I was also happily surprised to see that you could bring dogs. Next time we come we will be bringing Max and Boney Mahony (they will love the hotel as well).

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Max1234560097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ironhorsehotel, General Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Thank you for your kind review. We would love to accommodate Max and Boney . We love dogs of all sizes at The Iron Horse. We appreciate your comments on our staff, food, and guestrooms and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens, ga
Level Contributor
79 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

A great place to stay (especially if you ride in). It is not that convenient to downtown, but it is a great place onto it self. I would definitely stay here again (but bring more cab fair).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank accbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

We stayed one night on a weekend to take in local Mexican restaurants, visit museums, and just get away from it all.
Cons: No Pool
Mandatory Charged Valet Parking, which is not clearly communicated
(valet stated that street parking was dangerous and difficult to arrange "tow risk")
Not real close to downtown attractions
Pros: Great masculine vibe (probably the Harley Museum inspiration)
Great rooms, electronics, toiletries, walk-in shower, bar, restaurant
Pet Friendly
Friendly Staff

Room Tip: $25 valet parking for 24 hours... no public lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziggy0017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Lawn, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Our visit to the Iron Horse Hotel in April was absouletly amazing!!
Our room was gorgeous!!!
The hotel was nicely designed - loved the architecture and memorabilia within!

The staff at the hotel were just as amazing!!

The staff provided us with great places to dine - outside the hotel. We explained what we were looking for in a restaurant & they provided the perfect locations - that offereed great food!

The bartenders, waiters/waitresses, front desk clerks were extremely courteous and considerate.

My favorite person was Jueva (sp?)!! Jueva had such a wonderful personality. Extremely polite & considerate. Such a delite to see everyday!! He really made our stay the BEST EVER!! :-)
From the time he took our bags @ check-in to the time of check-out, he had been an absolute delight!! He gave such wonderful ideas & offered many options to us for places to go at night!!
I would like to give a very special "Thank You" to him for making our stay such a great time!!! Thanks for being such an awesome person to us both!!!

The service here, as I've said, is extremely awesome!

James was also a delight to see & converse with. :-)
James also gave wonderful suggestions & offered great ideas for night time fun.
Thanks James!! :-)

This is a hotel I can't wait to visit again!!! We will be back in the summertime for sure..next time with the bikes!!! :-)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnC883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#4 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,576 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#2 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 797 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Property: Iron Horse Hotel
Address: 500 West Florida Street, Milwaukee, WI 53204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing