We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old World Elegance in a great city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pfister Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pfister Hotel
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Old World Elegance in a great city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

The Pfister Hotel is a gem of a hotel in a gem of a city. We were there in summer, so I can not attest to the winter, but this was a very fun place and the hotel made it all the better.

The rooms are a bit small, but the hotel is in a great downtown landmark building, close to the lake. The historic preservation is beautiful. My only complaint would be that the hotel has tried to jazz up the room with modern (and cheap) looking art and lamps-that do not match the feel or ambiance of the hotel.

There is a historic building and a more modern tower. We stayed in the old building and loved it. I did go to the top of the tower-where the pool is located for some great views of the city. We also ate at the steak restaurant on the NE corner of the hotel and it was a wonderful experience.

We loved Milwaukee and the Pfister.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomdenverDenverCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,307
    325
    85
    36
    24
See reviews for
372
682
68
398
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

Our fourth trip to this hotel. A quick one night stay as we were in Milwaukee for the state fair. Had just spent a week in a Wisconsin northwoods cabin w/ not so big not so comfortable beds. At check in I inquired about any upgrade possibilities and/or paid suite availability. Upon a quick review the desk clerk with the manager said while very full they had one suite available and upgraded us at no addl cost.

What a surprise when we entered the Presidential suite(according to the bellman)-awesome 22nd floor suite with three large bay windows overlooking lake Michigan. A seperate br w/ a king size bed and lots of room for our 12 year old. Regardless, of this great upgrade we have always enjoyed our stays at this hotel. Very friendly staff, great 23rd floor indoor pool, spa and dining. Will always stat here while in Milwaukee.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madasa1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKurth, General Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2009
Thank you very much for returning to visit us while here in Milwaukee! I was thrilled to read of your memorable experience with us, and appreciate you sharing it with the Tripadvisor worldwide audience. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

We stayed 3 nites at the Pfister. It was a lovely hotel, right in the heart of dowtown. It's in walking distance to the River walk, Historic Third Ward and the Art Musuem. The Museum building itself is extraordinary. The hotel has a nice exercise area. The lobby lounge is comfortable for a nightcap. The bar on the 23rd floor has great views.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mileway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKurth, General Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2009
Thank you very much for staying with us. I agree that the location is a true plus for any stay to Milwaukee! The central location just a few walking blocks from many of our cities greatest attractions is a definite benefit to the Pfister's visitors. Look forward to having you back with us soon for another visit to the great Art Museum. (On your next visit, be sure to stop by our Artist in Residence studio and check on the progress of his latest painting!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

This is a beautiful old hotel with modern amenities. The location is great. You're close to the river walk with many bars and restaurants but you can walk around the block and there are also several restaurants. A short taxi ride to most places, including the convention center and the lake (with museum- very cool). We made the mistake of staying at what we thought would be another old hotel with charm near the lake on our most recent trip~ and we SERIOUSLY regret it. We tried to switch to Pfister but were denied due to the cancellation policy at the other hotel. Do yourself a favor and stay with them from the beginning!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKurth, General Manager at The Pfister Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2009
I am so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your time with us. Your comments echo the sentiment we hear so often of guests to our city that find so much to do on our lakefront and in the local area. Join us again soon in Blu, our rooftop lounge, as we share the best views in Milwaukee!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

If you are going to stay anywhere in the city, you need to stay at the Pfister. It's in a great downtown location close to everything (and in Milwaukee you need that). It's also in close promixity to the lakefront and the festival grounds, art museum, local theather district and local night spots. The hotel itself is beautiful and the staff is outstanding. It has a variety of amentities (including a great spa, swimming pool with great views of the city) as well as a lot of dining options to suit just about anyone's taste. They have a relaxing cocktail lounge at the top of the hotel with beautiful views of the city where we enjoyed cocktails before dinner at Mason Street Grill. We have stayed at this hotel several times for anniversaries or other occasions and would go back again. There truly is no other hotel in the city that compares to the luxury and services you receive at the Pfister.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank us4travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis, mo
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

Be prepared to be swept off your feet, but that's what you pay for. Top-notch staff from Concierge to Pianist - don't forget to tip! Expect to pay $15 pp in The Grill for breakfast, $15 for a Chivas at the bar, and no fridge, micro or internet in the room. Parking is $25/day, but you don't really need a car. The lack of security from the parking garage to the hotel tower bothered me - anyone can roam the halls. The (smokey) nightclub and the lovely pool (no hot tub - great towels) are both on the 23rd floor. Great view, but that means they share the bathrooms, as well as the halls with the nightclubbers who don't have to be hotel guests. Other than that, it was a very relaxing stay in room 2006, except for the couple next door doing "you know what". Next time I'd ask for the original part of the hotel, but then would have to go into the lobby to change elevators to the pool. Perhaps a higher numbered room would have a better view for fireworks. Nice and close to Summerfest, the War and Discovery Museums, and some fun street-side eateries nearby. Enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfitzp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2009

Old-fashioned charm and elegance predominates at the Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee. I live in Chicago and just drove up for the day with my Mother to visit family who were in town, staying one night at the Pfister. The Pfister is one of those hotels that is a landmark in its town and has retained its grandeur, even as the city has changed around it. The price is so reasonable compared to the Drake or similar in Chicago, and the Pfister is in close walking range of the Milwaukee Art Museum, the river walk, great restaurants, the Milwaukee Public Market, etc.

The style is very grand, with lots of velvet and gilding. I love that in the lobby, but in the room, not so much. The bedding is super fluffy and comfortable, though. The hotel lounge in the main lobby is a really fun place to have a martini and people-watch, if you're in the mood.

One question: why would a hotel that presumably prides itself on its elegance and class have a "half-price drinks for women in fishnet stockings" promotion in the hotel bar (Blu)? Ugh. So many things are wrong with this.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingSusan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#11 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#19 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pfister Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pfister Hotel

Property: The Pfister Hotel
Address: 424 E Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Pfister Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pfister Hotel, built in 1893 has been the premier downtown Milwaukee hotel for over a century, and continues to celebrate a tradition of gracious service and impeccable style. From the moment you arrive, you'll notice the extraordinary architecture, and a welcoming ambiance marked by a priceless Victorian art collection which rivals that of any hotel in the world. The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee has received accolades as being the best of downtown Milwaukee hotels since it opened. We are proud of our AAA Four-Diamond Award and membership in two of our industry's leading organizations: Historic Hotels of America and Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pfister Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pfister Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing