We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and worth the price”
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Pfister Hotel
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Elegant and worth the price”
Reviewed January 2, 2010

This historical hotel is very elegant, and I did not have one complaint. The rooms in the tower have very nice lake views. The rooftop cocktail lounge (Blu) has been one of my favorite places in Milwaukee for about 10 years. Although I lived in Milwaukee for many years, I was never inside this hotel except to go to the cocktail lounge On a return trip to the city, I stayed at this hotel for the first time. I highly recommend the hotel, the cocktail lounge, and the restaurant. The hotel is also in a good location for sight seeing -- it's within walking distance to the art museum and some good restaurants. The interior of this hotel is truly one of Milwaukee's hidden gems.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beach_vacation26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKurth, General Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2010
Thank you for the wonderful comments, and for finding the time to stay overnight after 10 years of enjoying Blu. I hope you especially enjoyed the recent renovation and conversion to non-smoking for Blu and the overall hotel. We look forward to seeing you again very soon, and appreciate your support!
Joe Kurth - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,374
    337
    85
    38
    26
See reviews for
391
704
74
421
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2009

This is hands down the most beautiful Hotel I've stayed at in years (and I've been around). Location was great, staff was wonderful. We took the "bed, breakfast and parking" package, can't say enough about what a good value this hotel is. Art Museum is just a few miles away, very easy to take advantage of. We went to an incredible German restaurant just down the block (from back entrance of hotel) Karl Katzsch's - unforgettable . Also visited the Pabst Museum ( a must see) and a quaint French Restaurant on the lake. So, fellow Chicagoan's this Milwaukee downtown area is very accessible, a bargain, and a great get-away. Don't hesitate to stay at this Hotel, it's full of charm, extremely well kept, and a quaint step into the past.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkcusack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKurth, General Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2010
Thank you very much for spending part of your special holiday with us at the Pfister! I am thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us, and your central location to so much within Milwaukee. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Happy New Year!
Joe Kurth - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2009

Although my wife went to college at Marquette, I had never been to Milwaukee before. We decided that since it was my first time, we'd treat ourselves to a nice hotel. Simply put, the Pfister delivered.
-The hotel itself is beautiful. I probably took as many pictures of the lobby as I did the rest of the city combined. It is simply an elegant, classy place.
-The Pfister is also very hip. "Blu Bar" on the top floor was unlike many hotel bars, in that its patrons were not just hotel guests but also locals from throughout the sity. Similarly, the lobby bar was a wonderful scene, complete with a celebrity sighting or two (in our case it was the New York Knicks).
-Our hotel room was nice. We got upgraded to a deluxe room, which had a good view of the city and lake. Other than that it was a simple, nice hotel room. While the room itself didn't blow us away, it did have a flat-screen tv and overall was more than enough to meet our needs. Our only room-related drawback was room service, where they were sold out of the pizza we so dearly desired.
-The location can't be beat. We were able to walk almost everywhere and had our pick of nearby restaurants and bars.
-Last, but certainly not least, were the wonderful hotel staff. They were friendly, sociable, and helpful.

Overall - you can't go wrong with a stay at the Pfister.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrmgu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKurth, General Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2009
Thank you very much for your stay with us! Our staff and design team have worked very well together in tying in the magical history of our lobby and original section to the contemporary and recently renovated 23rd floor Martini Lounge - Blu. The 'walking distance' location for so many activities central to our East Town location certainly provides our guests a full spectrum of choices for their free time in Milwaukee. I am very pleased to read your comments, and appreciate your support!
Joe Kurth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2009

My wife and I thought it would be nice to see Milwaukee for one day on our way to Green Bay… wow I wished we stayed longer. This hotel is in a great location - close to waterfront attractions and the downtown area attractions. If you like a traditional German atmosphere, you will love the downtown pubs. The city is SAFE to walk around at night. The hotel provides plenty of eating and drinking opportunities if you don’t want to leave the property. The hotel workout area is 10 out of 10. Room service was more than reasonable, no $15 waffles. Whenever I write a review I try to list the negatives so here is goes (1) overnight parking was $25 but the hotel does let you know this on their website & (2) the internet was $10 a day. These are hardly complaints but I’m trying to find something negative to pass on. I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoGiantPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKurth, General Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2009
I am excited you were so pleased with your stay with us. We continue to receive many wonderful comments on our complimentary new fitness center space located adjacent to the Well Spa + Janice Salon. We agree it's a 10! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon when you can stay longer.
Joe Kurth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2009

I expected more for what turned out to be 280 a night-
30 for parking
40 for the suite up grade- (it was a wash with free internet and the overpriced breakfast)
the "suite" was small, pool is small, you may not want to be on the 21st floor as you can hear what is going on in there club on 23 till like 1 in the morning...
they are really nice and it has a good location

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmisiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKurth, General Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2009
Thank you for your visit to the Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee. While I was pleased to read you enjoyed our location and friendly staff, I am disappointed to learn you did not feel the value within your time with us exceeded your expectations. It is certainly our goal to ensure every guest leaves us after a satisfying visit ready to recommend us to a friend, and return on their next trip to Milwaukee. I welcome the opportunity to speak with your directly, and can be reached at 414.390.3800, or joekurth@thepfisterhotel.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2009

This was my third stay at the Pfister. I've tried other Milwaukee hotels just for the sake of variety but haven't found anything else that comes close. The staff is wonderful; hotel itself is full of character; location is ideal - walking distance to the Art Museum and Children's Museum, restaurants, shopping (Historic Third Ward). I've stayed in both the historic building and the more modern tower rooms, and was happy with both - it just depends on your taste. I'm done looking for other Milwaukee hotels and won't stay anywhere but the Pfister from now on.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MomWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKurth, General Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2009
Thank you very much for returning again to the Pfister! We very much appreciate your loyalty, and will work to ensure we continue to provide a wonderful place to come back to celebrate past moments, and create new memories!
Joe Kurth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

Whenever my husband and I stay in Milwaukee, we stay at the Pfister. We have been staying there for short jaunts since we were married in 1988. It is a beautiful and very historic hotel. It is perfectly located in the heart of the city. The staff is ultra professional and hospitable. We are never disappointed. The view from the Jazz and Martini Bar--BLU--is spectacular. I highly recommend this very posh/elegant hotel. I have stayed at the HIlton in Milwaukee, and while it was very nice, the Pfister will always be my first choice. People have recommended other places, but I will stick with the *brand* I trust and love--The Pfister!!!!!! Always Outstanding!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frantastico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKurth, General Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2009
It is always wonderful to read about the connection the hotel has had in lives that started with special occasions! We are honored that you have continued to join us since your wedding, and look forward to hosting your visits to Milwaukee for years to come! Now that Blu has recently reopened from a complete renovation and conversion to a non-smoking destination, join us on the 23rd floor where there is 'not a cloud in the sky' often!
Joe Kurth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#2 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,526 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#26 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#16 of 56 in Milwaukee
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Property: The Pfister Hotel
Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202-4436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing