We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pfister”
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Pfister Hotel
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Pfister”
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Loved it, it was simply perfect for me. I came there because I had to have somewhere to go before I moved on campus and the staff treated me like a queen. Overall 5 stars.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank WhitneyB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,393
    340
    86
    38
    26
See reviews for
399
715
74
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
st.louis
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

We stayed here one night as my husband was on a business trip. The hotel was beautiful, service was great from the valet to the waitress at Blu. My husband and I had a wonderful time staying here, we will return. The lobby was so grand, we sat at the lobby bar and had a drink, feels like you are back in time, also, the view from Blu is not to be missed. We had a suite in the old part of the hotel, very nicely decorated, comfy bed we were so pleased. I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcatho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

We stayed at the hotel for a weekend getaway and were very pleased. Our suite was in the old building, and the grand hallways and high ceilings were like going back in time. The room was newly renovated and very clean and well appointed with flat screen TV's, white duvets, and the other modern amenities you would expect. The suite provided lots of space for the family and we couldn't hear any noise from outside the room. The pool was nice and not crowded and has a great view of Milwaukee. The location was great for the downtown Milwaukee activities and close to restaurants. We will definitely come and stay again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butterpuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKurth, General Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2010
Thank you for visiting the Pfister during your time in Milwaukee! I am glad you had a comfortable stay, and noticed the quiet pool on our twenty third floor, as it has the best view in the city. It is a great place to take in all of the surrounding buildings and plan your walks outside - great to be so close to all you want to do in Milwaukee. Come and see us again soon!
Joe Kurth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wi
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

16 of us stayed at the Pfister for New Year's Eve. We had a party elsewhere but loved coming back to the hotel. The reservation people were so accomodating...they upgraded us to a package without any problem. They fit us all together for the New Year's brunch....which was also exceptional. I wouldn't hesitate to come back...loved it. Blu has the best view in Milwaukee...and also the best atmosphere. Thank you Pfister...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gstar410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKurth, General Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2010
It was our pleasure to host your stay! Whether your party is inside the hotel, or we are the spot to gather with friends for an overnight and brunch, we are happy to be your central downtown location for a great night away. I am very pleased you found our staff to be so friendly and accommodating - these are traits of our Pfister Signature Service that we are very proud of in our team. Have a wondeful new year, and we look forward to seeing your group again very soon.
Joe Kurth - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

This historical hotel is very elegant, and I did not have one complaint. The rooms in the tower have very nice lake views. The rooftop cocktail lounge (Blu) has been one of my favorite places in Milwaukee for about 10 years. Although I lived in Milwaukee for many years, I was never inside this hotel except to go to the cocktail lounge On a return trip to the city, I stayed at this hotel for the first time. I highly recommend the hotel, the cocktail lounge, and the restaurant. The hotel is also in a good location for sight seeing -- it's within walking distance to the art museum and some good restaurants. The interior of this hotel is truly one of Milwaukee's hidden gems.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beach_vacation26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKurth, General Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2010
Thank you for the wonderful comments, and for finding the time to stay overnight after 10 years of enjoying Blu. I hope you especially enjoyed the recent renovation and conversion to non-smoking for Blu and the overall hotel. We look forward to seeing you again very soon, and appreciate your support!
Joe Kurth - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2009

This is hands down the most beautiful Hotel I've stayed at in years (and I've been around). Location was great, staff was wonderful. We took the "bed, breakfast and parking" package, can't say enough about what a good value this hotel is. Art Museum is just a few miles away, very easy to take advantage of. We went to an incredible German restaurant just down the block (from back entrance of hotel) Karl Katzsch's - unforgettable . Also visited the Pabst Museum ( a must see) and a quaint French Restaurant on the lake. So, fellow Chicagoan's this Milwaukee downtown area is very accessible, a bargain, and a great get-away. Don't hesitate to stay at this Hotel, it's full of charm, extremely well kept, and a quaint step into the past.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkcusack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKurth, General Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2010
Thank you very much for spending part of your special holiday with us at the Pfister! I am thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us, and your central location to so much within Milwaukee. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Happy New Year!
Joe Kurth - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2009

Although my wife went to college at Marquette, I had never been to Milwaukee before. We decided that since it was my first time, we'd treat ourselves to a nice hotel. Simply put, the Pfister delivered.
-The hotel itself is beautiful. I probably took as many pictures of the lobby as I did the rest of the city combined. It is simply an elegant, classy place.
-The Pfister is also very hip. "Blu Bar" on the top floor was unlike many hotel bars, in that its patrons were not just hotel guests but also locals from throughout the sity. Similarly, the lobby bar was a wonderful scene, complete with a celebrity sighting or two (in our case it was the New York Knicks).
-Our hotel room was nice. We got upgraded to a deluxe room, which had a good view of the city and lake. Other than that it was a simple, nice hotel room. While the room itself didn't blow us away, it did have a flat-screen tv and overall was more than enough to meet our needs. Our only room-related drawback was room service, where they were sold out of the pizza we so dearly desired.
-The location can't be beat. We were able to walk almost everywhere and had our pick of nearby restaurants and bars.
-Last, but certainly not least, were the wonderful hotel staff. They were friendly, sociable, and helpful.

Overall - you can't go wrong with a stay at the Pfister.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrmgu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKurth, General Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2009
Thank you very much for your stay with us! Our staff and design team have worked very well together in tying in the magical history of our lobby and original section to the contemporary and recently renovated 23rd floor Martini Lounge - Blu. The 'walking distance' location for so many activities central to our East Town location certainly provides our guests a full spectrum of choices for their free time in Milwaukee. I am very pleased to read your comments, and appreciate your support!
Joe Kurth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#28 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,086 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#2 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#18 of 56 in Milwaukee
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Property: The Pfister Hotel
Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202-4436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing